We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose City Motor Inn

1 Faithfull Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose City Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rose City Motor Inn
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
10
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked one night here en route to Flinders. It was very central and the room was clean and quiet. We felt it was very good value for money. We took the option for the continental breakfast which was also good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. More

Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For $99, this was a great midweek stopover. The room decor was a lovely surprise for an older style motel - an attractive & well thought out refurb. Clean, spacious & reasonably quiet room considering proximity to main road. Friendly, considerate staff. I'd definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have renovated rooms from $79.00 and premium rooms from only $99.00. We strive to offer exceptional value for your stay in Benalla and always appreciate your feed back. More

Phnom penh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel is located in a central spot. We were given a good family unit, with 2 rooms. The facilities were excellent. I left behind a prescription medication, and the staff phoned me and mailed it to me without any additional charge, which showed their professionaliam and care. I very much appreciated it and will remember it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Rose City Motor Inn for your stay in Benalla and taking the time for submitting a review. Your Hosts Peter and Angela. More

Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The room was very shabby, the blanket was old and hard, the air conditioner, which was situated right next to one of the beds, was very noisy, the carpet was worn the clock didn't work, and at $115.00 it was poor value for what it was. The only good thing about it was that it appeared to be clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our twin rooms are now being renovated and will be of a similar standard to our premium rooms. Weekday rates are only $99. More

Tallangatta, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

this is a good place to stay. its a little out of town but a supermarket not far down the road.the outside and inside are going thru some renovations which is a good thing as looking a little worn.also i think we missed a microwave in the room.but over all i would stay here again with no hesitation;with the work... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We always strive to achieve a high standard of accommodation and service and are well on the way on our renovations. All premium rooms now have microwave ovens and other rooms have them on request (except our $79 economy rooms). Your Hosts Angela and Peter More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

For the price we were paying we were really only expecting somewhere to stop for the night while passing through. We looked like arriving half an hour or so after the office hours mentioned in the booking so called to let them know. The lady was lovely and said they'd still be up for a while so no problem. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our renovations are well on the way and we aim to provide quality accommodation with great service at a reasonable price. Your hosts Angela and Peter. More

Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were freshly updated. The bedding provided wasn't warm enough for being in middle of winter. Shower had various types of hairs stuck to the walls, left over after being cleaned. The price was very cheap and location was great it only took an hour to get to the base of Buller.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take our cleaning very seriously and will follow up on your comments. Our aim is always to have the highest standards in all aspects of our motel. We hope that your next stay with us will be a better experience. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The service was very good with a friendly receptionist. The room itself was okay until we used the bathroom. It was in poor condition and in need of a renovation. The bedroom was not very clean and dust was piled up behind the bed. If it had been clean, It would have been a good budget room for a budget... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have 4 star queen rooms from only $99. You must have stayed in one of our older cheaper rooms. We are in the process of renovating the other rooms and they should be ready by xmas. More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Clean, warm and comfortable. Well located on edge of town near major roads with plenty of loff street parking. However, not at all noisy. Room was spacious but decor was "interesting". Lots of different styles of tiles and incomplete and poor paint work. If that bothers you it could be a problem, but if it doesn't, it was very god... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Helen for your review. We are renovating all our rooms and the twin rooms are next on our list. More

Mansfield, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A very comfortable clean, fresh room, a pleasure to walk into. My only complaint was I couldn't find an extra blanket in the room, I like to snuggle in bed and the blanket on the bed wasn't warm enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Michelle. You stayed in one of our newly renovated rooms. The spare blanket was in the wardrobe. We would have supplied an extra one on request. The rooms also have brand new reverse cycle split system air conditioners and electric blankets. We are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rose City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose City Motor Inn

Address: 1 Faithfull Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

41 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay