We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Kingscote B&Bs / inns

Aurora Ozone Hotel

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 171, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aurora Ozone Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
61%
Ranked #4 of 4 Kingscote B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Anon0m Kingscote, Australia
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    110
    74
    25
    13
See reviews for
31
164
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The accommodations on KI are limited to be sure but this hotel can safely be passed over. You're not missing anything. The room we had was last renovated at least twenty years ago, the bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom tiny. The free wifi was a joke. Minimally able to connect and when you did the speed was less than old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BKBeachers Thank you for your comments I am disappointed that you did not experience the true Aurora Ozone Hotel. As we have various room categories from Standard original Hotel Room to Executive Seaview room and individual pricing which does determine what room you booked and were allocated. The FREE WIFI is offered to all guests but sometimes due to... More

Kingscote, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked online. Thought I was getting a nice room facing the water. I ended up with a very old and small room facing rooftops. I took my issue to the front desk, the receptionist was rude. She was obviously annoyed and made me feel unwelcome.After a while the manager come over. He and the other staff were extremely accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anon0m As we have varied room types from Standard rooms to Executive Seaview rooms at the Ozone Hotel the room type booked is normally the room allocated to your booking. These room types are priced accordingly. We were happy to provide an alternative room type being a Standard pool side room. We are happy that we could resolve this... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the ocean and it was just wonderful. The staff were so accommodating and we really felt that island hospitality during our stay. I would recommend the apartments here to families travelling together.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mogster82 Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your 2 bedroom Apartment overlooking the ocean and you are correct the view is magnificent. We are also very proud of our staff and their commitment to customer service. Regards, GM More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the newer section across the street from the original hotel. My wife uses a wheelchair and found the accessible room very well designed and convenient. Free WiFi was a big plus for us as well. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant both days. No complaints about the food or the service. We can't comment on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave in Philly Thank you for your feedback. Yes Our disabled rooms are designed and set up very well. With our Modern section the wheelchair friendly ramp access and the elevator certainly make access easy. We are also pleased you enjoyed your Experience in the Bistro and that the service met your expectations. Hopefully when you next travel to... More

orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel with nice views. Free wifi in the bedroom which is a bonus. Comfy beds and good breakfast. We were only on the island one night but this was a perfect place to stay. Friendly staff and speedy check in

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Orlando Sunseekers Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us on KI. We appreciate your comments and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Ozone Hotel. Regards, GM More

adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just stopped in for dinner at the pub for a counter meal. Shared a chicken snitzel and calamari. Was delicious apart from the watery mushroom sauce. The restaurant on the other side of pub was more expensive and had kangaroo on the menu so its for more adventurous people. I was happy just to have simple and tasty food that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lisa P We are pleased you stop in for a counter meal at our Pub. Those dishes are from our new Sports bar Menu and Bistro Lunch menu and are great value. We do have a larger menu in the Bistro which is more for Evening meals and does have some dishes catering for the more adventurous diner. Thank... More

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times over the years and there is one point that stays true - be clear about where you book . There seem to be three sections to the hotel - the new section across the road, the original section by the pub and a newly renovated section of two stories along side the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen C Yes you are correct with three sections although we at the Hotel only class two sections House 1 original Hotel Section and House 2 apartments across the road. As you state you prefer the Apartments (House 2) across the road and other guests prefer the Original section (house 2 ). so each person has a different assessment... More

Goolwa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

When we were booking online it wasn't very clear which section we were going to get, we ended up in the original pub side section, which was nice enough a clean small room facing the water. The info provided in room could be more helpful, ie hotel menu, room service, local take away and restaurant menus would be good. Overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandyMac78. We are please you enjoyed you stay with us. Unfortunately when booking rooms they are in room types for example Seaview Executive room are in both sections so when you book you can be allocated to either Original Hotel section ( heritage refurbished) or House two section the building across the street. We are currently updating our in... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Aurora Ozone for 3 nights in December, from the 24th to the 27th. We were a family group of five – two couples and a 5-year-old. We stayed in a 2-bedroom/2-bathroom penthouse apartment. One thing that should be understood is that the apartments are in a more modern building across the street from the hotel itself.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frangipani7 Thank you for your comments. We are sorry we did not met all your expectations whilst staying at the Aurora Ozone Hotel over the Xmas period. The Hotel had researched prior what amenities and food services were open on Xmas Day on the Island, so I am a little disappointed that you overheard our reception advising guests incorrect... More

sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booked a few nights accomodation here as part of our honeymoon. We booked an "executive spa room" thinking we could enjoy some time relaxing in our room and on our "private balcony" with "magnificant beach front view" - just like images we saw online when we booked. Instead we were given a smal, dark, outdated room on the ground floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JCull, We are very sorry that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations especially on your honeymoon. At the Ozone we have two sections. The original Hotel and the apartment Hotel. We have Seaview executive rooms in both sections and on the web sites they are classed as one room type Executive Seaview room. Some Seaview... More

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote
Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 171, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Ozone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.