We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View Country Inn

144 Emu Bay Rd, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountain View Country Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed two nights here and found the room, although dated, was very comfortable with everything we needed. The motel is just a little way from town and a short drive to cages and restaurants. We would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Penny G
Geraldton, Western Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

We found the manager to be incredibly arrogant and the room to be so disappointing that we decided to stay somewhere else even though our payment could not be refunded. We chose to stay elsewhere even though it was more expensive. There are plenty of other options in town.

Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldtonians
Peterknies, Manager at Mountain View Country Inn, responded to this review

We were disappointed to see you go. We were not arrogant, but surprised when you came in. We had no booking for you and only when you told us that you just made the booking was I able to get to the Expedia website to recover your booking. Then when I asked you for payment you got even more upset... More 

Travelers are raving about these Deloraine hotels

Barossa Valley, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

Owner is nasty and arrogant. Paid over $110 a night for small outdated room with NO MOUNTAIN VIEW despite the name, that is badly lit, tiny damp bathroom with no light in the seperate toilet. Room service took over an hour and forty five minutes for two schnitzels. Never mentioned it would be an incredibly long wait on a Monday... More 

Helpful?
Thank cleematt
Peterknies, Owner at Mountain View Country Inn, responded to this review

Wow. We will have to set a few points straight here. You did not pay $110 but $90 for a "standard" room. You stayed here for 5 nights. The 1st night you ate in the restaurant and your meal was beautiful (your saying) and for 4 1/2 days you had no complaints, partner was even going to give some fish... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Used as a base for exploring the area. Rooms clean but simple, value for money. Ate at the onsite restaurant, good selection of food in a recreated historical setting, mine host made sure all was under control

Helpful?
Thank TPF1948
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Very very out dated rooms with 1970 worn and old decor. Need to update bathroom urgently, no heating. Too much light streaming through bathroom windows. Needs sue sort of block out curtains. Food in restaurant was over cooked. Lamb was tough and fish batter hard and burnt. Not nice at all. Breakfast eggs were cold.

Helpful?
Thank annwf2014
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

Very nice accommodation with great views. Excellent value for a relatively inexpensive room at $120. We weren't actually sure what to expect coming here as we hadn't read any reviews or anything like that, but were definitely pleasantly surprised. Staff were nice enough, albeit and everything looked clean and decent, albeit quite simple.

Helpful?
Thank Caedence K
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We arrived late after travelling all day. Our room was simple but clean. The views of The Great Western Tiers were wonderful. Room was quite cold. We thought the room was overpriced in comparison with other accommodation we have stayed at in Tasmania. The place seems to be a bit dated. A bit of a spruce up and either cheaper... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank waymez
Beaudesert, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

We arrived quite late at night after driving from Hobart. Staff had kindly heated our room before closing up for the night, so after driving from Hobart we were greeted by a warm, cosy room and a very comfortable bed. We had booked a renovated room for $120, and were happy to find that there was a small table and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fentastic
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
462 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Sadly I had been looking forward to staying here, as I had great memories of staying with my family years ago. But all has changed. The room had a dank smell with no view and unfortunately the only way to keep it warm was to have a super loud heater on which precluded sleep. For some reason the manager was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night as a last minute booking and it was clean and comfortable. The views were very nice from our room and it was not far from town. Once we got the heater cranking it was very pleasant in our room. Comfortable nights stay

Helpful?
Thank Cassie R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deloraine
11.1 mi away
Forest Walks Lodge
Forest Walks Lodge
#1 of 1 in Jackeys Marsh
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#2 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quamby Pines
Quamby Pines
#6 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bowerbank Mill B&B
Bowerbank Mill B&B
#3 of 8 in Deloraine
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blakes Manor Deloraine
Blakes Manor Deloraine
#3 of 11 in Deloraine
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay