We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Cowes hotels

Seahorse Motel

29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Seahorse Motel to your Saves list
Seahorse Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Karen C Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (65)
  • Photos (31)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Manager was very helpful with where to go and what to do. Got charged $120 for the room when booked online would have paid $100 which was disappointing as the room was very simple no cutlery other than teaspoons so hard to butter our toast. No free wifi. Comfortable and simple but compared to where we had stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Karen, Thank you for your review, it is nice to hear that we are helpful. The $120.00 that you paid is the standard price for a motel room on a Saturday night at this time of year. $100.00 is our midweek tariff. A motel room does not have any crockery or cutlery but we could have provided them if asked.... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in after seeing the penguin parade. Very helpful staff, gave good advice on things to do and where to eat, clean comfortable room. A great, basic motel, good value. Can recommend for an easy, comfortable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear that you thought our rooms were clean and comfortable. Thanks Catherine More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff with advice. The place was quiet and relaxing. Very clean room, comfy bed and bathroom was lovely. Price was of good value and very close to the beach. I would recommend this place for anyone. Overall excellent experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review

Mark, Thank you for your review, these rooms have been recently re-furbished so it is great to hear that you were pleased with the renovations. Thanks Catherine More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I can happily recommend the Seahorse Motel. The manager was most pleasant and helpful both when we booked and on arrival. Rooms are certainly clean, fresh and comfortable if a little on the modest side. This is certainly no five star resort however you'd have to be hard to please not to be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a great value motel, the staff are very friendly and offer lots of helpful advice for visiting Philip Island. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with a good size TV, kettle, toaster, crockery and cutlery. You could not be disappointed with this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Definitely agree with other reviewers Seahorse is a hidden gem. Would never guess how nice the rooms are by just driving by. The owners know how to truly renovate a place, not just covering old paint with new! Bathroom looked like something you would find at an upscale hotel. Manager was a world of help with useful suggestions for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked the Seahorse because it didn't cost much more than a cabin at a caravan park (if at all), and were pleasantly surprised. We were allocated a spacious 1 bedroom apartment with a kitchen (it had a stove and good size fridge), which was perfect for us since we were travelling with a baby and really appreciated the extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Friendly well appointed motel, our room was large well fitted and clean, Friendly reception gave us good advice and local knowledge.A Laundry and Free Wifi are avaiable. 10 Mins uphill walk to centre for Eating, Bars, Coles & Woolworths. 20 mins drive to The Nobbies and Penguins, If you are going to Penguins make sure you eat before as most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teesside
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Using Booking.com(from UK) we were greeted by friendly owners for our two night(B&B) stay. Our deluxe double room upstairs was enormous and spotlessly clean. It looked as if it had been recently decorated and couldn't be faulted. If you had mobility issues you may struggle with the external stairs to reach room 22. Breakfast was delivered to the room the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We arrived in Cowes at tea time on Friday with nowhere to stay. Having been in to 2 other motels who told us they only had expensive rooms available we called in and were given a deluxe room for the price of a smaller room. The manager was very friendly and gave us excellent information regarding the penguin parade and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Seahorse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Address: 29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;