We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caloundra Backpackers

84 Omrah Avenue | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Hotel amenities
Caloundra Backpackers
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015
Wusa2015 Auckland, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    14
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
1
14
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Great location - 5 min walk to Jetts, supermarkets, handy to beautiful beaches with nice walkways. Cleanliness - The place has clean rooms, sunny and nice kitchen, living room and tables on the sunny deck This place has a nice aura!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Friendly and very helpful service from James the manager. Clean room,comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, well appointed kitchen. Linen was aittle bit tired but it was clean and fresh. off street parking was handy as we left the car and walked a few minutes into town. This backpackers is not new and not in the middle of the action but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We booked this a couple of weeks before and even though I made a couple of changes it was no problem to the manager James who was friendly and professional. At my age I was a bit nervous about a backpackers having never stayed in one before but we only wanted one night which was pretty difficult over Easter. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Great location. Clean rooms. Wonderful Staff. MEt some firends for life at this little jewel located nera everything. I could have stayed longer as i was able to access The Australia Zoo and most great beaches. THe days were good. and the nights quiet and friendly. A great place to stay, Juanna was the manager. She was very helpful with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We didn't really know what to do when we arrived at the Sunshine Coast however the manager at the Backpackers was great and shared lots of great recommendations, printed maps and generally went above and beyond. Thanks James!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

The best place to stay in Caloundra. I will be telling people about it. The place was so clean and staff were just so happy to help you out, anyway possible. This made my time to leave hard, but i will be back one day. This place was EXCELLENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
81 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! foul smelling, rags as linen, dirty, noisy, customer service Ermmmm NONE AT ALL, room hot, humid and dingy... I wouldn't let a stray dog stay here. Beyond appauling. The whole establishment needs to be leveled and have someone with experience to run it professionally.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Would definitely recommend to anyone, great location, very friendly staff, quiet so you actually sleep at night and cleaning keeped up to a high standard and friendly people and love the free BBQ on Wednesdays great job guys big thumbs up :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stuffed up our room allocations, room had no linen when we arrived at 5pm, the only cooling device in the whole room was a wall mounted desk fan (that didn't work) and we were kept awake until after 2pm - despite the rules (and I use that term very loosely) stating no noise after 10pm. Management didn't care or even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Catherine I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and on behalf of Caloundra City Backpackers, I apologize. From looking at your account, I can see that you booked a Private Twin Room for 2 persons, and this is the room that we provided for you. All rooms are also provided with clean linen... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I simply can't understand some of the negative reviews below - we stayed 5 nights for the Caloundra Music Festival & found this place perfect for our needs. Our double room was exactly what you would expect backpacker accomodation, & was clean and well presented. What made our stay really enjoyable were the evenings spent with other guests sharing a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thankyou for your wonderful comments. I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully we can all catch up for next years Music Festival. O and we can't forget Lester. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay