We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Art Series - The Cullen

5.0 of 5 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Art Series - The Cullen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Art Series - The Cullen
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    182
    47
    17
    19
See reviews for
66
281
71
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (678)
  • Mar-May only
    (158)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (176)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (158)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was really good. I stayed here with sister and young neice in a very well decorated twin room. We both had our own very comfortable double bed each with curtains that wrapped around the bed for privacy as well as our own flat screen TV's - we couldn't have asked for a better set up. The food from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, What a wonderful review! I would like to thank you for you kind words regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I will be sure to pass on your feedback regarding our restaurant Gramercy. We are very fortunate to be located next to transport to the city and the shopping precinct of Chapel Street. I... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved my one night stay at. The Cullen and the 8 hours of unbroken sleep it afforded. Might have been the beautiful art and designer furniture or the fact I stayed in the "swoon room". Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear "MediaTart" "Divine designer den" what a fabulous title! It sounds like you enjoyed a night in one of our Street Art Studio Suites. Here at [The Cullen] we offer guests to experience the artworks of local and international artists in this particular room type. "Swoon" she is an American street artist who usually pastes her pieces on uninhabited locations.... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent spot - you can wander to Prahran market and is less than 5 mins walk to Chapel St. Lovely modern, boutique hotel. Very comfy beds, a kitchenette which was handy and a good shower! Only disappointments were that Wifi not included and room service tray not removed from my room all day (was from breakfast - forgot to put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear "TripItLover" What a wonderful review to read! I am delighted you had a wonderful stay with us here at [The Cullen]. We are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you! Thank you for your feedback, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a Deluxe Studio Suite (upgraded from the standard Studio Suite for AUD15 extra). We appreciated the extra space even though we didn't really use the kitchenette. I was quite disappointed that the charge for parking a car in the hotel garage was AUD25 per day. The full charge for non-hotel guests was AUD30 per day, so there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear "vsylee", Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I am delighted you ejoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback we do appreciate hearing your experience here at [The Cullen]. I have noted your comments and will be sure to pass them on to the... More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed in the Cullen, Totally not suitable for families! Curtains between bedrooms no doors! Glass bathrooms offering little privacy, does not leave much for imagination when people on toilet! Reception staff not overly friendly or helpful!!will stick to city hotels in future! Too try hard to be funky!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Darren, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I am dissapointed to read that our team here were not of assistance to you. I am upset that you found the team not to be friendly. At [The Cullen] we do appreciate all feedback and your comments... More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Cullen is a great hotel. Comfortable and well equipped rooms with fantastic and quirky art by a great Australian artist. The hotel is situated in the heart of Prarhan right across the road from the market and just around the corner from Chapel Street. Downstairs is a great restaurant and you also have the wonderful Hutong Dumpling Restaurant right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

"MelbourneRod1960" Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. "Perfect in every way" what wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear you had a fantastic time and you love the art of the late Adam Cullen. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kindest Regards, Rowena More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this edgy, artsy hotel in Prahran and a 5 mins walk away from Prahran station. Accessible enough for Prahran area, Chapel Street, High Street with cafes (with the most awesome coffees) littered every 100 metres range. Right in front is the Prahran Market, clubs and pubs with very 'happy hours' prices. Friendly hotel staff and a very memorable stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'staysg' The right amount of 'edginess' is a description of [The Cullen] we absolutely adore! You are spot on, we are fortunate to be surround by the shopping precinct of Chapel Street and all of the hidden gems of Prahran. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here last night for NYE as we did last year when we watched the fireworks from their obeservation/function deck on their roof. Pretty disappointed with their attitude and response this year. No access to the roof this year, even though I enquired with the receptionist as we booked in and was informed that they would confirm with me if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Barny, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I do apologise it is dissapointing to hear that the team let you down and did not respond to your question upon... More 

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location was fantastic, right in the heart of it all. Great Restaurant / Café downstairs. Rooms were superb. We had a Deluxe Twin Room with our 16yr old son, which was great, as we had two TV's so he could watch sport, whilst we watched our shows. There is a supermarket meters away. But we chose to eat in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear SimBrisbane, "Fantastic Location and Gorgeous Hotel" what a wonderful description of your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really love receiving all guest feedback especially those that provide great insight into their stay. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us. We... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Cullen Hotel for 5 nights over Christmas 2014.We found the amenities great. We cooked breakfast which saved us money which we put towards outings .The walls were sound- proof .We could either use the air conditioning or open a window allow fresh air in. As I am disabled ..had a stroke in 2001... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Sandy, I really enjoyed reading your review. You have provided great insight regarding your recent stay here at [The Cullen]. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding The Cullen Crew and the Gramercy male head waiter. It sounds like you had a wonderful time whilst staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (162)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay