We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amaroo Motel

Hotel website
55 Capper Street, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amaroo Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Amaroo Motel
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    35
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
45
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable. Booked a king size suite and found it roomy clean and well appointed. Loved the new bathroom. Great location easy walk to main street. Staff very helpful and added to an overall great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rates were excellent. The location is good, and would be an excellent place to explore the region from. The room was very clean, in excellent condition and was quite modern. There was a mix of firmer and softer pillows which enable both my wife and I to have our separate preferences catered to. The staff very friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Amaroo Motel in Tumut and we enjoyed it greatly. I particularly noted the recent renovations of the bathrooms which are well designed and highly effective. We appreciated having a room with a carport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night after booking via the motel website. Booking was extremely easy, and the check in was very welcoming. Our room had been recently tastefully renovated and was worthy of a five star hotel. The shower was hot, the water plentiful and the bed very comfortable. We would certainly stay here again if in Tumut.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a surprise and treat. From the standard iceberg roses lining the footpath to the immaculate room with every comfort provided each detail was presented professionally in a friendly manner. The furnishings, Fittings, room design and presentation was all that modern high standard hospitality should be. Congratulations to the on site owners. You are doing wonders!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I only stayed at Amaroo for one night for business. It is comfortable, very clean, enough tea and coffee - which is very rare for motels. It is relatively quiet, but close to all amenities and shops such as Coles, target, woollies and also pubs and restaurants. It was really good as I forgot my toothpaste and could walk straight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. We only stayed one night to try and find the brumbies on Mount Kosi (which we did!). Family run and from the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed. Only regret is that we wish we could have stayed longer to chat with Chris (and Dad?) -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarooMotel, Manager at Amaroo Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were able to see the Brumbies roaming in the park. The high country in the Kosciuszko National Park forms a special part of Australian History and since you were visiting from the UK I am glad that you got to experience a special part of our majestic wilderness. Regards,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Clean and tidy, was a very comfortable stay. The owners went over and beyond what they needed to accomadate our family of six. Bookings.com booked us in wrong but it was quickly fixed by the owners, very friendly and would highly recommend to anybody having a stay in Tumut. .......................................................................................................................................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarooMotel, Manager at Amaroo Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I remember the booking trouble and we were glad that we were able to adequately accommodate you. We hope you enjoyed your holiday on the coast. Regards, Chris More 

Bowral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Booked Friday afternoon for an overnight stop for 2 rooms. Reviewed Tripadvisor showing the Amaroo as No1. Did not disappoint. Very friendly hosts, rooms were surprisingly well fitted out, the bathrooms as good as anywhere I have stayed. Within walking distance to town and eateries. Looking forward to staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarooMotel, Manager at Amaroo Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We have worked hard to get to no. 1 on Trip Advisor and we are discovering that we have to have both good rooms and good customer service. Since half our staff are all family we all share the same values for our business. We hope to see you again when you are next... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The newly renovated room was fresh, clean and well lit. Great undercover parking for large vehicles available for some rooms. Good nights sleep, ample hanging space and working split system. Helpful down to earth staff. Close to Main Street but far enough not to get noise. Check out time generous by negotiation. Competitive price. Would recommend to families, couples or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarooMotel, Manager at Amaroo Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind review. We work hard to achieve all that you have mentioned in your review and will continue to do so. Regards, Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question