We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   5 High Street | Charing Village, Charing TN27 0HU, England (Formerly The Royal Oak Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Oak to your Saves list
The Oak
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
71%
Ranked #2 of 2 Charing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Cook6 Nottingham
  • Reviews (108)
  • Photos (5)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
8
72
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table and arrived to an empty restaurant and no staff to be seen (should have left at this point). There was an attempt at friendliness - which was nice - just shame that this same level of attentiveness didn't follow through to the food. In short, my main complaints were: lipstick on the glasses; a 'caesar salad'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lismore, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel from Australia for four nights for two couples. Our rooms looked adequate and clean. However the shower in one room was completely broken. We advised the management and they said they would look at it. When we arrived home from a day sightseeing nothing had been done. They told us we could use the shower in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Oak_Charing, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Your review is so untrue and full of lies that we have to exercise our right of reply. We will quote from your review and follow in each instance with our response. "Our rooms looked adequate and clean. However the shower in one room was completely broken. We advised the management and they said they would look at it. When... More

Nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a fine stay with friendly service. I ate well and was looked after at the table. The room was neat and clean, as was the en suite. I was made to feel most welcome. Charing is also a beautiful village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My companion and I had a lovely weekend at the Oak. This was the second time we have stayed there. Last year the new owners were just moving in and were very busy but still took time to chat and made us feel very welcome. On our return this year we received a warm welcome. The bar, restaurant and rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Oak_Charing, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We were so happy to see you both again this year. We hope you will not mind us mentioning that your companion is one of the last surviving veterans of World war Two - and still a formidable character! It was also wonderful to meet his comrade when you had dinner together. You will... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived at The Oak after a lovely day by the sea at Herne Bay and Canterbury. We couldn't even walk through the door to the pub as the way was blocked by loud unpleasant individuals. We basically left via a back exit!!! Paddy Doherty would be very at home here

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
The_Oak_Charing, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review for The Oak. We welcome all honest feedback but, with regard to your review, we do feel that we should exercise our right to respond to your negative comments. You have stated that: "We couldn't even walk through the door" and then also said "We basically left via a back exit". Those two statements... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here for sadly just one night, I had booked a single room and was delighted with the lovely double I was given. The room itself was cosy and comfortable, with bottled water, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, shower gel and shampoo. I had a much needed great night sleep and a first class full English breakfast which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marbella, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here tonight's and it was beautiful , the staff were friendly and the meal was lovely , we went to Leeds castle the next day , I highly recommend going there as the castle grounds are beautiful , we would stay again as are room was lovely . Well done the oak

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

So my boyfriend and I arrived at 4:50 pm have been told our room would be available for checking in at 2pm, we were shown to our room by a member of staff that didn't know where the room was (there is just 5 rooms) we entered our room and it hadn't been cleaned/changed from previous occupants. we had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed around October last year and unfortunately it was the weekend of the very bad storms. We had pre-booked a twin room, but on arrival were only allocated a double, which was very small. We always pre-book a twin when going away as being 6'3" and not slim anything other than a king size bed is very uncomfortable. evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
england
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Charing is a lovely small village with only a few miles from Leeds Castle and Canterbury, we stayed at The Oak for 3 nights on a groupon deal. We were greeted with a friendly smile from Sam who was working behind the bar, booked us in and shown to our room, the room it's self is on the small size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak

Address: 5 High Street | Charing Village, Charing TN27 0HU, England (Formerly The Royal Oak Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Charing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer