We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Cowes accommodations

Amaroo Park

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   97 Church Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia (Formerly Amaroo Park YHA)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Escape for 3 Nights
Save Saved
You added Amaroo Park to your Saves list
Amaroo Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Deb739 Melbourne, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the Villas overnight (7/7-8/7/2014) and couldn't be happier with the accommodation. The units were extremely clean, spacious, very warm and cosy. Loved how close we were to main street. Well within walking distance. The staff were very welcoming, pleasant and friendly and approachable if extra blankets etc. were required. This was our first stay at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this review

Really appreciate your trip advisor review. Thank you for mentioning the location, cleanliness and friendly staff. If you do come back we offer repeat client discounts, so don't forget to mention this on booking again. Like us on face book for news and special discounts offered throughout the year. But most of all we are just pleased that you had... More

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A Bit Small We recently stayed here in a Villa for 4 people at a cost of $100- per night. The location was great and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The villa was clean and tidy. Unfortunately, we found the villa quite small in some aspects. I am not sure how four people would use this space comfortably. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive criticism. The villa for 4 is small but competitive for $100 per night. I am so glad you found the villa clean, and the staff friendly. We are currently doing upgrades to the villas, closing in august for 4 weeks. And we hear what you are saying, and hope to address most of... More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. We were most impressed by the excellent customer service of the staff and the close proximity to restaurants, shops and the beach. The rooms are comfortable, warm and inviting. There is free wifi and cooking facilities. Everything was perfect. We will definitely be back! Thanks for an awesome stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colac, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

very peaceful & quite park. Everyones so lovely & friendly. We used a power site which was perfect, weather stayed beautiful for us too. So close to shop, so just a short walk to dine out. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. We are so glad you had a nice time, and appreciate your comments very much. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards Lisa More

Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hosts are extremely nice and the place has great hospitality. Traveling all day and visiting the island this was a very convenient location and they were very accommodating. Over the Easter weekend they had nice events to keep the people staying very comfortable. The price is not bad for what you get either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

my wife and I have been travelling around Australia for many years now, this is the best park we have ever stayed in in terms of service, locality, price and amenities. The management (Rob & Carol) made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us, a real home away from home. We were so impressed with the Park,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Carol and Rob do make people feel happy, comfortable and welcome. That is why we chose them to manage Amaroo Park. Our little park does have great location, with affordable accommodation. We are very glad that you chose a part time "home Away From Home" with us. We are proud of our... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here with husband, our two kids, my sister and nephew. The cabin accommodation was a little squashed with so many, but it was clean and reasonably priced and really, the kids were outside riding their bikes around the quiet park the whole time (we could let even the 3-year-old roam as it is such a lovely little park) so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have traveled the world (see my other reviews) and found this 'park' to be THE WORST place I have ever stayed- due to their poor customer service and misleading advertising. Firstly- their website states they are Pet Friendly- this happens to be only if you own 1 dog- not 2. They state they have a pool- it is open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this review

I am very sad that you feel this way about Amaroo Park. But I will defend our Dog Friendly Park. I believe that you can only review a place on trip advisor if you have stayed at the place. And according to our records the only person booked in was your boyfriend. The booking was originally for 1 caravan, and... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our first trip to Phillip Island. We had 4 adults and 2 little ones and stayed in a family villa. The family villas were small and cosy, which was ok for 2 nights - but any longer and it would have been too small. The little ones liked the pool and the games room. A playground on site... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you had a good time. The island is a lovely place, and we have so much to offer in the way of tourism. Hope to see you again one day. More

Murwillumbah, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Recently stayed 4 nights in queen studio. Realize these are usually 1 night stay accommodation rooms. Better value for $'s at motel, at least motel will refresh coffee,milk daily.Bathroom long and very narrow with no hanging facility,no plug for vanity and unable to fit anything larger than a cup under tap so filling kettle had to be done under shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Good or bad we need to know so we can make it a better, more comfortable, enjoyable place to stay. Ceiling fans have been attended too. Since your stay we have upgraded the bedding, placed hair dryers in the bathrooms. These studio rooms are being closed in July 2014 for a full renovation. Including split... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Amaroo Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Amaroo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaroo Park

Address: 97 Church Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia (Formerly Amaroo Park YHA)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaroo Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Amaroo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaroo Park Phillip Island/Cowes

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amaroo Holiday Park at Cowes, Phillip Island, offers you the most central location. Just 50 meters from the Brand New Coles supermarket and five minutes to the beach, Amaroo Park is perfectly located for your holiday enjoyment, with the world-famous penguin parade and the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit just a few minutes drive away. With studios and villa accommodation to suit all budgets, plus the facilities available to the guests, including onsite Restaurant/bar and pool. All Villa accommodation now provides split system air cond/heating. Having just won the Certificate of Excellence 2014 we know it will be a very enjoyable stay. Amaroo has free wireless available and all linen is included in the price. We also sell the Phillip Island Experiences at reception. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer