We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   5 High Street | Charing Village, Charing TN27 0HU, England (Formerly The Royal Oak Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Oak to your Saves list
The Oak
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
68%
Ranked #2 of 2 Charing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Tony G Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
8
76
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

stayed overnight on 16 sept. room excellent, food excellent, real bar/real ale. good value, within 20 minutes of channel ports. well recommended. having driven 400 miles in france, this was an ideal stopover before facing a further 350 miles to Newcastle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We first stayed here 5 years ago on a stopover and loved it so much we decided to book it again when making a similar journey last weekend. We should perhaps have read the reviews but as it was such a success then, and the website didn't seem to have changed much, we didn't consider the fact that the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashford
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a friend for lunch rather disappointing. They were 'a chef down' but didn't really care, admittedly we hadn't booked. On a very hot July day everyone seemed to have a 'cba' attitude and we felt 'in the way'. Shame it used to be very good here with excellent food and great atmosphere - well - no more sadly. the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights. Staff were friendly in restaurant however there seemed to be no one in charge. Service was ok and food was good.breakfast was either full English or cereals juices toast etc.Decor in restaurant was shabby and it was very dimly lit. We had a room overlooking the rear of the hotel. It was adequate for the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over priced. Don't stay here unless you have too. It was clearly once a lovely pub but that was some time in the past. Mismanaged and haphazard. Avoid. The rooms are adequate as are the bathrooms. Food, when available was poor. No food on sun evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel suffered from a lack of management and oversight. Different people appeared to be in charge at all times. The TV handset did not work. The Wi Fi did not work in the room. When I enquired at the bar about this I was told we have to find the router first! The WiFi eventually worked in the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked a table and arrived to an empty restaurant and no staff to be seen (should have left at this point). There was an attempt at friendliness - which was nice - just shame that this same level of attentiveness didn't follow through to the food. In short, my main complaints were: lipstick on the glasses; a 'caesar salad'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lismore, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked this hotel from Australia for four nights for two couples. Our rooms looked adequate and clean. However the shower in one room was completely broken. We advised the management and they said they would look at it. When we arrived home from a day sightseeing nothing had been done. They told us we could use the shower in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Oak_Charing, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Your review is so untrue and full of lies that we have to exercise our right of reply. We will quote from your review and follow in each instance with our response. "Our rooms looked adequate and clean. However the shower in one room was completely broken. We advised the management and they said they would look at it. When... More

Nottingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This was a fine stay with friendly service. I ate well and was looked after at the table. The room was neat and clean, as was the en suite. I was made to feel most welcome. Charing is also a beautiful village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My companion and I had a lovely weekend at the Oak. This was the second time we have stayed there. Last year the new owners were just moving in and were very busy but still took time to chat and made us feel very welcome. On our return this year we received a warm welcome. The bar, restaurant and rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Oak_Charing, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We were so happy to see you both again this year. We hope you will not mind us mentioning that your companion is one of the last surviving veterans of World war Two - and still a formidable character! It was also wonderful to meet his comrade when you had dinner together. You will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak

Address: 5 High Street | Charing Village, Charing TN27 0HU, England (Formerly The Royal Oak Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Charing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)