We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Cross Park Lodge

3.0 of 5
7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Cross Park Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
High Cross Park Lodge
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    37
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
26
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is the pits. nothing like pictures show you. Bed was very small . walls were filthy dirty. Tiles on floor were loose . Carpet in front entrance thread bear. We had to lug suit cases up a flight of stairs to room . And parking We were luck there are only three parking bays out back. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Forster, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We found the Lodge to be affordable,the rooms were clean, the staff very friendly and accomodating with our requests.The proximity to public transport and restauraunts is very good especially close to an excellent pub two doors away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We stayed only one night in the only family room on Saturday 21st December 2014 with my wife and daughter . After our 48hr flight from the Philippines put our bags in the room at 4pm. We got back to the room at 12mn. At 10am the next morning our door was opened with out knocking 3 minutes later we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for booking with us and we are sorry we couldn't accommodate your late checkout request at such short notice, being check out time. Late checkouts are subject to availability and we can usually fulfill a late check out request if it is requested the previous day. When next you visit one of our hotels please advise the reception... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. Basic but clean and comfortable rooms, with a fridge and toaster for breakfast. Friendly staff, excellent location with access to Coogee, Randwick unis and public transport. Recommended for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for booking with us and we hope we can help you with accommodation when next required. More 

denpasar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I have stayed here many times over the years. My recent visit was, as always, very good. Staff on the front desk are helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean, with all the facilities anyone would need and the Lodge is conveniently situated for shops, beach and to get in and out of the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for booking with us again and we look forward to your return. More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Stayed here recently, the location was very handy for us. All shops and restaurants close by, and only a short bus ride in to the city. The room had a comfortable bed, and air conditioning, how ever it looked like it could do with a good scrub, especially the floors. The cupboard where the plates and glasses where smelt and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Stayed at High Cross Park Lodge for 2 nights in September. I thought the Front desk staff were quite friendly. Checking in and out was a breeze. My room was a one bedder on the second level. My welcome was from a cockroach in the bathroom, But otherwise the room was relatively clean. The TV didn't work, but it did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Who would book a non-refundable tariff 8 months out from check-in at a purported discount only to see within days the same room offered week-in/week-out, month-in/month-out at significantly lower rates? And then for the management to be totally unsympathetic- "you booked it ... your problem" {"we've got you hooked"}. I will never stay at Sydney Lodges again. Pack a facecloth,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for booking with us and I am sorry the contract you chose caused you disappointment. Also, we are sorry if the information on our website advising the frequency of room servicing was overlooked. Glad to hear our helpful staff upgraded you to make your stay more comfortable and we do hope you return. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

As they say - you get what you pay for, however, the standard of cleanliness of the floors in the room and the dirt around the wardrobe and chest of drawers was not good at all. A good spring clean and a repaint of the walls would not go amiss. The bathrooms have been renovated and are very good. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear you experienced a less than clean room. We pride ourselves on having simple but clean rooms and clearly disappointed you. I am sure if you reported this at the time it would have been corrected immediately. We are glad you enjoyed the quiet room, renovated bathroom and had easy... More 

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

To say you get what u pay for certainly doesn't describe our experience. We arrived and from the moment we entered the blonde middle aged receptionist on the desk was outright rude. We made a mistake in understanding the site rules re children and extra adults. So when we booked we ticked 3 adults without booking for my 2 yr... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry you booked a room with a two person capacity and arrived with a third person. A Family Room or Grand Master Room would have been much more comfortable for your stay with the extra space. Our rooms are licensed to hold a specific maximum of people regardless of age, by the fire department so our hands... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question