We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Feathers Hotel

516 Glynburn Rd, Burnside, South Australia 5066, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Feathers Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sadly the Feathers as we know it will cease to exist. I only hope that the service, ambience and food remains as always, very very good. Had the pleasure of dining there on Saturday just gone from a-la-carte and as always, never disappoints. It will be interesting to see if it continues with the upgrade as a place to return.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norm G
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We went to the Feathers for my Son's 21st birthday. When we got there is was a construction site and we had to climb scaffolding steps to get in. Once inside it was very nice. Quite classy looking with private rooms. We ate in the main dining room. The staff were attentive and we didn't have to wait at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank JackFromAdelaide
Jade E, Guest Relations Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jack Thanks so much for your review and feedback. The Feathers Hotel is undergoing extensive renovations, most of which will be open in April 2016 so we hope that you will visit us again soon! We apologise for the whiting being over cooked and we're glad you had enjoyed your other meals. The Feathers Hotel does actually offer accommodation... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We had hired the Private Room for a Luncheon for our walking group. The room was ideal with a large table and all seated comfortably. Drinks were provided with a minimum of fuss catering for each persons requirements. The Luncheon Menu covered quite a range of food types and styles again pleasing to all who were present. Price was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan C
Jade E, Guest Relations Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and feedback Allan. We're so glad everyone had a great time and that all your guests enjoyed their meals. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

Great value hotel. We got room 10 which was a little more expensive but worth it. It has an additional lounge room joined to the bedroom. Very spacious. It hasn't been updated since the 50s or 60s but it add to the charm. It is in very good condition and good value.

Helpful?
Thank Nic B
Jade E, Guest Relations Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nic. Thank you so much for your feedback and review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards, Jade Guest Relations More 

Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Stayed at the Hotel in April, selected it for its proximity to family, what a treat, lovely old Hotel, we stayed in an apartment, which had a beautifully appointed separate sitting room, lovely for relaxing. Staff were very good, flights of stairs, no lifts, so older people may not find it suitable. A great relaxing place to stay whilst in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith S
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Had the cavery yuck .... cheap overcooked meat, vegetables lukewarm, desserts disappointing. Overall a poor experience. Staff could manage to look the other way when you wanted service. Unfriendly atmosphere, old, dark and tired. It's not for us.

Helpful?
Thank Sue M

Travelers are raving about these Burnside hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We went as a group of eight for lunch and chose the Carvery. We all enjoyed the hot roast meats and selection of salads and hot vegetables. The desserts were very tempting, and we didn't resist. The coffee supplied let the meal down as it was appalling. The only other problem was that we had not seen each other for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my mum decided to drop in for a meal before heading off shopping. Although it took quite a while for meal to come out, we were not disappointed when it did. The steak was one of the best I have had in years! We will be back, was so so good!

Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie W
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed. Food took ages but we were told it would be a while. 2 x meals came out about 10mins before the rest. Meals were wrong and sauce missing etc. People next to us didn't eat at all! Manager did not apologise. He just explained the kitchen were busy. Sorry no excuse.

Helpful?
4 Thank Vivi L
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Enjoyed a delicious meal at a function in the old worldly Dining Room, and stayed the night in the accommodation upstairs. The room had a separate lounge area and had everything I required for a comfortable stay. In the morning it was pleasant to hear the birds chirping in the luscious tree outside the opened window. I could have easily... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jalar7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnside
1.7 mi away
Welcome Inn 277
Welcome Inn 277
#1 of 2 in Frewville
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#6 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Adelaide Granada Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay