We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avoca Lodge

235 Avoca Street, Randwick, New South Wales NSW 2031, Australia
Hotel amenities
Avoca Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
kathrynlambkin Newcastle, Australia
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
14
10
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Porirua, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this Avoca Lodge online and having not stayed here before we thought it a good choice whilst visiting family who live nearby. On our arrival at this Lodge there was no one to greet us. Just a notice on the Reception Desk stating your key to your room is in the envelope below. On entering our room we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I foolishly read the reviews for this accommodation the day before I arrived, which really stressed me out! No spiders, no cobwebs. Carpet looks old but is ok. Mattress seemed a bit wonky but then I had the best night's sleep in ages! Peaceful if your room is set back from the street. No noisy neighbours. Nice clean renovated bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not expensive. The hotel do not have things that normal hotels provide. However, if you do not expect such a full service, it is fairly good for the price. Located near NSWU. The room is small with shower but neat and satisfactory. The woman is friendly and accurate who seems to be only staff playing both roles of a receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here! Parking around the corner was easy, close to food, easy to get a taxi from. Only complaint was that the walls were very thing and there were people talking at like 6am that I couldn't sleep through!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a shame about the noisy neighbours. Hopefully we can help you with accommodation when next you visit Randwick. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The logde is over priced. The room size was small and upkeep was poor. Flooring would creak when you walked around. There were cobwebs in the stairway. The location was good..which was the only bonus. Parking can be nightmare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Triangle, Nc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

This establishment closes up at night, is dark (only one dim bulb inside and no lights outside), is reached only by a walkway from an alley past trash cans, has no staff on site after 7 p.m. (and may not have staff on site ever), makes no provisions for assistance (or for emergencies), and offers no parking. It is surrounded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We advertise that our reception hours are 8am to 7pm daily. Also on each booking there is a note asking you to contact the lodge if you are arriving after 7pm for instructions for key collection. There are 24hour contactable emergency phone numbers on the outside door and the reception door. The lighting is bright... More 

United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Horrible dirty hotel, scandalous staff! There is a elderly European receptionist refered as susi with highlighted hair wearing shorts and t shirts with very rude behavior. I believe she was drunk, at least I could smell strong alcohol when she spoke to me with her heavy accent. The room is very smelly with cigarette smoke. There is no wifi. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

This is a disappointing review from a guest who booked a non-refundable room and tried unsuccessfully to cancel and be refunded prior to arrival. It will alert others to select a suitable cancellation policy when they book accommodation and honor that choice with some dignity. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Perfect location which suited my purpose of staying one night to be close to my family who were residing in Coogee. It was a single room with a shower and cupboards, very basic accommodation but clean and the receptionist most helpful and friendly. She provided me with towels and allowed me to stay on the ground floor because my case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Very disappointing. We would not recommend this dive to anyone. We arrived after a 3 hour drive out of state to discovered there was no parking (the website states there is parking available). The parking options are 3 hour on the road or $25 a day at the hospital. Not convenient for my ill aunty who is going back and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I went to Prince of Wales hospital for a kidney trans plant my wife booked a room at Avoka lodge for 7 days, but my trans plant was stopped because the kidney was compromised , my wife called to say my opp had been cancelled only 2 hours after she booked the room, and was told too bad they would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

We offer a selection of rates and cancellation policies to suit a variety of needs. Guests are generally unhappy when they have agreed to the least expensive rate with a no refund policy and then need to cancel for whatever reason. The lodge is near five major hospitals and medical arrangement changes are frequent and do not negate the cancellation... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question