We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seahorse Motel

29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seahorse Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Seahorse Motel
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A one night stop bought us to this motel. Reception was friendly and very helpful. Our place # 5 , was just near reception and had its own little enclosed backyard. Main room was quite spacious and included a dining table. A note to be aware of is that rates go up on Saturday nights , our cost was $160... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palm Cove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Excellent managers - Lino and Catherine. They could point you in any direction depending on what you want to do, book you onto tours, and give you loads of information. They made you feel at home from the moment you check-in. Excellent location - just a stone throws to the main street, restaurants, grocery stores, shops and the beach front.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Motel and it was just as good as the first visit. The rooms are warm, comfortable and very well equipped for a family of four. Catherine and her partner made our stay very comfortable and gave us very useful pieces of information about what to see on the Island. The wifi access was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Having flown to some exotic locations in the best level of luxury money can buy on an internationally renowned airliner, one would ask me the question of 'But why stay at a motel?' and would also think it a little weird for someone like me to be staying at a motel. It was a big change that I was unaware... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bleadon, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

It all looks a bit 1970s on arrival, but the newly refurbished rooms are comfortable, bright and deliver all you need. The reception staff were so helpful with advice on getting the most out of the penguin parade and places to eat in town. Even lent us warm puffa jackets to sit out the evening on a chilly beach. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice and clean rooms. The staff is friendly and kind. The location very good. Also in winter the room was warm. Near there are some restaurants and pubs. Geeat choice for all winter but for sure also for summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Manager was very helpful with where to go and what to do. Got charged $120 for the room when booked online would have paid $100 which was disappointing as the room was very simple no cutlery other than teaspoons so hard to butter our toast. No free wifi. Comfortable and simple but compared to where we had stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Karen, Thank you for your review, it is nice to hear that we are helpful. The $120.00 that you paid is the standard price for a motel room on a Saturday night at this time of year. $100.00 is our midweek tariff. A motel room does not have any crockery or cutlery but we could have provided them if asked.... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Checked in after seeing the penguin parade. Very helpful staff, gave good advice on things to do and where to eat, clean comfortable room. A great, basic motel, good value. Can recommend for an easy, comfortable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear that you thought our rooms were clean and comfortable. Thanks Catherine More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff with advice. The place was quiet and relaxing. Very clean room, comfy bed and bathroom was lovely. Price was of good value and very close to the beach. I would recommend this place for anyone. Overall excellent experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Mark, Thank you for your review, these rooms have been recently re-furbished so it is great to hear that you were pleased with the renovations. Thanks Catherine More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I can happily recommend the Seahorse Motel. The manager was most pleasant and helpful both when we booked and on arrival. Rooms are certainly clean, fresh and comfortable if a little on the modest side. This is certainly no five star resort however you'd have to be hard to please not to be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Address: 29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay