We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Matatiele B&Bs / inns

Resthaven Guest House

Save
You added Resthaven Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   77 Main Street, Matatiele 4730, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Resthaven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Matatiele B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matatiele
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

A gem of a place in this small town surrounded by mountains. Phillip and Elrita are amazing, they are friendly, great host and always willing to help you in anyway to make your stay even more comfortable. Its the greeniest lawns I've ever seen, had to touch it to see if it's real....it is!! The dinner was amazing, real home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your positive feedback, we here at Resthaven Guesthouse are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and it is guests of your caliber that make our job worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back Kind Regards Resthaven Guesthouse Matatiele More 

Cradock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This is the second time around that we slept over at Resthaven Guest House. The house is so homely and the owners Phillip and Elrita treat the customers like friends. We slept in nr 21 this time. It is right on the front stoep. All the rooms have airconditioner and DSTV. It was Sunday evening and Phillip made us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is good to know that guests appreciate our efforts and this keeps us motivated to keep it up. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime Kind Regards More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I arrived in matatiele without having booked any accommodation prior to arriving and the first place I stopped was Resthaven. The receptionist was extremely helpful and he sorted me out with a self catering unit within minutes. I stayed there for two days and the accommodation was perfect, clean, comfortable room. Everything one would expect and more. The breakfasts were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. At Resthaven Guesthouse we always endeavour to give our guests the best possible experience. It is guests like yourself that make our job pleasant and worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime. More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely accommodation. comfortable beds, decent showers and plenty of blankets (incl. electric) for the cold Eastern cape winters. Secure off street parking and very friendly staff. Excellent home cooked food. A worth while stop over.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post something positive. We are pleased that you had a "haven of rest" and look forward to welcoming you back anytime Kind Regards More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at Resthaven for 1 night and it was just lovely! The rooms are of a good size, very clean, neat and the guesthouse is very comfortable an organized. Owners are very friendly!! If you need some tips about the drakensberg area, as Philip, he knows the area very well and is always happy to give some info. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, it is good to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that the information Philip gave you was helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back More 

Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Om our way from the Drakensbergen to the Garden Coast, we were recommended by a South-African couple to stay here and what a pleasant surprise Nice accomodation and what a friendly people. They would do anything to make your stay pleasant. They also organise tours in the Southern part of the Drakensbergen. If the trip would be even half of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, seeing that you had a pleasant stay makes our job worthwhile. We are pleased that you had a good trip to South Africa and thank you for making us a part of your journey. Kind Regards More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Few things can go askew if you hear to the wisdom and passion of those that are not shy to display it. Phillip and his whole family welcomed us at Resthaven Guest House in Matatiele. From the day I met Phillip at Indaba I felt his passion for the southern Drakensberg. He is a true, proud ambassador of the region,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped at Resthaven on recommendation from a friend and we weren't disappointed. We were on our way back to Umhlanga after a 3 week trip down the Garden Route to Langebaan to Darling, Stellenbosch, Hermanus, and George. We decided not to drive the Garden Route back to Umhlanga but to go inland. We drove from George via Cradock to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback, it makes us happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our area as Matatiele has many Natural Wonders to experience. Kind Regards More 

London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I don't think Matatiele is a place where too many travellers find themselves. However, if all you want is a room for the night then you can save yourself a search around town and pick Resthaven Guest House easily enough. Our room was clean, well-equipped and quiet. There was locked off-street parking too. I can't say there was very much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, as Management, to get feedback from guests, it helps us improve the experience for future guests. Resthaven Guesthouse does offer Self-Catering Accommodation as well as Luxury Rooms with great character, and being a busy establishment, we are sorry for not being able to offer you such a room. Breakfast is usually a Buffet Breakfast of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Resthaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resthaven Guest House

Address: 77 Main Street, Matatiele 4730, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Matatiele
Hotel Class:3 star — Resthaven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 22

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay