We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose City Motor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
1 Faithfull Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose City Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rose City Motor Inn
Add Photo

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    14
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
18
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rose City Motel is the oldest of the motels in Benalla, and is located on the edge of town. The owners have attempted to keep the motel in as a good a condition as possible, but there are limits as to what can be achieved. The heating in our room was not very effective - a drawback on a cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

We offer a variety of rooms to suit your budget from $84. Please try one of our 4 star premium rooms (from $109) on your next visit and you will be very impressed. Our reverse cycle air conditioners are very effective and we can not understand why they did not work for you. We always encourage our guests to mention... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Stayed In room 14 it was very clean and refurbished. I think it is a great little place for a small town stop over/ on your way through. Would recommend for a business trip, only downside kinda out of the main part of town but it's so close in a small town doesn't matter. It has all the fixings like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Was phoned by owner prior to arrival, just to check how far away we were. Check in was smooth, on entering our room we found the owners had put the heater on for us. Room beautifully decorated and a very good size. Continental breakfast was great. Recommended this delightful motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your budget. Please try one of our 4 star premium rooms (from $109) on your next visit and you will enjoy your stay even more. More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We chose one of the refurbished rooms and were very satisfied. Breakfast great value at $5.00 per person - unbeatable for a continental breakfast complete with cappucino. Great stay in country Victoria.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Picked as a discount deal. Room was clean. bed very comfortable. Reception very helpful. Good value for money. Wish we had allowed more time for Benalla which looks more interesting than we first thought. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Our $79 renovated single economy rooms are very popular with the tradies. Please try our 4 Star $89 or $99 queen rooms which are almost double the size and have a much better fit out. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this motel. Rooms were as clean as clean can be. Breakfast $5 (yes you read that correctly) what was included you may ask? Toast, tea, coffee, orange juice, fruit salad, plus a variety of breakfast cereals. The one thing this motel had that I've never come across before was a security screen on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our 4 star premium rooms are very popular. More 

Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

What a great little secret, don't let the façade deceive you, perfect stopover from Canberra to Melbourne. Beautifully and tastefully redecorated room. Spacious and very neat and tidy - spotlessly clean!! a credit to the hosts! We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our 4 star premium rooms are very popular at an affordable price. We cater for all budgets and have a variety of rooms starting at $84. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I would give it less if I could. Rude staff from the minute I walked into reception and advised I had a booking. Do not stay. They are inconsiderate and have no people skills what so ever. Double room is ridiculously over charged for the small shoebox that it is. I reiterate, spend your money in a more respectable business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

We do not allow extra people to stay in the rooms or sleep in the car on the property. You paid $40 per person to stay in a 2 bedroom renovated unit. Best value in Benalla. Next time try the campsite it is only $20p.p. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights recently, during our holiday to visit our two sons in Melbourne. Owners Peter and Angela were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.. The rooms are immaculate, recently refurbished to the highest standard, reminded us of some of the 4 star hotel rooms we have stayed in the past. If you want luxury... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for the review. More 

London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night on our travels from Colac to Canberra. The room we were given was we think had just be refurbished, The room was immaculate excellent linen and towels large TV with excellent reception watched arsenal win a match very strange watching a match at 8am in the morning.Breakfast was average but for 5 dollars was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes most of our rooms have now been renovated and as owner operators we can give you great value. Thank you again for staying with us. Your Hosts Angela and Peter More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay