We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose City Motor Inn

1 Faithfull Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose City Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rose City Motor Inn
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would give it less if I could. Rude staff from the minute I walked into reception and advised I had a booking. Do not stay. They are inconsiderate and have no people skills what so ever. Double room is ridiculously over charged for the small shoebox that it is. I reiterate, spend your money in a more respectable business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

We do not allow extra people to stay in the rooms or sleep in the car on the property. You paid $40 per person to stay in a 2 bedroom renovated unit. Best value in Benalla. Next time try the campsite it is only $20p.p. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights recently, during our holiday to visit our two sons in Melbourne. Owners Peter and Angela were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.. The rooms are immaculate, recently refurbished to the highest standard, reminded us of some of the 4 star hotel rooms we have stayed in the past. If you want luxury... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for the review. More 

London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night on our travels from Colac to Canberra. The room we were given was we think had just be refurbished, The room was immaculate excellent linen and towels large TV with excellent reception watched arsenal win a match very strange watching a match at 8am in the morning.Breakfast was average but for 5 dollars was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes most of our rooms have now been renovated and as owner operators we can give you great value. Thank you again for staying with us. Your Hosts Angela and Peter More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Had a look online for the motels in the area and happened to pick this one and we were very fortunate doing so! It was a lovely clean room, lots of space, great TV, large shower and a yummycontinental breakfast! £89 for a double with 2 people and $5 each for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have owned this motel for just over a year now and our renovations are well advanced. As owner operators and members of the 'Budget' Group we aim to offer great value and that extra service. Your Hosts Angela and Peter. More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Don't let the outside appearance of this motel deceive you! All the rooms have been updated to a very contemporary decor. There's a carport in front of the rooms which protected the load on our roof racks. For $5.00 per person you can get a basic but satisfying breakfast. We were situated in a room at the front of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review.0 More 

Waterford West
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This motor inn is just so gorgeous! The rooms have had a refurb and are brilliant and spacious. We heard no road noise at all and the hosts were very accommodating. If you are thinking about staying during the week then book quick as this motor inn fills up very very quickly! There's a bbq that you can use which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

This motel is getting a major overhaul and our renovations are well advanced. Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your hosts Angela and Peter. More 

Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We booked one night here en route to Flinders. It was very central and the room was clean and quiet. We felt it was very good value for money. We took the option for the continental breakfast which was also good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

For $99, this was a great midweek stopover. The room decor was a lovely surprise for an older style motel - an attractive & well thought out refurb. Clean, spacious & reasonably quiet room considering proximity to main road. Friendly, considerate staff. I'd definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have renovated rooms from $79.00 and premium rooms from only $99.00. We strive to offer exceptional value for your stay in Benalla and always appreciate your feed back. More 

Phnom penh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This motel is located in a central spot. We were given a good family unit, with 2 rooms. The facilities were excellent. I left behind a prescription medication, and the staff phoned me and mailed it to me without any additional charge, which showed their professionaliam and care. I very much appreciated it and will remember it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Rose City Motor Inn for your stay in Benalla and taking the time for submitting a review. Your Hosts Peter and Angela. More 

Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The room was very shabby, the blanket was old and hard, the air conditioner, which was situated right next to one of the beds, was very noisy, the carpet was worn the clock didn't work, and at $115.00 it was poor value for what it was. The only good thing about it was that it appeared to be clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela Z, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our twin rooms are now being renovated and will be of a similar standard to our premium rooms. Weekday rates are only $99. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rose City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose City Motor Inn

Address: 1 Faithfull Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rose City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

42 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay