We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Heritage

Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain Heritage
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    133
    63
    30
    15
See reviews for
50
191
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (325)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We felt in need of a little R&R, weekend get away and retreat. Mountain Heritage has friendly service and old charm atmosphere. The room quality and mountain views were peaceful and relaxing - a great and restful stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear juliesH3214TR Thank you for choosing us for your weekend getaway for a little R&R. We are delighted our friendly staff and our old charm atmosphere helped you enjoy your stay and provided a peaceful and relaxing break for you. We hope we will welcome you back again when next you visit the beautiful Blue Mountains. Regards Eric Sward More 

Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is nice in, as someone else said 'a step back in time'. We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay and the views & food were fantastic (except for $9 for a side of frozen chips) Room was nice if a bit dated. The bed was very hard though and was two singles pushed together for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear lauradonovan2014 Thank you for staying and dining with us. It is indeed pleasing you like our retreat and our wonderful Jamison Views Restaurant. Sorry to hear about the cold chips,this is clearly an anomaly, and I trust our staff rectified the problem for you immediately. The bed in your room is a commercial quality "split king" which is designed... More 

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was in a great location and the staff were very helpful. The room had everything we needed except there was hardly any hot water, had to boil the kettle to fill the bath tub. The restaurant was closed for dinner on Sunday and Monday night which was a little disappointing also. Other than that it was a great... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Justin S Glad you like our handy location and our friendly helpful staff. We are at a loss to explain the hot water shortage, as there was no reason we could find, other than perhaps a long "cold spot" in the line to your room. Our near new boilers have sufficient capacity for 50% more rooms than we actually... More 

Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice heritage hotel with grand old furnishing. This is an old hotel with many years of history. We particularly like to spend a night in this style of hotel in our long trip. Someone might think it's old and not good. But we just loved it. Although it's an old hotel, our rooms are clean and large, Big flat TV,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear dorachai Thank you for providing your feedback on your stay with us. It is pleasing you enjoyed the ambiance of our 106 year old mountain retreat. We checked the taps in your room but did not find one dripping, but it may have been an intermittent fault, so we replaced the washers to be sure, thanks for bringing that... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good choice for mid range hotel. You get what you pay for in comparison to the more luxurious options in the area. Cozy bar area with a lovely fireplace, was quiet when I was there (on a Monday) but can see it being a great place to enjoy an afternoon drink once filled up with people. Beautiful views from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Evaaaa_44 Thank you for your comments, and thank you for choosing as for your Blue Mountains stay. Yes, good advise in terms of selecting a room with a view, for a little extra, you get to enjoy the wonderful vista from the comfort and privacy of your room, as well as from our lounges, cocktail bar and Jamison Views... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing views, clean rooms, good service. You'll definitely get a feel of stepping into an era long gone. The fireplaces all along will keep you cosy in winters. Highly recommend for couples or girly get aways.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear roamit2015 Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your "step back in time" in our 106 year old mountain retreat. Thank you also for recommending us, we hope you will return again soon. Regards Eric Sward General Manager More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although this is an incredibly beautiful hotel, it was massively let down by the room. Bathroom was very old and in need of renovation. The bed was sagging so much I fell off the edge. We had an internal room overlooking nothing but internal rooflines. I'm sure some of the nicer rooms with outlooks would change my rating, but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Craig B, Thank you for your feedback. You are right in that the internal rooms do not enjoy the wonderful views, hence they are cheaper. I agree, that the rooms with views seem nicer (although the decore standard is similar) and you would have changed your rating, if you had chosen one. It is a shame you didn't because... More 

Travelers are raving about these Katoomba hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent weekend , food delicious,service great. only problem when windy walls in our room sqeaked, thought ghosts where walking around . but would highly reccommend it for anyone wanting a break from sydney

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Harry M Thank you for choosing us for your break away from Sydney. It is very pleasing to hear you enjoyed our delicious food and great service. Yes, indeed our 106 year old building does have the odd creak, during times of high winds, but as you might imagine, it tends to add to the "authenticity" of our history.... More 

sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a group of 6 people in 3 rooms July 2015. This place is so cozy, a beautiful fire going, a nice bar which was reasonably priced and the most stunning view. The restaraunt was great and were ok with us having 2 guests with us who couldn't eat with us as they only ate Kosher food. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear 0243jack Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We were delighted to look after your group, and very pleased all aspects of your stay, including our cosy lounges with warming fires, stunning views , Jamison Views Restaurant, and our clean, well maintained rooms met or exceeded your expectations. We hope we can welcome you and your group again in the... More 

Wentworth Falls, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mountain Heritage sits high above the township of Katoomba with panoramic views extending into the Jamison Valley and the Kings Tableland. Everything (except the pool) is accessible from within, so the lovely lounge area and the restaurant can be easily accessed from your room independent of the weather or the temperature. When we were there there was a cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear470JohnC Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed the ambiance and warmth of our lounge areas and restaurant and the crystal clear views of the Jamison Valley and Kings Tableland. Good room tip, in terms of the rooms that overlook the valley, even though the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay