We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Helens Country Cottages

Hotel website
72 Warenda Road | P O Box 1505, Clare, South Australia, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
St Helens Country Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Norfolk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

I can't understand why many kitchen and bathroom floors in Australia are built about 5cms higher than the general floor level of the rest of the house. When we arrived at Fettlers Cottage we noticed in the folder of details about the house a warning that there was a small step into the bathroom. Unfortunately when my wife went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin2512
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

The Fettlers cottage was extremely beautiful with a lovely outlook towards the Riesling trail. The setting was pretty, quiet and full of bird life getting on with it. The cottage is well appointed with the little things taken care of - coasters, spirit measure, extra bits incase you ran out. A wonderful place to stay with wonderful hosts - Carol... More 

Helpful?
Thank ann-mariesupermum
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

Thank You! We really love to see people enjoy their stay at St Helen's. We are really glad that you did. More 

Cockatoo Valley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Stop. Yes stop searching TripAdvisor for accommodation in Clare. You have found the best place to stay. We stayed in the Fettlers Cottage for 2 nights. Very clean. Excellent provisions. Great views. The hosts are wonderful and friendly. This is a great place from which to explore Clare and surrounds. Then again, it is so good, you may just want... More 

Helpful?
Thank APP007
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you. We know it is a great place, we love it too. We hope everybody who comes here does. We really appreciate that the little touches make the difference and staying at the cottage is a good option when it provides all you need. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

After a cheery welcome I wasn't surprised to find that The Coach House felt just like home. There is a lot of attention to detail and it's very generously provisioned with everything you would need. It was lovely to relax on the terrace overlooking the extensive garden. I'm sorry we're not staying longer. I would happily recommend this place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Stayed at The Pavilion, cosy, quaint one bedroom cottage with a wood burning fire. Very peaceful and close to Riesling Trail, could just leave the bikes on the verandah. The owners were very friendly and informative about the area. Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank cfadeliade
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Cottage had everything we needed and located in relaxing quiet surroundings near the Reisling Trail which is easy to walk. The owners were friendly and close by if we needed to contact them - without being intrusive Lots of great walking tracks in surrounding area for all levels of fitness in pretty countryside - stunning in autumn- plenty of wineries... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helenbetb
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed 3 nights in the guest suite - fabulous! Beautifully fitted with everything we could possibly have needed and more. We had access to a large sitting room as well as our large bedroom with ensuite. Everything was luxurious! Carol and Russell were extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds have beautiful old eucalypts and well-tended gardens, attracting native birds.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mary_molan
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

A group of us (ten people) stayed at St Helens when we went to the Clare Valley to celebrate a friend's 30th Birthday. From the moment we arrived the accommodation, grounds and hospitality far exceeded our expectations. All of the group agreed that the beds were very comfortable, the facilities excellent and the rooms very well looked after. Both Carol... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia G
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Just returned from a couple of nights in the gorgeous Clare Valley an hour and a half north of Adelaide. Used the tripadvisor reviews to discover Russell and Carol's Bed and Breakfast. Lovely people, beautiful setting, generous breakfast and lived up to every expectation from the Friday night happy hour to the breakfasts. Looking forward to returning in winter and... More 

Helpful?
Thank RogerAliSophia
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review! We always try to make our guests feel at home and welcome. We love it here and hope everyone else does too. Thanks again. Carol & Russell More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We had three nights in Fettlers Cottage. We wanted to book the other cottage but it was already taken when we made our booking. However, we were very glad to be in Fettlers, because it is perched on the edge of the little valley, and is surrounded by gum trees full of noisy colourful birds, so we actually preferred it.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JanetWalf0rdOBE
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Clare Central
1.4 mi away
Thorn Park by the Vines
0.7 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#1 of 3 in Clare
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riesling Trail and Clare Valley Cottages
2.6 mi away
Clare Country Club
Clare Country Club
#2 of 3 in Clare
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clare Valley Heritage Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay