We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Village Green, Thornton Watlass, Bedale HG4 4AH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Buck Inn to your Saves list
The Buck Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
KimMorrice Newcastle
  • Overview
  • Reviews (36)
  • Photos (1)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently stayed at the 'Buck Inn' and were only too eager to 'Check out'. Whilst we appreciate that the new owners have only recently taken over and are hopefully in the process of updating the tired and shabby rooms this was certainly no excuse for the appalling levels of cleanliness. Flood stained ceilings, dirty stained curtains, filthly shower screens,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

We were very upset to read that you were disappointed with your stay, and even more upset that you did not mention your disappointment at any time during your stay. You are quite correct in saying that the room you stayed in is badly in need of refurbishment, and that is why it will be the first we do, when... More

Newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely, peaceful and tranquil place with lovely views. The owners were excellent and could not do enough for us. Food was really good and a varied range of choices too. Refurbishment is currently underway and we can't wait to come back with the whole of the family. We felt at home and welcome with all the locals being friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was great to meet you all. We are glad that the weather stayed fine for you, so that you were able to sit out in the garden. Hope to see you again, so you can see how the refurbishment is progressing. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Cracking location with view over the small village cricket pitch. Well placed for exploring the nearby towns. New owners very friendly and looked after our every need. Quiet location. Room was dated as stated by some, but still had everything for our stay. Had separate key to guest entrance, for late night return. New owners are looking to renovate soon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria J, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for writing our first review since we took over The Buck Inn. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed meeting the 3 of you. Thanks very much for your positive comments and for your suggestion about the curtains. We definitely agree with you. The room you stayed in will be the first... More

Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have just returned having just spent one evening at The buck for a reunion. I was given a small single room at a cost of £70 (a double room costing £90) for bed and breakfast which, given that the room was rather tired and in need of updating, I felt was quite expensive. Had I been given a double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stopped by for a pub lunch after visiting nearby Thorp Perrow. Lovely warm welcome and good choice menu. I had the liver and bacon with mash and onions and it was truly amazing -best liver I've ever tasted. Hubby had the scampi with lovely chunky homemade chips. Cant recommend the food highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here one night, having arrived by bicycle. The owner was very friendly and helpful, even letting us store our bikes securely in a function room. Our room was simply furnished in a traditional pub style, but so quiet and so warm and comfortable, plus the en suite shower was good and powerful. After a day's cycling in North... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed overnight. Firstly this must be one of the most perfect settings - an old pub sitting on the edge of a village green-cum-cricket pitch. Inside the bar of the pub is warm welcoming and friendly with a great selection of real ales. I tried most of them and I can guarantee they were all well kept. Then to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were disappointed with The Buck Inn, there was nothing attractive about the well worn, old fashioned bedroom furniture or the pink bathroom suite. Breakfast was fine, served by a charming young lady but we didn't think the accommodation was worth £90 per night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
srogget
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed in The Buck Inn on our first night of a motorcycle tour of the UK. We hadn't researched the hotel at all, we booked it as it was the only place in that area with a vacancy that we could find! We were so pleased when we arrived that it turned out to be so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been going to Thornton Watlass for the best part of half a century - not to stay but as supporters of one of their opposition cricket teams. In all that time, The Buck Inn has been a perfect example of what an English country pub should be. We have grown older with the host(s) but the smile and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Buck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Address: The Village Green, Thornton Watlass, Bedale HG4 4AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale > Thornton Watlass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer