We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Apollo Bay hotels

Beachcomber Motel and Apartments

15 Diana Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Judy T
  • Overview
  • Reviews (134)
  • Photos (9)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
69
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Turned up for our 2 night stay at around 5.30 (with our grumpy and hungry 2 yo) only to find out that our booking was incorrect! When I ask what happened the lady placed blame on booking.com and said that they had booked the wrong room and the porta cot wouldn't fit (eventhough I have emails confirming it would) she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Kristen, I don't believe booking.com got your booking incorrect as you booked it online yourself booking a budget twin room with two single beds. These rooms are clearly marked as being suitable for two people only so if you had advised us (at your time of booking & not later) that you also had your son we would have... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We only wanted a bed for the night and were very happy with a rate of $84 for the night. The room was tiny with a double bed but it had everything you needed for just one night. We found the bed very soft so didn't sleep well but beds are personal preferences so may suit others. Tea and coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks Judy T for your review and pointing out the tariff was a good price for the budget room with it having everything you needed. Hopefully we will see you next time your travelling through from Gippsland. Regards, Chris. More

Sabadell, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sadly not a great experience. We had been out at the beach so came back to the room to find no hot water. Unfortunatly nobody could rectify the situation as the manager was out. The least he/she could of done was supply a contact number as an emergency contact. I thought this was very unprofessional. We also felt the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Jo m, thanks for your feedback and sorry you did not enjoy your stay, yes the hot water service was playing up around your stay but we have since had it serviced and now is all fine. We do live here on site so normally we are here 24/7 but as Murphy's law goes as soon as we step... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Beachcomber Motel is definitely value for money. We stayed in Budget Motel Room Twin room for a night. Service at the hotel was really good! Alison checked us in and she showed us to the room and showed us how to use the heater for the room. The room is small but super cosy! It's a comfortable place to rest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Rebekahong83, thank you for your review and kind words, we are very happy you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you also for noting that even though you stayed in a budget room you realise that it is value for money. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hopefully we will see you again one... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Budget Double Room. It was clean, tidy, enough space for a couple staying overnight. Bathroom really small but good shower. Good kitchen facilities to save money and have your own breakfast at your room. I would definately booked again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi mkm87, thank you for your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Water pressure is great here so yes the showers are good, hopefully we will see you again someday. Cheers, Chris. More

Kyabram, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Beachcomber for 1 night. We were warmly greeted by Alison upon our arrival and directed to our room (1). We thought the room was extremely clean and tidy and very spacious for our family of 4. We had a queen bed, a single bed as well as a porta cot all set up for us and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Ray & Michelle, thanks for your fantastic & detailed review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and your kind words are very much appreciated. We too like the soothing sound of the waves at night time, it's nice to fall asleep to. Hopefully we will see you again soon, thanks again. Regards, Chris & Alison. More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in beachcombers budget motel. What a mistake. Very very very small. Could hardley find anywhere to place our suitcases. You could hear what the person in the bathroom was doing. The walls were paperthin. The good points were the freidnly staff, decent location (if you want to walk to places) and we lucked out on the weather. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Alan, thanks for your feedback, as you say the rooms are titled budget so I am not sure what you were expecting for your $80 or so tariff. (The Hilton perhaps) As advertised on our website they are a smaller room designed for the budget conscious traveller. As you say we do have bigger rooms but you would have... More

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in a twin room and loved it. Very clean and big enough. Comfortable beds and very nice bedding with a table and chairs and nice bed side lamps. The bathroom is small but we found it no problem because the shower was big enough and the toilet area is roomy enough as well. Very lovely and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah M for your fantastic review and perfect score. It's great you point the things out in the room that were important to you. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, thanks again for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheers, Chris & Alison. More

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at Beachcomber Motel for 2 nights. We were warmly greeted by Chris (host) upon arrival, checking in was easy and fuss free. Chris even provided us with a map and advised on the places of interest we can visit at Great Ocean Rd. The location of the motel was centralised and convenient, just 5 mins walk to shops... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

WOW!! Thank you for your fantastic review and kind words, it certainly makes our day to receive such positive feedback. We are a small husband & wife team so service & cleanliness are certainly a priority. Thank you also for pointing out the location, surrounds, free WIFI etc. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and also... More

Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

warm welcome, quiet room, secure, one street back from beach and main street. room was very clean, good heater, beautiful bathroom, only stayed one night but would happily return especially to stay longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks r b for your kind words, it is very pleasing to read you were happy. We too hope to see you again and for longer would be great. Cheers Chris & Alison. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Beachcomber Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel and Apartments

Address: 15 Diana Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beachcomber Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Motel And Apartments Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Apollo Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Room Service
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beachcomber Motel and Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer