We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Pleasant Valley hotels

Chena Hot Springs Resort

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   56.5 mile Chena Hot Springs Rd., Pleasant Valley, AK 99711
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (362)
  • Photos (285)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (70)
  • Location
  • More
Chena Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pleasant Valley
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pleasant Valley
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    127
    73
    52
    40
See reviews for
65
148
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I made a point of spending a day at the Chena Hot Springs Resort, though I didn't have accommodations there. First of all, the restaurant is excellent. Great food and excellent service. The hot springs and pool area are a treat. The famous Ice Museum is certainly worth a look. Gift shops and a smaller food court have great service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here two years ago in the winter when we came to see the Northern Lights (and we DID see them) We returned again this summer and were amazed at the beauty of the flowers on the grounds. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. If you like hot springs, you'll enjoy Chena ... however the outside hot pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Didnt stay in any of the rooms, mainly just went for a drive and found something to eat. I guess they grow their own produce, and boy can you tell! The salads we had were amazing. Food was great! Wouldnt mind returning and staying for a night or two. Didnt go in the hot springs since we didnt have swim... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for an overnight that was purchased by my sister-in-law. It's something that we wouldn't have gotten for ourselves, but we ended up having a very nice time. The accommodations were pretty basic, but they worked. The hot springs were fun and the produce in the restaurant was quite good. I don't think I'd want to stay here for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chena is a great place to get out of the city, enjoy the outdoors, and relax at the hot spring. We were there over July 4th weekend. It was a little too hot to enjoy the hot spring as much as we liked - though we did get in late in the evening and early in the morning. One has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We requested a two bed room. We had a room in a four-plex ( two rooms on the bottom and two on the top). The unit entry door squeeked- so it was loud early in the morning as guests tried to leave quietly. This was minor because we enjoyed every thing else so much: the Ice Hotel ( We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Hope
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the resort - beautiful location with terrific Hot Spring pool. The resturaunt serves produce grown on site, and that was terrific! The prices were reasonable - even for the cocktails. Our only complaint would be that the 4 of us paid for a tour of the Ice Palace/Hotel, and our tour guide Anastasia left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worldwide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

There is very little to recommend this place. You should avoid it. The place is remote, inconveniently located at the end of a 60 mile road with no other ways in or out. This matters, because the road is poorly build and floods out after rainstorms. So you can quite easily get stuck there. There is no other dining, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Pleasant Valley hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We found the resort to be dilapidated and falling apart at the seams. Food was over-priced and not very tasty. The hot springs are nice, but on the hot side. There are plenty of activities, we enjoyed the hiking trails. We saw a wild moose strolling through the resort property. Lots of noise all night long as employees tooled around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yosuke_Okada, Manager at Chena Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and your review on Chena Hot Springs Resort. CHENA HOT SPRINGS IS A HISTORIC RESORT ESTABLISHED IN 1905. We are constantly upgrading buildings, guest rooms and different facilities as time allow. Currently we are focusing on our Signature rooms. Excellent customer service and guest satisfaction are our goals, and we do not tolerate surly staff.... More

seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I only had dinner and experienced the pool and hot tub. We were so disappointed in those two things that we passed on checking the rest of the "resort" out. The food is average and way overpriced. The staff is bored, dirty, and unhelpful- a bunch of surly teenagers seem to be running this place. The conditions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chena Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chena Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Northern Lights(6)
  • Indoor pool(4)
  • Moose Lodge(4)
  • Very nice(3)

Additional Information about Chena Hot Springs Resort

Address: 56.5 mile Chena Hot Springs Rd., Pleasant Valley, AK 99711
Location: United States > Alaska > Pleasant Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chena Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Also Known As:
Chena Hot Springs Hotel Pleasant Valley
Chena Hot Springs Resort Alaska/Pleasant Valley

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (285)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Chena Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list