We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Metropole Guesthouse

Hotel website
Cnr Gang Gang & Lurline Sts, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Special Deal
Free B'fast mid-week
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Metropole Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    48
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
16
78
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Barmera, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an historic guest house so a few foibles can be expected. Our room was small but still managed a 2 seater lounge as well as a desk. The en suite was not spacious but OK. It was plenty warm. The charm of the place is in the sitting ares with cosy (fake) wood fires and the games area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a place in Katoomba for a really inexpensive stay, but I didn't want to book a total dog or stay in a youth hostel - too old for that now. I read all the reviews and there are some mixed reports but mostly good. I am happy to confirm that this is an excellent place to stay if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room very small with our luggage you could barely walk around the bed to get to the bathroom. The bathroom had a notice on it stating you will be charged $1200 if you don't close the door and turn the fan on and the fire brigade is called out. The bed was on wheels and moved around the room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Katoomba hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A three night Easy Holiday package which promised so much and delivered so little.Supposed to have three dinners and as it is Yulefest had to pay an extra $20 each for the fancy dinner.The girl checking us in argued that we only had two dinners which probably did us a favor as the meal we had at the local pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room for 3 people to stay just one night. The bed was two double beds pushed togther and set for 3. Pretty uncomfortable all round. Other than this the room was clean. The hotel was adorable with all the vintage furniture, and it was in a great location with heaps of food around. As well as this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Gemma P for posting your feedback and review. I'm very glad to hear that you all had a great time, and that you got as much enjoyment out of our old world guest house and charming vintage furnishings as much as we do! I have looked into your booking details and can confirm that you had booked a... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very old hotel with plenty of character. Not disability friendly Lift out of order. My husband who has a disability and I had to carry our suitcases up to the 3rd floor. May have been prudent to employ a bellhop. Cistern in bathroom overflowed when toilet flushed. Bathroom unusually small. Bed and pillows comfortable. Room size adequate. No face washers,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Christeen R for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your 1 night stay with us was not able to meet your expectations, particularly after we had chatted about how happy you were to be back again after your lovely stay the year before. As a small and heritage listed guesthouse we... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We received a wonderfully warm welcome at the Metropole. It is perfectly located next to the Katoomba train station and near all the local shops, restaurants, sight-seeing tours, etc. The hotel is exactly as outlined on the brochure - a guesthouse. The rooms aren't huge but with access to a library room, a games room and other reading nooks, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Charjer66 for taking the time to post feedback and your review. Warm, welcoming and old fashioned customer service is one of our key values and we do all we can to try and ensure our guests feel as though they are 'coming home' to the Metropole. Our other key values include great location and value for money and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

-Just cross the road from Katoomba train station -Friendly staff -Walking distance to various shops (subway, fish and chip, kebab, pizza, bakery and lots more), -(Katoomba Marketplace supermarket) is located at the back of Main Katoomba Street and is 15mins by walk. -Single bus ride to Echo point (three sisters) from the bus stop in front of The Carrington hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks LHwong! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed spending some time exploring Katoomba and surrounds. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Blue Mountains. Regards, Shelley More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

My husband and I spent three days at The Metropole and loved every minute. The outside of the building may not look impressive, but step inside and immediately the warmth and charm is contagious. We travelled on a Groupon coupon and received the best service and hospitality. We upgraded to a Queen Room which was clean and comfortable and proceed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much Marie T for your lovely review. Receiving feedback such as yours makes our day and everything we do worthwhile; as it is our goal to ensure every single guest enjoys their stay with us as much as you! Its also fantastic when guests take full advantage of all the Metropole has to offer. Not only the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

Suitably priced old Mountains guesthouse. Room was comfortable for one person and, although I was warned I might get some traffic noise, it was pleasantly quiet. Library lovely, but gas fire place could do with quieter fan and the couches could be more comfortable with some cushions. Breakfast ok for the price....Staff very polite and accomodating. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Solo1_10 for your review. Its always nice to be pleasantly surprised, and I am glad that on this occasion the comfort and quietness of the room achieved that for you. At the Metropole, it is our aim to be a warm and welcoming, old world guesthouse that is fantastic value for money and provides excellent service. Im pleased... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (187)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay