We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Kingscote hotels

Aurora Ozone Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 171, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aurora Ozone Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
63%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kingscote
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
CaraRuth Stockport, United Kingdom
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    132
    82
    26
    14
See reviews for
38
189
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely location and walk along the seafron. Would recommend seaview rooms. Great rooms with bath, shower and lovely toiletries. Comfortable bed and interesting little village/town. Friendly helpful staff and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel on such a beautiful island. Ruth

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingscote, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had heard bad things but was very impressed when I visited recently. Steak was the best I have had on the island and so was the service. Waitpersons always asked how everything was and didn't have to wave them down for drinks, they asked regularly. Was very impressed all over!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kyliee Thank you for your comments. We have just launched our new Bistro Menu and have been receiving some very positive comments. We are please you enjoyed your steak. We have been working very hard to ensure that we provide a good Dining experience and efficient service. Our Food & Beverage team are committed to providing quality service at... More

paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here 10 years ago , no pager on the table to notify you you when your meal is ready or salad bar anymore, which is a good thing. Full table service now. Staff and service has improved ( Canadian barman was very good). New menu with lots of selections, very tasty. Didn't try the Pond & Paddock(marron and steak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Hi We are pleased you had a great experience in our Bistro. Our staff personnel are multi national and are always trying to provide the very best service to our guests. Yes this Menu has only been operating for two weeks and does provide a great selection including some produce from Kangaroo Island. Regards, GM More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed with staff, they treated us like an "inconvenience" when we booked in. They did not have a record of our booking which was booked through Sealink, we had no issues with the ferry booking . So after some time (luckily we had a copy of our booking) we were given a room in the new section, looked ok. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LuLu 324, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry and disappointed that on your arrival you felt like you were an inconvenience to our front desk team, which was definitely not the case. Our team were concerned that we did not have your reservation. Sealink who is one of our largest partners provides the Ozone Hotel with hundreds... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has received a lot of bad reviews, but we ate here multiple times during our Kingscote stay and really enjoyed it. The food was delicious! I had the best Sri Lankan seafood curry i have ever eaten here one night. Other travellers did tell us the seafood platter was disappointing, so maybe avoid that. This hotel also caters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NicoleRee, We are pleased your dining experiences' at our Bistro were above your expectations and in particular the Sri Lankan Seafood Curry was a stand out dish. We have just introduced a new Dinner Menu and have retained the Seafood Curry due to its popularity. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our service when dinning. We hope to... More

Menai, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Hotel nice. Great view. Room not serviced each day so keep your towels hung up. Carpet needed a good clean. Looked like bleach had been dropped!! Restaurant round the corner. Queensville hotel. Great food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

BeckyA210 Thank you for your feedback. As Trip Advisor protects identity I am assuming you stayed in one of our Self Contained Apartments of which are not serviced on a daily basis which would clarify why your room was not service. Fresh towels can be requested through Reception. We are sorry and disappointed that you did not experience good service... More

Milan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

we stayed only one night at this hotel while visiting the island, but had a great exerience there - our room was in the new area of the hotel, and was huge, with 2 large and super comfortable beds and a big bathroom - very silent place to have a rest. We also experienced dining at the ozone restaurant and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elisewin, We are glad you enjoyed your room and our facilities during your stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. With the Breakfast Buffet there is a selection of juices available located on the Bistro Bar servery and it appears you may have missed this location when having your breakfast. So we apologise you did not see those items on... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A good bar to have a drink with a great view, however the restaurant menu is over priced for the quality of the meals. We paid well over $100 for a main meal each and shared dessert (with one drink each). This would be reasonable if the meals matched the prices, however unfortunately the steaks we had were fatty, inconsistently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lisa D Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed our Bar and Ocean views during your visit to the Ozone Hotel. We are concerned that you feel you paid $100,00 for each main course. The average price is around $32.00 - $35.00 per person for a main course. We are sorry that some of your meals... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in an executive sea view room at the Aurora Ozone Hotel at the beginning of our July holiday for one evening. It was fine as an introduction to the Kingscote area however we probably wouldn't stay around Kingscote again and instead opt for self contained properties around Parndana. The hotel itself had basic amenities but we were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Swap suits for swimmers, Thank you for your comments. Kingscote is the largest town on the Island, but there are many other excellent places to stay right across KI. We have two buildings at the Ozone and they each have Executive Seaview rooms. The décor is different in each building and in the Apartment building some rooms do have... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked months in advance we were unable to travel on the ferry to the island, it having been cancelled on the day of the night we were due to stay here owing to bad weather. Hotel wouldn't even consider a refund or an alternative arrangement and we were out of pocket 2 rooms for the night as they claimed on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Buccaneer001 Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately we are on an Island and transport options are via Ferry or Air. Weather conditions on occasions can disrupt Ferry schedules operated by another vendor. This is outside the Hotels jurisdiction. Passenger safety is always paramount when travelling. If you have travel insurance this disruption may be covered under those terms. Yes... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Aurora Ozone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 171, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kingscote with
any amenities