We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Cowes hotels

The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Hotel amenities
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com Tingo.com
and 4 more sites!
27%
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Cowes
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    36
    24
    43
See reviews for
30
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daylesford, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The second time we have stayed here and nothing has changed in the 18mths since our last stay. The rooms are very average and could do with a good refurb. Ok if you are just wanting a bed for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here - 27 & 28 Feb. For such a lovely location at Cowes it was very disappointing to see how run down the hotel has become. Stayed there ten years ago when it was so much better. There appears to have been no money spent on it. Small rooms, not very clean either, bath very scratched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. Yes the Hotel was built in 1976, we are a 3 Star Hotel located in the heart of cowes, our rooms are affordable and most boast water view. While we are not the Hilton we endeveour to provide quality service at a reasonable price. Regarding breakfast, this is a complimentary service we provide to all guests,... More

Berwick, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Phillip Island is expensive at the best of times, so I booked the 'spa suite' of the Continental without completing my usual research. Thank goodness I did!! We found the 310 spa suite exceptionally clean, mostly refurbished, has one of the best views and locations on the Island, had a decent enough 'cold' breakfast, friendly staff, lovely pool, etc. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Understandably this is a 3 star hotel, but at a price of $250 a night over long weekend, I definitely expected more!! Room stank like mould and sewage, part of the architraves and skirting in the bathroom had rotted right through. Television didn't work. Lamps beside beds had exposed wires. Wouldn't dare use the dirty, grimy spa bath. The grounds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review however I find this to be an extremely negative review with no relevance or factual content at all. More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at the Continental last week for two nights and did not expect too much after recent reviews. On the plus side the room was clean, the bathroom was clean and may have been recently upgraded. Air conditioner worked after a struggle! The negative was that the walls were scruffy in parts and could do with a simple wash down.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was obviously once a very good hotel but time has left it well behind. It can be restored to presumably former glories but it will take an awful lot of Aussie Dollars to bring The Continental up to the standard expected by the modern traveller. This is a very tired establishment but what makes it so very disappointing is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. The hotel itself was officially opened in 1976, we are currently undergoing renovations throughout the hotel, but as this is a destination in high demand particularly for accommodation and we are still in high season - we are limited in the amount of work we can undertake at any one time without causing disruption to Hotel... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had booked a oceanview standard room for one night. Despite previously reading poor reviews, I still chose to book this hotel with an open mind. Our oceanview room had perhaps 20% view of the ocean and 80% view of a large bushy tree. I couldnt bathe my daughter due to the mould around the bath. The whole place feels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in staying with us. Regarding you complaint email we are yet to receive this. More

Southern Cross Victoria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Where do I start! This was the worst place I have ever stayed at. We paid $210 a night for a room that was just plain terrible. The apartment consisted of a lounge room that contained a sofa bed, you couldn't sit on it because it was to uncomfortable. T o watch the big old TV (digital top box on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years with a couple of friends after being told we were to young to stay in the seahorse motel! Best decision ever made! Perfect location although rooms where probably not good value for money they were still okay for the night. Took us 2 min to walk to the main shops and beach not even. Got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and strongly believe that this site often misused by reviewers to attempt to almost defame or destroy reputations of businesses Australia wide. We hope you will stay with us again. More

Foster, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Beautiful location, close to the beach. It's quiet...until the bar comes to life. The receptionist was nice enough to shift us to a quieter room away from the bar (I was travelling with family), though I did visit the place later at night when the silence became too boring. It isn't awfully clean, and there's no wifi in room (at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again. More

Been to The Continental Hotel Phillip Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Cowes
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island Cowes
Address: 5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Continental Hotel Phillip Island 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Continental Hotel Phillip Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Continental Hotel Phillip Island to your Saves list