We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland

4.0 of 5 2 - 4 Anderson Street, Port Hedland, Western Australia 6721, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
9
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have travelled a lot around regional WA and even though the queen room is small, it is very clean and surprising comfortable. Seems newly refurbished. When the balcony door opens, the aircon shuts down. Love the fact that they are environmentally friendly, saving costs at the same time I suppose may well be their prime motivation. WARNING: Nothing to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you pooh194 for posting our latest review. The Esplanade was refurbished last year as we updated our accommodation rooms and also made the decision to upgrade our food & beverage facilities. As the Liquor Act in Port Hedland is very stringent, we have since given in-house guests and locals somewhere to enjoy a beverage in a relaxed and modern... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With little choice in an expensive location, chose to stay at The Esplanade as the meals have always been great at 1904. Was disappointed from the get go. Reception staff continued to talk on the phone while we waited on what I assumed to be a personal call (judged from the "woo hoo" during her conversation), having to wait 45... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you Dee L for posting our latest review. I must say that I was very disappointed to read that you did not receive our usual high standard of customer service that is expected of my Reception Staff. Please be reassured that I will remind the staff of our expectations, as you are correct is saying that first impressions are... More

Paraburdoo, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

paid for spa suite, $280. one bed in a small room. dark and small bathroom, no fans. tiny tv. extra beds? sure, $50 each a night. not staying here again, walkabout is better for families! the esplanade advertises family room on their website. but they dont have them apparently. I dont see how they won awards over the rydges in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you SJFamily14 for posting our latest review. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your room booked at The Esplanade. I note that you stayed in one of our Deluxe Spa Rooms and not an interconnecting room which we recommend is more suitable to family stays. This would be a better option for your next visit... More

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely romantic spot in Port Headland. The food was great and the service was great. The eating area has canvas covers over the top which helps block out the heat and gave shade while we ate the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you Sally W for taking the time to post your review of The Esplanade. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable (and romantic) stay with us and enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I was sent to Port Hedland for work and we were booked in to the hotel. The service was friendly when we arrived and things like organising packed lunch were a cinch. The food in the restaurant was great, especially the buffet nights. Breakfast I did think was a little simple and more variety would have made it better. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you sa_countryfolk for posting our latest review and for choosing to stay at The Esplanade. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our Hotel and hope that business brings you back to visit us again soon. More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We travelled as family & booked two rooms which were furnished in an old fashioned style with small bathrooms & an alcove for preparing tea etc. Wooden veranda ran the circumference of the building. Typical old Australian style. Restaurant was busy, service slow with outdoor seating but meals were excellent. Probably the best mixed fish meal we had ever eaten.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you Isobelmw for taking the time to post our latest review for The Esplanade. I was pleased to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and especially the mixed fish meal in our Restaurant 1904. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your travels in Australia. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The last time I stayed at the Esplanade was almost 30 years ago. This time I booked for 4 days on the strength of online reports here and elsewhere, and have to report the only thing that hasn’t changed at the ‘nade in all that time is the iron ore dust settling on the balconies. It’s a minor annoyance if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you BrianP660 for posting our latest review and I was pleased to read that your overall stay with us was a positive one. I completely agree, the iron ore dust is a constant challenge for our housekeeping staff and every effort is made to clean the balcony table and chairs on a daily basis. As you acknowledged, our hotel... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The hotel was lovely, although our room had a slight off smell to it but we didn't say anything as we were only staying for one night. There are doors to adjoining rooms, and unfortunately we had some loudish neighbours who we could hear off and on when we were in our room. Hotel staff were helpful and pleasant, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you Yodamit for posting our latest review, although I was disappointed to read your comments about one of our waiters as the staff usually pride themselves with professional customer service. On check-in our Reception staff advise all guests of our facilities and encourage bookings in our Restaurant to avoid disappointment. The other alternative is our Small Bites menu served... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

charming faux limestone exterior makes the hotel stand out from surrounding buildings and mining/port edifices. Reasonable size room but bathroom too small. Odd having wardrobe incorporated with bar fridge. No iron or board, had to order one up for a press of the business shirt. Great free wifi, always a plus at any Australian hotel. And worth an extra star... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you fabsnake for taking the time to post our latest review and we do encourage all our guests to provide us with feedback. Your comments have been taken into consideration and I hope that business brings you back to The Esplanade in the future. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Recently refurbished this hotel provides a comfy room and quite adequate meals. Service is good and friendly. However, true to WA the prices are way over the top with a basic room costing over $300! And meals also expensive. To be fair this hotel has made a great effort to provide comfortable accommodation to business travellers and do this very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew Z, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew G for your comments regarding The Esplanade and I am pleased that you enjoyed our newly refurbished facilities. Although we are the only 4 1/2 star Hotel in the Pilbara, we try to remain competitive as rates start from approx. $255. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Port Hedland. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland

Address: 2 - 4 Anderson Street, Port Hedland, Western Australia 6721, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Port Hedland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay