We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Albany accommodations

1849 Backpackers Albany

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   45 Peels Place, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added 1849 Backpackers Albany to your Saves list
1849 Backpackers Albany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
92%
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013
Steven S Scarborough, Australia
  • Reviews (56)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for 1849 Backpackers Albany
See the most recent reviews
Scarborough, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

1849 was our first stop on a trip through southwestern Australia and I'd have to say it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in. I've done my fair share of traveling in both the United States and Europe and this is the only Hostel that I've stayed in that actually made you feel like you were at home. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Thank you!! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy you enjoyed 1849 and your stay with us :) Danny and Paula More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hostel me and my boyfriend have stayed in since we arrived in Australia...it's going to be hard to beat our stay at the 1849 backpackers. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We were both looking for casual work and Elliot found work through the hostel notice board and a member of staff found me hospitality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Thank you Lauren, I hope you have good experiences all around Australia! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and took the time to write a review for us as well. It makes a big difference to us, and helps others choose where the best place for them will be while visiting Albany. I know there are choices, and... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I came down to Albany to chill out from work for a weekend, and that's what I did. A very relaxed atmosphere all round in 1849, with a comfy duna den outside, table tennis downstairs and free WIFI it has all you need for a relaxing time. The dorms are clean and the beds comfy, a good night sleep was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

We appreciate you writing a review for us, thank you! Very glad too you enjoyed the break away, and hope you'll have a chance to come down again. We show Champions League games as well, and the FA Cup, along with soccer and other sport from around the world. I'm glad the facilities were what you were looking for :o)... More

Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

clean rooms, friendly people, mattress was not the best. I suppose it was an old one. The website promises more then there actually is. Still good people and nice to have some civilization around you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello 'Mr Garfield, thank you for writing this review for us! We are glad you found your stay enjoyable and civilised, however we are disappointed in ourselves that you didn't get the nights sleep you hoped and paid for. We apologise for that. We are in the process of replacing mattresses, which of course is an ongoing thing. We try... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed for one night at 1849 during August 2013. Although I booked in a 4x dorm, the friendly manager moved me(at no extra cost) on my request to a private room. The room, bathroom and kitchen were clean. The only noise that bothered was two people having sex in the room next door. I suppose that can happen at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review 1849 Backpackers. We are glad you had a good stay with us. We do keep the place spotless and well maintained, and I am glad you found the place as you like it. The room at the front you were in is actually the oldest hotel room in Western Australia I have... More

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My sister and I came down to Albany on a bit of a whim and stayed here for a few nights. 1849 was just about to undergo renovations so the hostel was semi-closed and virtually empty. We still had a great stay; welcoming staff, comfy beds and the added bonus of quirky pets to keep us company. Sidenote: When staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hi Laura, thank you for writing about us!! Yep, that room does that on a Saturday night, I wish they didn't do it but sadly we don't have control of what they do in the business downstairs. We are very happy you had a good stay. The place is VERY busy now with a great vibe, AND we have our... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, helpful, amazing staff that were always around; great common areas; hostel was fully booked yet didn't feel over crowded; great showers - feels like hot water is raining on you; double room was fairly basic but very clean; great environment for travellers; free home made pancakes, all you can eat every morning - they invited us over for pancakes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello Boris, thank you for the review! It's true, when we're full the place still doesn't feel packed, because of all the different kind of communal areas there are, and the size of them. Very glad you like the pancakes, we do them every day and right now we must be making over 150 every morning. Going through a lot... More

Albany, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place immediately felt like home and the staff are so welcoming and lovely! The pancakes are a welcome treat in the mornings and the place is nice and clean and rather quaint! The outside area is very nice with a kinda lounge area under a roof with some rather comfy lounges and plenty of pillows. The garden is an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Thank you Matthias for taking the time to send in a review. I know that when you;re travelling it is hard to find the time to do it, especially in hostels that charge for internet time! Your description of the place is great, and we now have a real little theatre downstairs as well, which has added to the communal... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pros Friendly and helpful owners Free pancakes each morning for brekky - the owners are there from 7am -9.30am cooking yummy pancakes with lemon/orange juice topping, sugar, jam for everybody 2 Cute cats and 1 dog Cons We had a family room - the double bed was pretty awful - could feel the springs through the mattress. Told owners about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello again! Thank you fo0r taking the time to review 1849 Backpackers, and for your constructive criticism, we appreciate all comments as it helps us to always improve. We're happy you enjoyed the pancakes and all the sites around Albany too - it is a beautiful place! However, in our defense, we always tell people when they arrive that if... More

Bunbury, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

thank you Danny for your awesome breakfast of pancakes.... you are such an amazing person. It was a privilage to spend time with you and thankyou for sharing your amazing vision for young people..... Love your committment to your dream and to have spent time in the fruition of your realization of seeing the backpackers up and running we are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

THANK YOU Maria! It was lovely meeting and chatting with you too. We really appreciate your comments about the place and as for the future, yes, WOW, always an adventure! Have a lovely trip :o) Danny and Paula More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage 1849 Backpackers Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to 1849 Backpackers Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1849 Backpackers Albany

Address: 45 Peels Place, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 1849 Backpackers Albany 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 1849 Backpackers Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1849 Backpackers is Albany's ONLY hostel mentioned - PLUS featured with a star rating - inside the 2014 Lonely Planet publication, and for two years in a row won the Award for Excellence on Trip Advisor. Come in and we'll show you why. We'll provide the comfort and ensure your stay with us is a memorable, fun experience inside Western Australia's oldest hotel. Unique features include a grassed, fenced four a side soccer pitch and volleyball court, free fast, unlimited WiFi, free delicious pancakes made for you each morning, free bike hire AND a new theatre downstairs. Large screen TV in the lounge too, ensuring not one match of the World Cup needs to be missed. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

See which rooms travelers prefer