We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Albany accommodations

Albany Backpackers

corner of Stirling Terrace and Spencer Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Hotel amenities
Albany Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albany Backpackers to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Albany
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Manon S
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived in this hostel 2 weeks ago. There is a welcoming and nice staff who are always available ! They can find you a job if you are looking for this. There are 2 TV places, 2 kitchens, 1 laundry (2$ for one big), a nice little backyard... The hostel is cleaned daily (bathrooms and toilets, kitchens, vacuum cleaner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a very good experience to stay in this hostel. I have met some lovely people. The staff is friendly and always available, on Sundays we meet all around a cake made by jacky! The backpack is well placed because it is two steps from the bus stop! and if you have a car, there is a car park.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Albany Backpackers. Stayed for a few nights. It is a good location it is a minute walk from the bus depot. It has an IGA 2 minutes walk away and the backpacker favorite Dan Murphies is another 2 minutes away. So all the essentials are covered. The hostel its self is well kept, rooms are cleaned daily. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the displeasure of staying at a hotel that backs on to this backpackers. After hours of listening to the drunks in the BBQ area out the back yelling, singing and chanting - all at the top of their lungs - I finally became so frustrated we called security in the early hours. I've stayed in backpackers before and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They really find you a job. I spent there 6 weeks and I never saw someone to wait more than 1 week for a job. Is a bit dirty and there's no a good organization. But a lot of people stay there for a long time so is like a big family. 4 points!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StefB199, Owner at Albany Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alberto, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel and we are glad you had a great time staying with us. Sorry to hear you were disappointed about the cleanliness of the hostel. The hostel gets thoroughly cleaned from top to bottom from our team of cleaners every day. The cleanliness of the hostel is our main priority... More 

Albany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Hi, Btw, I am a backpacker. The reason I stay in Hostal I need a job, so I decided to leave my friends for awhile and come down to south to look for a job alone. Now I am staying in Albany Backpacker and I have been staying for few months already. This Hostal has it's own style like giving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place has good mix of people and facilities. Table tennis, pool table offer a good way to pass the time. The location and pricing is good. The large room with multiple bunker beds helped 7 of us get accomodated in one room only. Good deal..

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Albany Backpackers is a good hostel in the heart of Albany, the staff is very friendly and always helpful with problems and finding a job, the work for free accommodation is also available (we have also taken advantage of this offer and were very satisfied) . There are two kitchens with sufficient storage space and refrigerators as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed several months in Albany and Albany backpackers was like a second home. When you travel and especially when you're so far from home to find a cozy place I think is crucial. The staff at Albany plan backpackers supported us throughout our journey to better advising, I had the good fortune to meet many wonderful people in there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is definitely one of the best Hostels I stayed in during my whole trip in Australia. A lovely and cozy place. I really enjoyed coming back to the hostel, the people and staff felt so much like coming home. As well the staff cares a lot and helps you with all of your questions and problems. The hostel provides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Albany Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Backpackers

Address: corner of Stirling Terrace and Spencer Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Albany Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay