We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Caloundra accommodations

Caloundra Backpackers

84 Omrah Avenue | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Hotel amenities
Caloundra Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caloundra Backpackers to your Saves list
A recent review
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
1
13
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
3 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! foul smelling, rags as linen, dirty, noisy, customer service Ermmmm NONE AT ALL, room hot, humid and dingy... I wouldn't let a stray dog stay here. Beyond appauling. The whole establishment needs to be leveled and have someone with experience to run it professionally.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would definitely recommend to anyone, great location, very friendly staff, quiet so you actually sleep at night and cleaning keeped up to a high standard and friendly people and love the free BBQ on Wednesdays great job guys big thumbs up :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stuffed up our room allocations, room had no linen when we arrived at 5pm, the only cooling device in the whole room was a wall mounted desk fan (that didn't work) and we were kept awake until after 2pm - despite the rules (and I use that term very loosely) stating no noise after 10pm. Management didn't care or even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Catherine I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and on behalf of Caloundra City Backpackers, I apologize. From looking at your account, I can see that you booked a Private Twin Room for 2 persons, and this is the room that we provided for you. All rooms are also provided with clean linen... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I simply can't understand some of the negative reviews below - we stayed 5 nights for the Caloundra Music Festival & found this place perfect for our needs. Our double room was exactly what you would expect backpacker accomodation, & was clean and well presented. What made our stay really enjoyable were the evenings spent with other guests sharing a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thankyou for your wonderful comments. I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully we can all catch up for next years Music Festival. O and we can't forget Lester. More 

perth
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
39 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I had such a great sleep here which was also helped by wearing earplugs like a seasoned traveller does. The beds were comfy but quite cramped. I kept hitting my head on the top bunk as they are far too low for adults. There are only 2 power points behind a bunk in the 4 bed dorm. Power board is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for the positive feedback. We will certainly look into easier ways to access power points in the future. Please come back anytime. Kylie More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed during the caloundra festival. The staff were friendly, the pets were cute and our twin room was clean. I read an earlier review saying the rooms don't lock from the inside, but discovered there was just a trick to it so all was well. We enjoyed a relaxing afternoon with cider out in the beer garden area. Nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and would love to have you back anytime. Kylie More 

Stavanger, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After traveling around in Australia I have stayed at different hostels and I must say Caloundra backpackers was one of the best! The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and it was so nice having a private room. We stayed for two days during easter and had a great time. The sunday market was really good-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hostel is by far the most chilled I've been in! There wasn't many people there... It's close to Australia zoo which is so worth seeing and the beach is lovely!! The hostel was clean but I thought it was quite expensive for what it was. You do get free wifi!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This place is not safe or clean. I have stayed in many hostel / backpackers, so I understand what comes with staying at one. However when you book a single room with a door that does not lock do not lock, it is frightening when in the early hours of the morning men from the street are knocking on doors.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night (meant to be 2 but couldn't bare it anymore) for Easter holidays as hotels were full.. The good: location. That's it. The bad: filthy showers covered with mould, soiled towels left on shower floor all day, broken shower heads, rotten curtains, the hostel in general is filthy and half-broken. Fridge out of order, a broken oven... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Caloundra Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Backpackers

Address: 84 Omrah Avenue | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Caloundra Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Backpackers Sunshine Coast, Australia

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay