We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Summer Hill hotels

Marco Polo Motor Inn

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   42 Parramatta Road, Summer Hill, Ashfield, New South Wales 2130, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Motor Inn to your Saves list
Marco Polo Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 7 more sites!
53%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Summer Hill
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
ChristineandMaggie Vancouver
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
105 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The key question is would I stay again? The answer; a definite no. I only stayed here because every hotel I usually stay at we're booked out (I'll be glad when the summer cruise ships stop disgorging thousands of passengers). Everything about this hotel is cheap. Other than being convenient to Summer Hill train station and city buses, there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wasn't willing to pay an arm and a leg for rooms in D/T Sydney, Parramata is the next best thing as it is about 20 minutes to CBD of Sydney. Free parking, the room we had was clean and at the rate of AUD$100.00 a night I have nothing to complain. Good size fridge, microwave, hair dryer, toaster, kettle, dishes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Christine and Maggie, Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn - Sydney, Summer Hill and for taking the time to log your review. It is very heart warming to receive such positive feedback. We are very pleased to learn that you find our motel “cheap stay in Sydney” and a “room was clean and... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very easy to get to, bus and train to the city centre. Also close to major shopping centre at Burwood. Rooms have been reburbished. Will stay there again on next visit to Sydney. Good for families, couples etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued guests, Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn and for your wonderful review. It is very heart-warming to receive such positive feedback. We are especially pleased to learn that you in particular enjoyed our “great location”. Thank you for your lovely description regarding our location, with “only a 5 minute walk to the train... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the worst hotel I have ever stayed in on the first day the sheet was not changed and had blood stain and by the doorman changed at my request, although not its fault. and the noise bothers to sleep. ain con old, and was drifting frm another floor. I really do not recomend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for staying at Marco Polo Motor Inn, Summer Hill. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and give you our sincerest apologies. In regards to the bed sheet, we have investigated into the matter and discovered that the stain on the bed sheet was in fact a marker... More

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start by acknowledging this is a budget hotel and presents itself as such. I was therefore expecting nothing more than clean and comfortable accommodation when booking to attend a local event nearby. Sadly I cannot offer any positives. Service was appalling, the clerk who checked us in could not be less interested in dealing with us. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Marco Polo Motor Inn. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, please accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant circumstances you have experienced. We can assure you; this is not our usual standard. We always strive... More

Toronto
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Best Service Friendly Staff Clean rooms All of the amenities Great location After Traveling Australia from Perth to Cairns to Sydney for the past 3 months I finally have my favourite hotel picked. I have stayed in many hotels, some dodgy, some decent but the best all around hotel in Australia is the Marco Polo Inn. I am from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your great words of kindness. We are very delighted to hear that you significantly enjoyed your stay here at Marco Polo Motor Inn - Sydney, Summer Hill and appreciated the great convenience of our location which enabled you to visit Sydney's most distinct attractions. We take much pride on the facilities that our... More

Pune, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here last May. They have Excellent Rooms, Easily accessible from the rail station, just 100 mts away with some popular food joints close by. Not to mention the friendliest staff I have ever met at the Marco polo Motor Inn I would recommend all if you are looking for affordable accomadation in sydney. There do not have Swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Marco Polo Sydney during your last stay.. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, experiencing our convenient location as well as our great customer service. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays. Unfortunately, due to space restrictions, there hasn't been any consideration for a swimming... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really friendly staff, rooms have all that you need, comfy bed, tv and a powerful shower. Train station up the road and 20 minutes to Sydney . Nice little town has everything you need. I would go again for sure. There were 2 sharing a room that slept 3. Worked a treat . Thanks to the staff for all their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for choosing Marco Polo Motor Inn - Sydney, Summer Hill for your recent stay in Sydney for “cricket trip to the Ashes – Australia vs England “ and for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your visit with us and you have found Marco Polo's “Really... More

third rock from the sun
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

previously stayed here Dec of '11. Honestly decided since I couldn't find room ANYWHERE else in sydney that was a decent price and location, to try here again. Downtown and surrounding hotels were either overrun by people attending the Aria awards or the techno music festival. since I needed a room where I DIDN'T have to pay anywhere from $25... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your comments, it is through such feedback that we are able to continually improve our property to meet and exceed the needs of our guests. We are located only 5 minutes walk from Summer Hill Village, Franklin's supermarket,... More

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I could rate it either 4 or 2, depends on your needs. For a decent place to sleep, and on the morning go for your things, then it is more then good. The train is a very short walk and the rooms are rather old but clean. If you want it for pleasure, then, no, this is not the place,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Marco Polo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motor Inn

Also Known As:
Marco Polo Motor Hotel
Marco Polo Motor Hotel Sydney
Address: 42 Parramatta Road, Summer Hill, Ashfield, New South Wales 2130, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield > Summer Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Summer Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marco Polo Motor Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Motor Inn offers budget 3 1/2 star accommodations conveniently located half way between Sydney City CBD and Olympic Park at Homebush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.