We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Medlow Bath B&Bs / inns

The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio

46 - 50 Portland Road, Medlow Bath, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Medlow Bath B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014
Geoff B Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

What do you do when your house is no longer big enough to contain your artwork collection? You open a seven room guest house that also serves as an art gallery. We happened upon the Chalet when up in Leura for a couple of days and it was wonderful. Our host David was very friendly and helpful. The rooms range... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This historic hotel was lovely for the two nights we stayed in the Blue Mountains. The hosts David and David were particularly helpful and welcoming. The hotel is located a few minutes (by car) away from the Katoomba tourist hub and away from the noisy traffic in a secluded area with lovely trees. The en suite rooms were spacious, warm,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The Chalet Guesthouse is a charming place situated in a quieter part of town away from the main tourist spots but still very accessible to all of the main attractions of the area. We loved the olde world charm of the building; inside especially. A warm welcome awaited us & David had kindly ensured that our room was warm and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Unfortunately, the inevitable Blue Mountain's mist and autumn rain, was a prelude to our one night stay in The Chalet Guesthouse. The Victorian building is magnificent, the garden setting is magnificent (although neglected), the dining/lounge area is magnificent, the artwork is magnificent, but the hospitality is far from magnificent. Human interaction with the host David, was virtually non existent for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this review

Dear Monika, Thank you for taking time to talk about your experiences here at The Chalet. I am saddened to find out it was not at all what you had hoped for. If I had known at the time that you felt ignored I certainly would have done more to help you. I do try to strike a balance between... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Chalet. We were upgraded to a better room because our stay was during the quiet mid-week, which was much appreciated. This place has a very quaint atmosphere and is decorated all over with artwork. The rooms are centrally heated and equipped with electric blankets, so we were warm all night. Everything is clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking time out to write about your stay at The Chalet Guesthouse. I am just sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I am very grateful for your review and to know that you enjoyed your stay here. I hope you get another opportunity to come back to the Blue Mountains in the future.... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we laid eyes on the property from a distance away, we knew we were going to love it. And we did. As we stepped through the front door we were immediately taken by the art-lined walls flanking the rooms and reception. Contemporary art, aboriginal art, botanical drawings and modern pieces have been tastefully curated by owner David.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this review

Hello, I know your review was a few months back now, but I still wanted to say thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of The Chalet. I am writing this with a smile, particularly after your comment about how curious it was to see the Chairman Mao figures. How we came to have them is a long... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed here last year and just remembered I haven't written a review!! We stayed here in December and had the most amazing time. There was a group of photographers staying at the same time, and then there was me and my family. As we were the only other group there, we were treated like royalty, and the beautiful hosts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this review

Hello, Sorry that I never said thank you much sooner for your lovely review and recommendations. This year has been a little busier than perviously and I have neglected this area. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay so much and would love to have you return some time to enjoy the Blue Mountains again. Have a... More

Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We are locals and this is the 3rd time we have dined here on either a Friday or Saturday evening. We often came here in the 1990's when the Chalet was owned by different people and it hold some special memories for us. Notwithstanding that David and his partner have certainly kept and improved the feel of the dining room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback on our restaurant (and myself!). I am very happy to know you enjoy our food and have returned multiple times already. We have the advantage of a great chef who is a delight to work with. We do strive for the balance of a good selection of choices on the menu whilst managing a... More

London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed for a night over the Anzac day public holiday and were surprised there were still rooms at such short notice. No regrets with our choice. It's in a quiet neighbourhood in the Blue Mountains away from the touristy areas of Katoomba and Leura which meant it was in a lovely peaceful setting. Although you probably want to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this review

Hello, Wow, thank you. The comments you have made about The Chalet and ourselves is exactly what I am trying to aim for here - A quiet and relaxing retreat that is a short distance from the major hubs of The Blue Mountains. I do try to make sure guests know I am here to help and to ask any... More

australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Five couples stayed at this guesthouse for the weekend. It was great, despite the very cold weather that came early. There are lovely rooms to lounge around in if you want to stay inside. Handy to everything, yet tucked away in Medlow bath. Dinner is recommended in the dining room. The salmon, beef and desserts were very good. Have booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking time to write about The Chalet and for such a great review. I find it very rewarding to see people relaxed while they are here. It is made so much easier by having great people as guests (we seem to keep attracting lots of wonderful, polite, appreciative people) and I am very appreciative that you... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio

Address: 46 - 50 Portland Road, Medlow Bath, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Medlow Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay