We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Royal Motel

29 Burrill Street, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Harbour Royal Motel
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Edinburgh, UK
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked very last minute (one day ahead) for a weekend away for the Easter break. Although slightly wary after reading a couple of negative reviews amongst the positive we can say we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. This motel is absolutely fine. Its clean, comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were called the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camelford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife have stayed in this motel many times when we have visited Australia. We first stayed there in January 2003 and thought we were in heaven. It is a real treat. Magical, marvellous and wonderful. If you are lucky emough to get the chance, make sure you stay there for at least 1 magical evening. You will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I stayed last week just planning to stay for one night but as soon as I walked in my room decided to stay two nights. Lovely room, balcony, great ocean view, friendly staff, free WiFi! I've traveled all over the world and generally indulge but at $110 a night this beats some of the places that are more than twice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Other reviewers on this site must have very low standards or different rooms must have different levels of cleanliness. The whole building is very dated and in desperate need if an upgrade. There was mould in the shower and the plug hole in the basin. The tile grout throughout was very grotty looking. Needs a good soak in White king.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

This was a great place to stay, close to the main street and unbelievably close to the harbour. We were lucky to get the accomodation as it was a busy period (between Christmas and New years). They had a cancellation so it gave our family a chance to to stay for two nights. Thanks guys you saved our holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed in a spa suite. Very spacious bathroom and lounge/kitchen. Clean and a nice view of the harbour. A small lounge suite was a bit disappointing. Fridge needs sorting as instructions were not to touch the temperature adjustment however the freezer had melted and was full of water. Ladies, beware of significant extra charges if you leave make up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Look, if your staying for a short stay, it'll do. Was neat and tidy. But could do with some updating. I would have upgraded if the receptionist had asked if I wanted a balcony or apartment. It was a tiled floor, dislike for that. Bed was comfy. Shower fabulous. Small TV

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. Lovely room with a view of the water. Free WiFi, toaster, plates, glasses etc if you wanted to stay in. Walking distance to main Street and shops. Spoilt for choice with cafes and restaurants. Pleasant friendly town. Wish we had found it earlier. Would have happily stayed longer and totally by pasted Nowra.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed for one night and would all round rate the motel as good. Room was neat and clean, location was good, staff were pleasant. Overall there was nothing that stood out from the ordinary but also nothing wrong. A good option if you just want a good motel room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Rude staff. On asking for a receipt for my credit card payment for stay the man become very abusive & rude. He was also cranky because the request was made on a Sunday at 10am. My feeling is if you're in the hotel business operation on a Sunday at 10am is quite normal!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harbourroyal, Manager at Harbour Royal Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I feel this review has been made out of embarrassment on Pamela's behalf you see Pamela you did not make a booking with us, you did not stay with us & yes you did ring in a quiet aggressive manner on the Sunday morning demanding a receipt you were told that Wojtek the gentleman that made... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (10)
Room/suite (4)
Hotel & grounds (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay


Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question