We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Kingscote B&Bs / inns

Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   7 Cygnet Road, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Wisteria Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Kingscote B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jingo M Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
69
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at many motels across Australia and the Seaside Inn is one of our favourites. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the staff are friendly and helpful and the menu is top class. Would recommend this motel for comfort, service and value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Seaside Inn. As well as the spacious rooms we are very lucky that all of our rooms have magnificent views. The staff pride themselves on the good service they provide and our restaurant offers as much local and home grown produce as possible. We are very... More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic Island, fantastic accommodation. We would recommend a stay at the Seaside for every visit to the Island. Clean spacious rooms (Family Executive), we had a King Size Bed with two Singles. Ideal affordable accommodation for a young family. There was just two of us so we had even more room. Nice Bathroom with good sized Spa Bath and separate... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your great comments and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Kangaroo Island. As you say all of our rooms are quire large with the Executive rooms being the largest and of course they all have a magnificent ocean view. We look forward to looking after you again next... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel and found the location was great. Quiet and very close to main part of Kingscote. We were not expecting too much and if you are looking for a nice hotel with wifi and good television for a reasonable price I think you would be happy. Sure kangaroo Island has better hotels for a lot more... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Dominic Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We pride our selves on providing friendly helpful service with that little bit extra. The location opposite the beach does provide opportunity for pleasant walks as well as great views. Thanks once again for staying with us and giving your feedback. We look forward to seeing you sometime... More

Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Asst. Mgr. showed me to my 2nd floor room and failed to tell me where the light switch for the overhead reading-lamp was! (read with a head lamp)and later found that the switch was UNDER the pillows. The shower, when turned in, wet my nightgown as well as the toilet paper and required repairs. Large noisy groups arrived at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Dale W I can remember your stay with us and before you arrived at our Inn we were made aware that you'd had some mix-up with your touring company regarding the dates booked and you did not receive any refund for the mix-up. This incident had nothing to do with us, however, when you arrived and we were checking... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed in the Executive Suite for 2 nights and in a normal standard room for the 3rd night (coz we extended our stay from 2 to 3 days). Staffs were very friendly and services were good. The Executive Suite was very good - everything's bigger, has a dinner table, a bigger fridge, a bigger shower room with a spa.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am happy to hear you extended your stay and enjoyed your time at our establishment. All of our rooms have an ocean view and we are lucky to have magnificent views of the ocean. The walk into town is not far and enjoyed by many... More

canberra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Although the exterior looked a little run down, the rooms, view and location were excellent. Plenty of space in our room. We didn't try the restaurant as it is closed on a few nights. However, there are a few places to eat in the centre of town which is about 700 metres away

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us on your trip to Kangaroo Island. We are very lucky to have such wonderful sea views from all of our rooms which are all quite large. We open our restaurant for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday though we serve continental breakfast daily which offers local and home grown products. Hope you have the opportunity... More

Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

although a little dated, the room was clean and roomy with a great view of the bay. we were a little hesitant in trying the restaurant as hotel restaurants can be ordinary, but once we tried we ate there on the three nights we stayed. the breakfasts were also very good value and very good. staff were very helpful, friendly... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I am very happy to hear that your mother was impressed with the views and I have to agree with her they are magnificent. Our house staff maintain a high standard and do an excellent job and I will pass on the feedback to the staff. We look forward to seeing you when you next visit Kangaroo Island. Kind... More

Taree, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

All my 85 year old mother wanted was a view of the ocean and boy did she get that. The rooms were lovely and clean and staff very helpful with her needs. It was right across the road from the beach. Unfortunately it was in the off season and windy so there was no swimming. Would definitely stay there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I am very happy to hear that your mother was impressed with the views and I have to agree with her they are magnificent. Our house staff maintain a high standard and do an excellent job and I will pass on the feedback to the staff. We look forward to seeing you when you next visit Kangaroo Island. Kind... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed with my family in seaside inn for 4 days in December 2013, the breakfast was yummy, the staff were friendly, and the room was spacious than I thought, I will stay again if I revisit Kingscote in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your kind comments on your stay with us in December. Four days is good length of time to relax and enjoy the peace and quite and enjoy the views. Our continental breakfast offers a little more than average and we try to use as much homegrown and local produce as possible so very happy to hear you... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on the old side, but the rooms have been renovated, are clean and the view is awesome. Its close to everything. We would have loved to eat here too, but it was very busy in the restaurant, even off peak! Seems the food reviews must be right!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexander S, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. Have to agree we are lucky to have views from all of our rooms and receive many comments on both the views and the cleanliness, so thank you again. I am sorry to hear you did not get to experience the food in the restaurant and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Address: 7 Cygnet Road, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Wisteria Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingscote
Kingscote Comfort Inn
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn Kingscote

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay