We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Albany accommodations

1849 Backpackers Albany

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   45 Peels Place | (Gps Address: 49 Peels Place), Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Hotel amenities
1849 Backpackers Albany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 1849 Backpackers Albany to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Trot65 Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
14
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

We had three great nights here in this friendly, clean and affordable accommodation in Albany. Danny and Paula are doing a wonderful job of transformed this old building in to a great hostel that has a family feel and warmth to it. Well done. Great staff too!! As others have stated FREE pancakes in the morning and served with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Aye aye 1849! I absolutely love this place. I've stayed a first time..then left..and then came back for an even longer time. I truly don't know how to describe 1849backpackers. First, it's clean, spacious, always working on making it better for us guests. The staff is amazing! Garvan, Roberto, Paula and..wait..it rhymes with monkey..DANNY! Bazinga. They are all here for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfy beds, free car park, polite & courteous staff. Quiet, central location and 5 mins walk away from the beach and Anzac Park. Free pancakes too! :-) When we turned up it was movie night and they had a projector set up and all the people staying could get together and watch it which was a nice touch. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on three separate nights - have stayed at a few backpackers and this one is defiantly up there. Clean facilities, friendly helpful staff, nice communal spaces and FREE PANCAKES :D Was a bit loud on one of the nights I stayed there but didn't keep me up too long :) Great location - close to everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello!! Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review, we really appreciate it. W are very happy you enjoyed the pancakes too, we enjoy making them as well :o) I am sorry you found one of the nights a bit noisy. we had a problem for a while with the wine bar downstairs, but that has... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great hostel to stay in. It was clean, had great facilities, helpful, friendly staff and was right in town. It cost a fair bit considering that it's a hostel and I was disappointed when told that I was not allowed to drink alcohol there, then again Australia is uptight about drinking compared to Europe so I probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello Jack, thank you for taking the time out to write us a review, we really appreciate and take note of your feedback. I am deeply disappointed we didn't come up to your hopes and expectations, as we aim very high. Our price we feel is very competitive, $33 for a dorm room and $77 for a double/twin, and unfortunately... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I had high hopes for this place after reading the reviews, but was first of all put off by the fact that somehow they had lost my reservation. Luckily there was availability and I was put in a room with two of their staff. They were rude and unfriendly so I requested to be placed in the four bed room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello Chantal, thank you for reviewing 1849 Backpackers, we certainly appreciate you taking the time to do this. Very frustrating to hear your booking went astray. It occasionally happens with online bookings, with some of the booking engines running slow at peak times or going down. It's rare, but frustrating when it happens. It appears you had a bad run... More 

Nairobi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Stayed the night of 31 December 2014 and paid $100 for two people in a private room with a double bed and wardrobe. Bathrooms shared. Good facilities available with a TV lounge, outdoor area, communal kitchen with large fridges, table tennis and soccer court. Fast and complimentary wifi included. Off street parking available. Staff were helpful with local information and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hi Kuzurura, thank you for writing your review for us, I appreciate it. Our double, twin and dorm room prices do go up at Easter and Christmas/New Year for a few days, which is why you paid extra. Our normal prices are $77 for a double and $33 for a dorm. We are happy you had a good time in... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I was travelling alone and found 1849 Backpackers in the lonely planet guide. The hostel is wonderful, staff is extremely friendly and helpful and there is always someone sitting outside to talk to. Kitchen is clean and the pancakes Danny makes for breakfast are fantastic! Lounge room is good for being hungover and there's a parking lot for everyone with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello Marc, thank you for writing a review for us. We are very happy you had such a great stay at 1849 Backpackers and enjoyed the facilities so much. Also the pancakes, we really enjoy making these in the morning, it's a great way to start the day for everyone and it's good fun too. Safe and happy travels around... More 

Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Average hostel. Quite spacious. In an older building (classic design) so tall ceilings huge windows and wooden floor boards. Quite a nice place and big bathrooms and a heck of a lot of corridors. I stayed during the weekend, and WOW it’s so loud at night, just because the building is shared with a downstairs bar and café. Actually it’s... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for staying with and reviewing 1849 backpackers! I'm afraid it is impossible to go down below 77 and 33 per night for double and dorm rooms, the cost of running the building is so high and we are always adding extra facilities, like the theatre and musical instruments downstairs, soccer pitch, BBQ area, gardens, pancakes in the... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I've travelled from Adelaide to Cairns, East Coast, backpacking, driving, loved 1849, perfect location close shops, nightclubs, cafés, harbour views, beaches, fishing, hospital brand new , short wait times, free tea, coffee, free pancakes fast daily, free Sunday dinner, helpful friendly staff & manager 24/7, real comfy mattresses , quality linen, cutlery, crockery, pots all free to use, kitchen cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Albany, responded to this review

Hello Cheryll, we are very happy you had such a great time and enjoyed all the facilities we have on offer. It is great to know the place worked so well for you, as our reason for being here is to make sure travellers feel safe, nurtured and have a good time before they move on top the next place.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to 1849 Backpackers Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1849 Backpackers Albany

Address: 45 Peels Place | (Gps Address: 49 Peels Place), Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 1849 Backpackers Albany 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your 1849 Backpackers Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay