We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hermitage Motel

62 - 68 New England Hwy, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hermitage Motel
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Inverell, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This motel was very disappointing in both quality & the attude of the managers. The room was tiny and air conditioner not only didn't heat but was in danger of falling out of the wall, had not been fitted or finished correctly. During the night something above the air conditioner started to leak and drip, landing on some tin or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Spent one night with my family, not impressed with the service, the WIFi did not work, the room was not properly cleaned before we entered. The atmosphere was not safe for children. Would not go back. You could hear everything happening outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very clean small room, I can tell some effort has been made with refurbishing. They charge to much but hey!!! that's Muswellbrook all motels here are over priced, they can get away with it because of the mining companies....but us average folks should really only be paying $90.00 maximum per night. Another complaint is no where really to sit outdoors,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After reading mixed reviews we were interested to see just what The Hermitage was like. We were pleasantly surprised. The stay were very friendly and helpful. The rooms tidy and reasonable for the price. We enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant and overall had a pleasant stay. Can only think that the previous harse reviews must have been under... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bermagui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Terrible stayed 31 July 2013 clean room from 1970 air con the same as my mum and dads when we were kids and now I am 52!!! Too noisy so we froze. Hard bed . Sore back . Probably worse after staying in beautiful merit on serviced appartments the night before for 97 bucks in central Sydney. Tiny bathroom, owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eleanor H, Manager at Hermitage Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for noticing what a great job our housekeeping dept. does, but we were disappointed to see your poor review especially as you opted to inspect the room before staying, and did not personally discuss any of your concerns with us. We wish to advise that we are currently in the process of replacing the old air conditioners, and also... More

Green Point, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had booked prior to seeing the negative reviews and were apprehensive. Delighted to say the motel now has new proprietors who really care. Greeting on arrival was bright, breezy and professional. Room was spotless, but small, with a tiny bathroom, but reasonable for the money. No problem with adjoining room noises, and had an excellent night's sleep.Location is immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Well, it's probably the best you can do in Muswellbrook but that's not saying much. Old rooms that smell like smoke and are not sounds proof at all according to the guy the snored the house down in the neighbouring room.... Also wouldn't recommend the Resturant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were charged what I considered to be an excessive amount for the quality of the room. Our room was in the block with a street at both the side and the front and the road noise was very loud and disturbing. The bathroom is in need of a renovation and is very tiny and came with a nasty smell.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Well firstly the rooms are ok!!! Teeny tiny bathroom!!! You wouldn't want to be a big person otherwise you wouldnt fit in there!!! I just couldn't believe how rude the woman whom I believe is the owner was to all of us!!! There were a group of us which included 5 children!! The kids were laughing and next minute the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed @ this place Sunday 26/11 after a long drive from the Gold Coast in atrocious weather conditions. If you expect satisfaction look elsewhere.... The licensed restaurant was closed & we were directed to a local Bowling Club across the street that was by all appearances in a similar state of disrepair. The internet....we were told that they didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hermitage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Motel

Address: 62 - 68 New England Hwy, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Muswellbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermitage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay