We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Be Smart Alea

Jose Ma Cuadrado, 4, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Alea Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Be Smart Alea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Be Smart Alea
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    75
    32
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
94
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is on a quiet side street, only a short walk from the long beach area on a top of a hill. Clean hotel with good buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. For 3 stars very good. WiFi only in the reception area with extra cost, but free at the beach area. Own pool. Small shops very near : car rents, bike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all, I would like to thank you for writing such a good review of Hotel Alea. Reviews like this encourage us to do our best and try to improve day by day. Kind regards and It would be a pleasure to see you soon between us. More 

where my red nose takes me
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An other wise perfect business stay was sadly disappointed by lack of internet connection in the room. In all fairness, the hotel does state that internet is only in public areas, but this hotel could be SO MUCH more if only the management would modernise its wifi service to meet the needs of business and touristic travellers alike.

Review collected in partnership with Be Live Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Above all, I have to tell you that we really appreciate you have spent your time in writing this review about Hotel Alea. Reading your Review, I realise that the only weak point of the hotel , from your point of view, is the Internet connection, so we will take note of it, and we will try to... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed here for one night when decided to extend our stay in Majorca. Booked hotel on basis of reviews and wasn't sure that the hotel is as good as the ratings made out. There was no problem with this hotel at all, staff were fine, room was clean and service was acceptable but do i think this is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing this review about our hotel. Although you have only stay for one night with us, I can see that you experience in hotel Alea was not bad, and we are happy, because It is not easy to have a good general idea of a place... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good clean quiet hotel with very friendly & helpful staff. We arrived in the morning and our room wasn't ready till 2pm but the receptionist took our bags for us, gave us our all inclusive wristbands so we could have lunch. Food is what you'd expect for a 3*. It was quiet when we were there which is what we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Be Live Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear client: First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this excellent review of our hotel. We feel glad If you have had a comfortable stay with us, so we will still doing our best to provide the best service to our clients. Kind regards, and we are looking forward to see you... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros for this price: food, friendly staff, clean rooms, airconditioning/heating Room with pool view was sunny almost all day. Hotel was very quiet at night time during my stay. Two big shops nearby. Location was a bit away from the beach.

Review collected in partnership with Be Live Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear guest: We really appreciate your review about Hotel Alea. As I can read, you have a good value of us, and you have spent good time in Mallorca, so the whole hotel staff and would be proud of seeing you again, and show to you that we try to improve day by day. Gratefully More 

Wrzesnia, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Very good food,staff very friendly,hotel clear and nice.I highly recommend. nice neighborhood , close to a cool bar , park , great service at the front desk , very nice waitress. Mogę z czystym sumieniem polecić ten hotel,stosunek ceny do jakości bardzo dobry.

Review collected in partnership with Be Live Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear client: Thank you very much for writing this review. Reviews like this, encourage and motivate our staff a lot, due to we try to do our best everyday. It would be delightful to see you soon. Kind regards More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel mid-April. After reading good reviews on Tripadvisor we were really excited to stay at the hotel and were happy that we had made the right choice. I'm not a 'hotel snob' by any means but this hotel was rather disappointing and we didn't seem to experience the same 'helpful staff' as others... More 

Review collected in partnership with Be Live Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear client: First of all, I really appreciate you have spent your time in writing this review, which will help us to improve, and apologize in the name of the hotel staff, if we didnt achive the expectatives you had. Related to the behavour of our staff, we were sorprised, because is the first time that we have a complain... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Very clean hotel, maid service and clean towels every day. Pool very cold, so did not use much. Breakfast good, although early check out breakfast very disappointing not even toast. Overall very nice hotel, the guys on reception very friendly and funny. Would go back if staying in same area again.

Review collected in partnership with Be Live Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Deborah: I really want to thank you for your review, and tell to you that we are so happy when clients have had good experiences at Hotel Alea. Lovely hotel for lovely people, like you. Thanks for everything, and we are looking forward to see you soon. Kind regards More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I have just returned from a 3 night break here with my 8 year old daughter. The hotel is clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The decor and atmosphere is fine, however I did encounter a number of issues. First of all, despite requesting a pool view (I know this is not always possible but as it was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Be Live Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear client: First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing this review, so every of them help us to improve our services to clients. Therefore, I really apologize if the service we provide you was not as you expected. However I would like you explain you some issues. Firstly, related to your room,... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Stayed here on Mallorca for a week in 2013. Despite the area and El Arenal is not the best place to relax, the hotel is nice and was clean. Had half-board but had to pay for the drinks, only the tap water was free. Internet is expensive only have 2 PC at the hall and wifi is available only there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julian S, Director General at Be Smart Alea, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Above all, I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing this review about Hotel Alea. Every review helps us to improve our service. Talking about Wifi this year we have solved the price problem, so if you come back to our hotel you would realise of this. On the other hand, related to beverages... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay