We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose City Motor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
1 Faithfull Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rose City Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rose City Motor Inn
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
18
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was phoned by owner prior to arrival, just to check how far away we were. Check in was smooth, on entering our room we found the owners had put the heater on for us. Room beautifully decorated and a very good size. Continental breakfast was great. Recommended this delightful motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose one of the refurbished rooms and were very satisfied. Breakfast great value at $5.00 per person - unbeatable for a continental breakfast complete with cappucino. Great stay in country Victoria.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Picked as a discount deal. Room was clean. bed very comfortable. Reception very helpful. Good value for money. Wish we had allowed more time for Benalla which looks more interesting than we first thought. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Our $79 renovated single economy rooms are very popular with the tradies. Please try our 4 Star $89 or $99 queen rooms which are almost double the size and have a much better fit out. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this motel. Rooms were as clean as clean can be. Breakfast $5 (yes you read that correctly) what was included you may ask? Toast, tea, coffee, orange juice, fruit salad, plus a variety of breakfast cereals. The one thing this motel had that I've never come across before was a security screen on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

What a great little secret, don't let the façade deceive you, perfect stopover from Canberra to Melbourne. Beautifully and tastefully redecorated room. Spacious and very neat and tidy - spotlessly clean!! a credit to the hosts! We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I would give it less if I could. Rude staff from the minute I walked into reception and advised I had a booking. Do not stay. They are inconsiderate and have no people skills what so ever. Double room is ridiculously over charged for the small shoebox that it is. I reiterate, spend your money in a more respectable business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

We do not allow extra people to stay in the rooms or sleep in the car on the property. You paid $40 per person to stay in a 2 bedroom renovated unit. Best value in Benalla. Next time try the campsite it is only $20p.p. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights recently, during our holiday to visit our two sons in Melbourne. Owners Peter and Angela were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.. The rooms are immaculate, recently refurbished to the highest standard, reminded us of some of the 4 star hotel rooms we have stayed in the past. If you want luxury... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for the review. More 

London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night on our travels from Colac to Canberra. The room we were given was we think had just be refurbished, The room was immaculate excellent linen and towels large TV with excellent reception watched arsenal win a match very strange watching a match at 8am in the morning.Breakfast was average but for 5 dollars was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes most of our rooms have now been renovated and as owner operators we can give you great value. Thank you again for staying with us. Your Hosts Angela and Peter More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Had a look online for the motels in the area and happened to pick this one and we were very fortunate doing so! It was a lovely clean room, lots of space, great TV, large shower and a yummycontinental breakfast! £89 for a double with 2 people and $5 each for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have owned this motel for just over a year now and our renovations are well advanced. As owner operators and members of the 'Budget' Group we aim to offer great value and that extra service. Your Hosts Angela and Peter. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Don't let the outside appearance of this motel deceive you! All the rooms have been updated to a very contemporary decor. There's a carport in front of the rooms which protected the load on our roof racks. For $5.00 per person you can get a basic but satisfying breakfast. We were situated in a room at the front of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review.0 More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities