We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Randwick Lodge

211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Randwick Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Randwick Lodge
Add Your Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    60
    39
    21
    22
See reviews for
48
33
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Armidale, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good budget accommodation close to Randwick racecourse, UNSW and POWH. Large rooms. Good shopping for essentials within walking distance. Close to bus stops- no train station. Walk to Coogee beach for nice cafés and patrolled beach. We were there for music festival and it could be noisy for light sleepers. Friendly staff. Clean premises. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is about a 3.5 on my view. So gave the hotel a 4. Its a buget style hotel, you definitely get what you paid for. The beds are comfy, theres free wifi and the lady at reception is so pleasant, she'll go out of her way to help. The manager should take some hints from his employee. Theres... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blue Haven, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Randwick lodge was close to public transport and Price of Wales Hospital which is why I booked there. My room was very clean had a comfortable bed and had shower and toilet in the room. I was within walking distance to everthing I needed I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Randwick Lodge succeeds as a very budget accommodation. Its location very near hospitals, schools, the university of NSW makes it the choice of those who have reasons to visit these institutions. Minimum staffing keeps costs down. We stayed 2D/2N. Arriving after 6 pm from the airport and driving a rental, it was a bother getting in. One had to contact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We spent here the last two night after one month trip around australia and that was definitely the worst place that we visited. We arrived at 20 so we received instruction to access to the building and the room via sms (late check in at 20???)The room was in the basement (n 3) with a door (half door was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Armidale, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We have stayed here numerous times now, as we usually need accommodation when visiting Sydney, even if only for a day or two. We have 2 children, one of which attend UNSW so the Heritage room is great for us as we have a very comfortable QS bed and a single bed for our daughter. Sure, it can be noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I have stayed on three occasions at this property. From experience I can tell you that you are far better off booking one of the ground floor Executive apartments in the newer section. It cost me an extra $25 a night and was well worth it. I booked room 35 and had a relatively good night's sleep. Bear in mind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We had an appointment at a nearby hospital. Location was great close to main street with lots of restaurants and shops. We were able to secure parking underneath the apartments. The room was spacious, clean and everything we needed (3 adults). It was quiet even though it was near the main road. We have stayed on 2 occasions and would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
102 hotel reviews
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

If someone asked me what are my three top worst things in a hotel I would say that my worst nightmare is "hard beds, noise and pokey dark rooms" - well this place fits the bill for my worst nightmare. When I booked here, I really wasn't expecting much so I had set the bar very very low, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney_lodges, Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you BrisCaz I apologies and am sanded to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Randwick Lodge as we always aim to provide, clean, comfortable affordable accommodation to all of our guest. I would however like to address some in-accuracies in the issues you have raised. As you mentioned traffic noise. Please note rooms 6, 7, & 8... More 

Manly, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We had a room right at the front of the lodge. Between the morning traffic and the receptionist talking loudly with other guests right outside our room door, it was impossible to get a sleep in. Otherwise the room was large and very basic, could do with a better clean, bathroom was tiny, pricing was reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question