We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caloundra Backpackers

84 Omrah Avenue | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Hotel amenities
Caloundra Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JillB114 Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
1
13
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly and very helpful service from James the manager. Clean room,comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, well appointed kitchen. Linen was aittle bit tired but it was clean and fresh. off street parking was handy as we left the car and walked a few minutes into town. This backpackers is not new and not in the middle of the action but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this a couple of weeks before and even though I made a couple of changes it was no problem to the manager James who was friendly and professional. At my age I was a bit nervous about a backpackers having never stayed in one before but we only wanted one night which was pretty difficult over Easter. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Clean rooms. Wonderful Staff. MEt some firends for life at this little jewel located nera everything. I could have stayed longer as i was able to access The Australia Zoo and most great beaches. THe days were good. and the nights quiet and friendly. A great place to stay, Juanna was the manager. She was very helpful with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't really know what to do when we arrived at the Sunshine Coast however the manager at the Backpackers was great and shared lots of great recommendations, printed maps and generally went above and beyond. Thanks James!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best place to stay in Caloundra. I will be telling people about it. The place was so clean and staff were just so happy to help you out, anyway possible. This made my time to leave hard, but i will be back one day. This place was EXCELLENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
3 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! foul smelling, rags as linen, dirty, noisy, customer service Ermmmm NONE AT ALL, room hot, humid and dingy... I wouldn't let a stray dog stay here. Beyond appauling. The whole establishment needs to be leveled and have someone with experience to run it professionally.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Would definitely recommend to anyone, great location, very friendly staff, quiet so you actually sleep at night and cleaning keeped up to a high standard and friendly people and love the free BBQ on Wednesdays great job guys big thumbs up :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stuffed up our room allocations, room had no linen when we arrived at 5pm, the only cooling device in the whole room was a wall mounted desk fan (that didn't work) and we were kept awake until after 2pm - despite the rules (and I use that term very loosely) stating no noise after 10pm. Management didn't care or even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Catherine I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and on behalf of Caloundra City Backpackers, I apologize. From looking at your account, I can see that you booked a Private Twin Room for 2 persons, and this is the room that we provided for you. All rooms are also provided with clean linen... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I simply can't understand some of the negative reviews below - we stayed 5 nights for the Caloundra Music Festival & found this place perfect for our needs. Our double room was exactly what you would expect backpacker accomodation, & was clean and well presented. What made our stay really enjoyable were the evenings spent with other guests sharing a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thankyou for your wonderful comments. I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully we can all catch up for next years Music Festival. O and we can't forget Lester. More 

perth
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
40 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I had such a great sleep here which was also helped by wearing earplugs like a seasoned traveller does. The beds were comfy but quite cramped. I kept hitting my head on the top bunk as they are far too low for adults. There are only 2 power points behind a bunk in the 4 bed dorm. Power board is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for the positive feedback. We will certainly look into easier ways to access power points in the future. Please come back anytime. Kylie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question