We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Village Green, Thornton Watlass, Bedale HG4 4AH, England
Hotel amenities
The Buck Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Buck Inn to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
drakene Redditch, United Kingdom
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have a lovely stay here in what was stressing personal circumstances. Hosts were very helpful and it was lovely to sit next to a roaring fire and relax after a strained day. Locals were very chatty and friendly. Breakfast was brill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us at this worrying time for you and your family. We are pleased that we were able to offer you somewhere comfortable and warm to come back to at this difficult time. Best wishes to you both, and see you in the New Year. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This place is lovely, situated in an idyllic English village. Staff are really friendly and warm. The food was amazing and breakfast was a feast. The room although small was made up by the king size bed. Pub was full of locals, so you know it's a good place if the locals love it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It was great to meet you both and we hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay in the UK We are really pleased that you had a good time here, and will pass on your comments about the food to our chefs. Many thanks once again. More 

Wem, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We had lovely stay at the Bucks Heath. The owners we very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The evening meal and the cooked breakfast were delicious. We look forward to staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. We really do appreciate guests taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you found the new beds to be comfortable, and that you enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the area. More 

Bega, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

We were delighted with the Inn. The new owners went out of their way to make us welcome. As we were driving ourselves with only a map they directed us the next morning to a close town to buy a GPS. They even sourced the cheapest for us. Meals were great and the locals coming into the pub were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you also enjoyed the rest of your time in the UK We have passed on your comments about the food to our chef, and one of our "regulars" was pleased... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We pre booked for one night's stay We thought that something was different when we approached the Buck noticing that the pub had been repainted. On going into the bar at night there were new people behind the bar, and Mike the ex licensee was sat having a pint.On chatting it transpires Mike has retired. The builders were in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

It was great meeting you both, and thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are so pleased that you approve of the refurbishment work that we have carried out so far, and you will be pleased to know that the room you stayed in is the next to be done. We are both delighted to... More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Thornton Watless is a small farming village well placed for exploring both the Dales and the Moors. The Buck Inn is located on the village Green facing the cricket pitch. The owners, Victoria and Tony Jowett, were extremely friendly and looked after us very well. The food was great, especially the breakfasts. The bedrooms were a bit dated but well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

We are both really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and it was great meeting you. Hopefully if you are in the area in the future you will come back and see what we have done with the bedrooms. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the 'Buck Inn' and were only too eager to 'Check out'. Whilst we appreciate that the new owners have only recently taken over and are hopefully in the process of updating the tired and shabby rooms this was certainly no excuse for the appalling levels of cleanliness. Flood stained ceilings, dirty stained curtains, filthly shower screens,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

We were very upset to read that you were disappointed with your stay, and even more upset that you did not mention your disappointment at any time during your stay. You are quite correct in saying that the room you stayed in is badly in need of refurbishment, and that is why it will be the first we do, when... More 

Newcastle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, peaceful and tranquil place with lovely views. The owners were excellent and could not do enough for us. Food was really good and a varied range of choices too. Refurbishment is currently underway and we can't wait to come back with the whole of the family. We felt at home and welcome with all the locals being friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was great to meet you all. We are glad that the weather stayed fine for you, so that you were able to sit out in the garden. Hope to see you again, so you can see how the refurbishment is progressing. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Cracking location with view over the small village cricket pitch. Well placed for exploring the nearby towns. New owners very friendly and looked after our every need. Quiet location. Room was dated as stated by some, but still had everything for our stay. Had separate key to guest entrance, for late night return. New owners are looking to renovate soon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for writing our first review since we took over The Buck Inn. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed meeting the 3 of you. Thanks very much for your positive comments and for your suggestion about the curtains. We definitely agree with you. The room you stayed in will be the first... More 

Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have just returned having just spent one evening at The buck for a reunion. I was given a small single room at a cost of £70 (a double room costing £90) for bed and breakfast which, given that the room was rather tired and in need of updating, I felt was quite expensive. Had I been given a double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Address: The Village Green, Thornton Watlass, Bedale HG4 4AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale > Thornton Watlass
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay