We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Cowes hotels

Seahorse Motel

29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Seahorse Motel to your Saves list
Seahorse Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
81%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit to the Motel and it was just as good as the first visit. The rooms are warm, comfortable and very well equipped for a family of four. Catherine and her partner made our stay very comfortable and gave us very useful pieces of information about what to see on the Island. The wifi access was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having flown to some exotic locations in the best level of luxury money can buy on an internationally renowned airliner, one would ask me the question of 'But why stay at a motel?' and would also think it a little weird for someone like me to be staying at a motel. It was a big change that I was unaware... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bleadon, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It all looks a bit 1970s on arrival, but the newly refurbished rooms are comfortable, bright and deliver all you need. The reception staff were so helpful with advice on getting the most out of the penguin parade and places to eat in town. Even lent us warm puffa jackets to sit out the evening on a chilly beach. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice and clean rooms. The staff is friendly and kind. The location very good. Also in winter the room was warm. Near there are some restaurants and pubs. Geeat choice for all winter but for sure also for summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Manager was very helpful with where to go and what to do. Got charged $120 for the room when booked online would have paid $100 which was disappointing as the room was very simple no cutlery other than teaspoons so hard to butter our toast. No free wifi. Comfortable and simple but compared to where we had stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Karen, Thank you for your review, it is nice to hear that we are helpful. The $120.00 that you paid is the standard price for a motel room on a Saturday night at this time of year. $100.00 is our midweek tariff. A motel room does not have any crockery or cutlery but we could have provided them if asked.... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Checked in after seeing the penguin parade. Very helpful staff, gave good advice on things to do and where to eat, clean comfortable room. A great, basic motel, good value. Can recommend for an easy, comfortable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear that you thought our rooms were clean and comfortable. Thanks Catherine More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff with advice. The place was quiet and relaxing. Very clean room, comfy bed and bathroom was lovely. Price was of good value and very close to the beach. I would recommend this place for anyone. Overall excellent experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Mark, Thank you for your review, these rooms have been recently re-furbished so it is great to hear that you were pleased with the renovations. Thanks Catherine More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I can happily recommend the Seahorse Motel. The manager was most pleasant and helpful both when we booked and on arrival. Rooms are certainly clean, fresh and comfortable if a little on the modest side. This is certainly no five star resort however you'd have to be hard to please not to be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a great value motel, the staff are very friendly and offer lots of helpful advice for visiting Philip Island. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with a good size TV, kettle, toaster, crockery and cutlery. You could not be disappointed with this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Definitely agree with other reviewers Seahorse is a hidden gem. Would never guess how nice the rooms are by just driving by. The owners know how to truly renovate a place, not just covering old paint with new! Bathroom looked like something you would find at an upscale hotel. Manager was a world of help with useful suggestions for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Seahorse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Address: 29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cowes with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seahorse Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer