We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cannards Well

Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cannards Well
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had a Sunday carvery at the Cannards Today. WOW delicous!!! to say the least. The reception was great, the chef's greeting was great then the food: Excellent! The selection of food excellent. The taste was great. We would recommend this hotel anytime for a great carvery.

Helpful?
1 Thank Siegfried H
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you Siegfried for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Ian ( the chef for the day ) More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight on 23/1/2016. The welcome was brilliant free drink at the bar. The room was ready and was in excellent condition. The evening meal we had was of the highest quality. The room was really comfortable and the bed was zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Breakfast was up to the standard of the pervious evening meal. Great quality. The carvery lunch 4... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank T1484NNrobert
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was our pleasure to look after you, and your family for the weekend. We hope to see you again in the near future. Ian More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent 4 nights at the Cannards as I was in the area on a course. The room had everything you needed, it wasn't immaculate but for the price it was great, very comfortable. The staff were brilliant, Jim, Ian, Maria you do a great job. As for the food..... Absolutely perfect, properly priced and tasted fantastic. If ever I'm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It was our pleasure to look after you, and hope to see you again in the future. As you will know I have recently taken over as manager, and I look forward to making things even better in the future. Ian More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was working in the area for a couple of days, and thought Cannards would be ideal. I was not disappointed, from the welcome, to the food, my stay was very pleasing. I found the room to be of good value along with the excellent breakfast. I exp[ecting to be back in the area in the spring, Cannards will be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysawayonbusiness
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so please you keep coming back and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Hopefully, as you will have noticed, things are improving and we look forward to further improvements in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my family regularly visit The Cannards for food and refreshments - the food is good quality and hearty especially the Sunday carvery. The staff are friendly and there's even a pub dog called Muffin. The range of ciders has to be seen to be believed and the wine drinker is equally as catered for. Good value home cooked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank crazycatlady674
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoy coming to the Cannards, and hopefully will continue to do so in the future. Armed with a new team, new menu and bags of enthusiasm, we look forward to making things even better, and hopefully you will find things get even better. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cannards is a great pub/hotel/central location. Its great on price, and the manager cannot be beaten, as he looks after you very well. You feel very comfortable and cosy and recent renovations/refurbishments inside and out, makes it appealing.

Helpful?
1 Thank thegrange808
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We are particularly pleased that you have indicated that improvements are taking place. We have taken on board negative feedback, and we are looking to address any areas of concern. We are currently undergoing refurbishments including new carpets on landings, re-decoration, and improvements to room facilities. Obviously not all tasks will be noticable... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at this place a few times and went back for a Christmas Eve stay. We were upgraded to a larger suite at no extra cost. It was absolutely brilliant. The room was very clean and the bed was the most comfortablist I've ever slept in. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. I don't know why people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sumar231
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed the suite, and hopefully the wine and cider. It was our pleasure to look after you, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

I had visited Cannards Well 3 years back whilst on a trip to visit family from South Africa... Returning again in 2015. Experiencing true 'Somerset West Country' hospitality at this delightfully quaint 'true British' hotel. From Big Jim and Muffin, Callum and all the wonderful ladies working there, to the cheery atmosphere and quirky clientele who passed through, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana P
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, and hope your journey back was pleasant. It was our pleasure to accomodate you, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Jim and the team More 

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Well , there is bed and there is breakfast !! The lady providing breakfast was working flat out doing everything she was lovely and clearly under pressure , so polite but if I hadn't have been so tired from the noise from A361 and noise transfer from the rooms around and above I could have said so much, waste of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2barclaysylvester2
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have received your complaint via your booking site and we are looking into what has occured here. I am particularly disappointed to hear that you were refused food at 8.30 and I will be dealing with the matter in due course with the staff involved. I can only apologise for the problems you encountered,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cannards Grave hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

Without doubt, the worst bed and breakfast I have ever had the misfortune to visit. Scruffy worn out rooms threadbare carpets and dreadful beds made worse by the sort of clientel that would.not look out of place sleeping rough. Avoif this like the plague!

Helpful?
Thank Bigmedic
Cannards-Well, General Manager at Cannards Well, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am particularly disturbed that you would insult your fellow guests by suggesting they would be more accustomed to sleeping rough. That suggests a level of expectation way over and above what an establishment such as ours would provide. We are happy to address any genuine complaint, and will try where possible to rectify any... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannards Grave
0.8 mi away
Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel
7.0 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prestleigh Inn
The Prestleigh Inn
#20 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highwayman Inn
Highwayman Inn
#28 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#15 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thatched Cottage
Thatched Cottage
#17 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay