We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Kempsey hotels

City Centre Motel

95 Smith Street, Kempsey, New South Wales NSW 2440, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Centre Motel to your Saves list
City Centre Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
48%
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Kempsey
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Smith_trip1 Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay. We booked with on arrival. The people who run the motel are super friendly staff. The rooms were very Clean.And the bathroom sparkled white. We had an adjoining two rooms with interconnecting internal door great rooms for family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent one night at this motel on our way to Queensland. We were very happy with the room. It was spotlessly clean, had a microwave, and was most comfortable. One oddity was the fact the wash basin forms part of the kitchenette and is outside the bathroom. With no mirror above it, it makes it difficult for a man... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at short notice. It is right next to macdonalds, but not noisy in my room. The main shops are a short walk away, plenty of eating options. the inside is clean and comfortable. Bonus river view out the back to enjoy your cuppa to. they seem to have a function centre at the back which would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

In the Main Street next to McDonalds and Bunnings. Walking distance to the RSL and pubs. All done next to the Mcleay River for a Queen room tariff of $99. We did have room to swing a cat, and appointments were dated but functional and clean. I forgot to tell the manager that one bedside lamp needed a new bulb,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Woolgoolga, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Jim & Georgina could not have been more helpful in giving us a suitable room. As my husband is a bit disabled, they showed us the choice of two rooms. We chose a newly renovated King room which was more than we could have expected or required. A great layout of the rooms with plenty of cupboards, drawers, table &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Haven, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed one night only, reception was very friendly and efficient, (Vicki) we stayed in a king room, the room was clean and provided everything we needed, the bed was very comfortable. Location is great, handy to everything. Will definetley stay again.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

For a country Motel, we found it spotless and very convenient as it is on the Highway on the way to the Gold Coast , ,this year we had to turn off the new Motorway which now bypasses Kempsey, but it is worth turning off and helping these people stay in business. It is just a short walk to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MotelKempsey, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great response to your stay with us at the City Centre Motel Kempsey. It is important to us that our guests enjoy their stay and want to return. We are constantly working towards inproving the motel and appreciate when we get positive feedback. Thankyou. More

Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed one night here and although it is basic accommodation it is very clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower had nice pressure. The pool was sparkling clean but would benefit from some more pool seating though. There were only three plastic chairs no sun loungers. But would visit again and the service was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MotelKempsey, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive response to your stay with us. Our cleaning staff work very hard to supply our guests with a clean room. Iam also very pleased your family enjoyed our sparkling clean pool. Other guests have commented on the fact that we do not supply sun lounges so on your next visit we guarentee that our pool... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The room was cramped, dirty and dilapidated. All cupboard doors were crooked and difficult to close. Queen size bed was hard and uncomfortable, whilst second bed felt like a queen mattress on a double base, so I was falling off the side all night. Sheets on bed appeared worn as if the bed had been slept in already. Air con... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MotelKempsey, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room mentioned in your review is an economy room. Our economy rooms are obviously our cheaper rooms and are yet to be renovated so they are still in original condition. The reason the cost of the room was $105.00 is because you would have had 4 people... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Having negotiated room rate with managers one week to charged a different rate the next week on long term arrangement for a number of staff members. Rang motel to tell them one staff was getting in late (8.30pm) receptionist told him if he wasn't in by 9 he would have to find somewhere else to stay which we now have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MotelKempsey, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this review

In response to your review, Our office is open to 9.30pm so I cannot understand why one of our staff members would make a comment advising one of your staff members to be at the motel by 8.30pm, we also have a key safe which allows guests to check into the motel after 9.30pm? Your staff were very nice and... More

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 95 Smith Street, Kempsey, New South Wales NSW 2440, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Kempsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Centre Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?