We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hermitage Motel

#6 of 6 Hotels in Muswellbrook
62 - 68 New England Hwy, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hermitage Motel
Professional photos
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    Write a Review

    18 reviews from our community

    Traveler rating
      2
      3
      3
      3
      7
    See reviews for
    4
    6
    2
    4
    Rating summary
    • Location
      3 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      3 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      2.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      2.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      2.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      3.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (18)
    • Mar-May only
      (4)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (5)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (7)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (2)
    All months
    Inverell, Australia
    2 reviews
    2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

    This motel was very disappointing in both quality & the attude of the managers. The room was tiny and air conditioner not only didn't heat but was in danger of falling out of the wall, had not been fitted or finished correctly. During the night something above the air conditioner started to leak and drip, landing on some tin or... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    2 reviews
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

    Spent one night with my family, not impressed with the service, the WIFi did not work, the room was not properly cleaned before we entered. The atmosphere was not safe for children. Would not go back. You could hear everything happening outside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Newcastle, Australia
    Senior Contributor
    22 reviews 22 reviews
    17 hotel reviews
    27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

    Very clean small room, I can tell some effort has been made with refurbishing. They charge to much but hey!!! that's Muswellbrook all motels here are over priced, they can get away with it because of the mining companies....but us average folks should really only be paying $90.00 maximum per night. Another complaint is no where really to sit outdoors,... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Sydney
    1 review
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

    After reading mixed reviews we were interested to see just what The Hermitage was like. We were pleasantly surprised. The stay were very friendly and helpful. The rooms tidy and reasonable for the price. We enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant and overall had a pleasant stay. Can only think that the previous harse reviews must have been under... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Bermagui
    Reviewer
    3 reviews 3 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

    Terrible stayed 31 July 2013 clean room from 1970 air con the same as my mum and dads when we were kids and now I am 52!!! Too noisy so we froze. Hard bed . Sore back . Probably worse after staying in beautiful merit on serviced appartments the night before for 97 bucks in central Sydney. Tiny bathroom, owner... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Eleanor H, Manager at Hermitage Motel, responded to this review

    Thanks for noticing what a great job our housekeeping dept. does, but we were disappointed to see your poor review especially as you opted to inspect the room before staying, and did not personally discuss any of your concerns with us. We wish to advise that we are currently in the process of replacing the old air conditioners, and also... More 

    Green Point, Australia
    1 review
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

    We had booked prior to seeing the negative reviews and were apprehensive. Delighted to say the motel now has new proprietors who really care. Greeting on arrival was bright, breezy and professional. Room was spotless, but small, with a tiny bathroom, but reasonable for the money. No problem with adjoining room noises, and had an excellent night's sleep.Location is immediately... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Brisbane, Australia
    Top Contributor
    80 reviews 80 reviews
    50 hotel reviews
    55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

    Well, it's probably the best you can do in Muswellbrook but that's not saying much. Old rooms that smell like smoke and are not sounds proof at all according to the guy the snored the house down in the neighbouring room.... Also wouldn't recommend the Resturant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Canberra, Australia
    Contributor
    17 reviews 17 reviews
    10 hotel reviews
    12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

    We were charged what I considered to be an excessive amount for the quality of the room. Our room was in the block with a street at both the side and the front and the road noise was very loud and disturbing. The bathroom is in need of a renovation and is very tiny and came with a nasty smell.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    2 reviews
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

    Well firstly the rooms are ok!!! Teeny tiny bathroom!!! You wouldn't want to be a big person otherwise you wouldnt fit in there!!! I just couldn't believe how rude the woman whom I believe is the owner was to all of us!!! There were a group of us which included 5 children!! The kids were laughing and next minute the... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Robina, Australia
    Top Contributor
    72 reviews 72 reviews
    23 hotel reviews
    57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

    We stayed @ this place Sunday 26/11 after a long drive from the Gold Coast in atrocious weather conditions. If you expect satisfaction look elsewhere.... The licensed restaurant was closed & we were directed to a local Bowling Club across the street that was by all appearances in a similar state of disrepair. The internet....we were told that they didn't... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 3
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
    Owners: What's your side of the story?
    Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
    Manage your listing

    Been to Hermitage Motel? Share your experiences!

    Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

    Additional Information about Hermitage Motel

    Address: 62 - 68 New England Hwy, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
    Location: Australia > New South Wales > Muswellbrook
    Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
    Number of rooms: 37
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermitage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

    7 photos of this hotel

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (7)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    Dining (1)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (2)
    Viewed
    Other (3)
    Hotels you might also like...
    Check In Check Out
    Price Your Stay

    Amenities

    Highlights
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Free Internet
    • Free Breakfast
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
    About the property
    • Wheelchair access
    Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hot Tub
    • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
    Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Family Rooms
    In your room
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    Internet
    • Free Internet
    • Paid Wifi
    • Paid Internet
    Services
    • Free Parking
    • Room Service
    • Free Breakfast
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    The Hermitage Motel Muswellbrook is now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT. Come book a room with us and we will make your stay as comfortable as possible. Golf players and lovers take advantage of our location - directly across from the Muswellbrook Golf Club. ... more   less 
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Hermitage Motel staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    Hotels around Muswellbrook

    Baybrook Motor Inn and Apartments
    Baybrook Motor Inn and Apartments 4.5 out of 5, 20 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 2, 2015
    Thistle Hill Guest House
    Thistle Hill Guest House 5.0 out of 5, 274 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 2, 2015
    Vineyard Hill Retreat
    Vineyard Hill Retreat 3.5 out of 5, 8 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Cabins in the Clouds
    Cabins in the Clouds 4.5 out of 5, 20 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015
    Hunter Hideaway Cottages
    Hunter Hideaway Cottages 4.0 out of 5, 56 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015
    Colonial Motor Lodge
    Colonial Motor Lodge 4.0 out of 5, 24 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 22, 2015
    Casuarina Motel Suites
    Casuarina Motel Suites 4.0 out of 5, 23 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 18, 2015
    Royal Hotel-Motel (New England Hwy) 3.0 out of 5, 6 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 16, 2015
    Thalgara Estate
    Thalgara Estate 4.5 out of 5, 10 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 16, 2015
    Billabong Moon
    Billabong Moon 4.5 out of 5, 55 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 12, 2015
    Denman Motor Inn
    Denman Motor Inn 4.5 out of 5, 29 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 10, 2015
    Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
    Blackwattle Luxury Retreats 5.0 out of 5, 42 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 25, 2015
    Scone Motor Inn
    Scone Motor Inn 4.5 out of 5, 56 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 19, 2015
    Aberdeen Motel
    Aberdeen Motel 4.5 out of 5, 13 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 11, 2015
    Denman Van Village
    Denman Van Village 4.5 out of 5, 4 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 8, 2015