We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Cross Apartments

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
114 - 124 The Esplanade, Burleigh Heads, Queensland 4220, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Cross Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Cross Apartments
Southern Cross Apartments
Southern Cross Apartments
Review This Hotel

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    55
    9
    1
    7
See reviews for
94
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Kyogle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Terrific apartment and views are so relasting. The apartment are very roomy and amenities were excellence. The management are great help with anything you need and very welling people. Will be back as location is A1.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been many times before and always enjoy our time at SC. The location is the key with all apartments above Level 4 or so getting ocean views through the trees and units above Level 8 uninterrupted views. I find centre or southern end units get the best views though. Good layouts and easy to stay in. Great pool spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our third stay at Southern Cross and we will return. Each time we have had a refurbished unit and found them more than adequate. Very comfortable with all the necessary bits and pieces for a holiday. Close to shops, coffee shops,surf clubs and the beach is just across the road. Relaxing with spa, sauna and pool and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful holiday. We greatly appreciate all feedback whether it is good or bad as this is a great way to improve our customer service. You will be happy to know we are currently renovating two more apartments and they will... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Hi I don't normally write reviews however I have recently been so disappointed with the treatment I received at Southern Cross that I feel this is required. I booked three nights on Wot If in a superior ocean view room which describes superior ocean views and fully or partially renovated. My family and I arrived late and upon picking up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Chantel, I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay as Shane and I try so hard to ensure all our guests have a wonderful holiday weather it is only a short stay or a longer holiday. I do however really feel I need to clear the air on a few issues. You booked through wotif on the... More 

St George, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We live on a property out west and due to the on-going drought we could only getaway for four nights this year. Despite years of going to the one unit complex at Burleigh Heads our usual accommodation was not interested in four nights insisting we had to have at least five. That is when I rang Madonna at The Southern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Sally, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so please that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

What a great place to stay! From the time I made the reservation, to the time we checked in and then checked out,the customer service was professional and so helpful. I was very pleased when I arrived at the unit. It was perfect! The ocean views are AMAZING! The unit has everyting to make your stay comfortable. The beach is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thank you very much for writing a review on Southern Cross Apartments. We're so pleased that you were happy with both the room and the service provided to you. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We stayed at the Southern Cross for a two week period mid November 2014,,,, Shane and Madonna were great hosts and attentive to all our needs. Our apartment did require updating in both the bathrooms and laundry area but the living room and kitchen area had been renovated and was impeccably clean with magnificent views of the headland down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay with us. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please think of us again for your next vacation. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

My partner and I enjoyed a fantastic week at Southern Cross apartments over the Christmas / New Year period. The apartments are classic beachside accomodation - older style but this means much more spacious and in some way adds to the overall charm and the ability to relax. We stayed on level 3 and whilst initially concerned about proximity to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the noise was not an issue for you. Because of school holidays and the festive season, rates do tend to be higher however, please give us a call if you are looking for a holiday in the quieter periods and we... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Second time we have stayed here since 2000 . Has been updated . Very roomy and spacious for Christmas gathering with 10 people (12th floor 2bed and 2bath) . Views are South from G0odwin Tce Burleigh to Surfers Paradise (Fantastic at Night) Easy access to everything in Burleigh, Close enough to catch a bus to Robina, Wide Carparking compared to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Thank you for your review on Southern Cross Apartments. We are so pleased to hear that your latest stay was just as enjoyable as your first. You will also be pleased to know that our foyers are in the process of being renovated which will make them look and feel more modern. Looking forward to seeing you again... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The staff here were super friendly and allowed us to print out occasional documents at no charge. We stayed in an ocean view 2br/2ba apartment for a week. It was a bit pricey but the breeze and views were lovely. Street parking was easy except on the weekend plus the unit had one garaged spot. Some lights were burned out;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review, I am so sorry you had a few issues with your apartment and I am glad we jumped on them and solved them for you stright away. Unfortunately we have no control over when batteries will run out on the fire detectors and for some annoying reason they seem to sometimes get low at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question