We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sky Rider Motor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    103
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
68
92
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Mold, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a night whilst honeymooning in Australia. Initial impressions, even before arriving, were excellent due to the e-mail contact and the offer of an upgrade to a deluxe queen room. Upon arrival the motel had a homely and welcoming feel. The lady at reception was thoroughly polite and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, providing everything that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent the night there enroute from Country NSW into Sydney. A very cheerful and friendly lady greeted us at the reception counter, and we got the keys within mere minutes. Appreciated the gesture of starting the heater prior to our check-in, so that we immediately felt warm and comfortable. Room furnishings are starting to get a bit dated, but no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is a motel, so you shouldn't expect 5 star service, but saying that it was very affordable and well served by the able and polite staff. We were arriving later than the usual check in time and staff were friendly and stayed late to check us in. Not a romantic getaway, but very good for a stopover, motorway rest,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Every effort was made to make it a great stay. Heaters were on in the rooms when we arrived. The rooms were clean and tidy. They had a selection of DVDs and board games to borrow. Just outside town makes a nice walk with the kids to town or $8 taxi ride. Could use new pillows but would recommend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel is in a lovely quiet area of Katoomba and far enough back from the highway so you don't hear any traffic noise. Room 32 was very clean and well setup with a very comfy bed. We even had snow !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The folks at Echo Point Information Centre suggested Sky Rider and another accommodation but we stopped by to check this one out first. Kelly let us see the room. We were on a super tight budget and traveling with my husband's 79 year old godmother. Kelly offered us a family room which gave us space so we didn't feel like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had such a great experience at the Sky Rider Inn. Upon our first arrival, our room was not quite ready, which really could have lead to a bad experience, but instead the receptionist upgraded us to the deluxe room. She was so helpful right from the second we walked in the door, providing maps and suggestions of what to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay here, the receptionist was extremely helpful. She showed us a map of the local area and circled points of interest. The room was really nice and clean and the heater was very warm, although took a little bit to kick in (but that's expected from floor heaters) Its only a short drive from town and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed just for one night with our 3 kids and we were impressed with the warm welcome from the Owner, who remained cheerful whilst looking heavily pregnant! Breakfast was just what we wanted - eggs and bacon, with a pot of Tetley's tea, a roaring fire and christmas in July decorations! The room was simple, but warm and cosy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was freezing cold when we arrived-found windows wide open and heat not on. It was 45 degrees outside. Crack under door also let in cold air. I stayed wrapped in a blanket all night long. Electric blanket did not work on my side of the bed. Heater was on all night long but still was chilly in the morning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. During the colder months we endeavour to have lights and heaters on from 3pm to ensure the room is nice and warm for guests arrival so I'm sorry this was not the case with your room. We were unaware the electric blanket was not working and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay