We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hermitage Motel

62 - 68 New England Hwy, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hermitage Motel
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed overnight at this motel on our way through to wollongong, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the rooms were reasonably priced, comfortable & clean, we ordered one of their pizza's from the restaurant which was delivered free of charge to our room within a short time, delicious, fresh & yummy...would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights and was more than happy with the service....even though the hotel is older it has all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay....air conditioning was a little noisy but once it cranked up it didn't disturb me....very well located over the road from the gulf club....great brekky and nothing a problem for the friendly managers....didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverell, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This motel was very disappointing in both quality & the attude of the managers. The room was tiny and air conditioner not only didn't heat but was in danger of falling out of the wall, had not been fitted or finished correctly. During the night something above the air conditioner started to leak and drip, landing on some tin or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Muswellbrook hotels

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Spent one night with my family, not impressed with the service, the WIFi did not work, the room was not properly cleaned before we entered. The atmosphere was not safe for children. Would not go back. You could hear everything happening outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very clean small room, I can tell some effort has been made with refurbishing. They charge to much but hey!!! that's Muswellbrook all motels here are over priced, they can get away with it because of the mining companies....but us average folks should really only be paying $90.00 maximum per night. Another complaint is no where really to sit outdoors,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After reading mixed reviews we were interested to see just what The Hermitage was like. We were pleasantly surprised. The stay were very friendly and helpful. The rooms tidy and reasonable for the price. We enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant and overall had a pleasant stay. Can only think that the previous harse reviews must have been under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bermagui
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Terrible stayed 31 July 2013 clean room from 1970 air con the same as my mum and dads when we were kids and now I am 52!!! Too noisy so we froze. Hard bed . Sore back . Probably worse after staying in beautiful merit on serviced appartments the night before for 97 bucks in central Sydney. Tiny bathroom, owner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eleanor H, Manager at Hermitage Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for noticing what a great job our housekeeping dept. does, but we were disappointed to see your poor review especially as you opted to inspect the room before staying, and did not personally discuss any of your concerns with us. We wish to advise that we are currently in the process of replacing the old air conditioners, and also... More 

Green Point, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had booked prior to seeing the negative reviews and were apprehensive. Delighted to say the motel now has new proprietors who really care. Greeting on arrival was bright, breezy and professional. Room was spotless, but small, with a tiny bathroom, but reasonable for the money. No problem with adjoining room noises, and had an excellent night's sleep.Location is immediately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Well, it's probably the best you can do in Muswellbrook but that's not saying much. Old rooms that smell like smoke and are not sounds proof at all according to the guy the snored the house down in the neighbouring room.... Also wouldn't recommend the Resturant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were charged what I considered to be an excessive amount for the quality of the room. Our room was in the block with a street at both the side and the front and the road noise was very loud and disturbing. The bathroom is in need of a renovation and is very tiny and came with a nasty smell.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay