We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Heritage

4.5 of 5 Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    102
    52
    24
    13
See reviews for
38
142
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wnt for a wedding in Katoomba. Staying here was pleasant and comfortable. Maybe not the number choice for a single young male, but I'm sure i'm not the target market. Would be a great place for that romantic or relaxing weekend away. Very easy drive there from Sydney. Great views looking over the Jasper Valley while eating breakfast. Would go... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear LJG435301 Thank you for your very positive review. It is indeed encouraging for us when we receive such wonderful feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and yes, we are a great choice for that special romantic getaway. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Eric Sward General Manager More 

Bungendore, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful location and large comfortable rooms. Line and length restaurant offering beef, lamb, chicken, fish and a couple of vegetarian offerings. Competent food. Establishment let down by lack of finesse. Motel instant coffee, tea bags and UHT milk capsules. In such a place it should be plunger coffee, good tea bags, some herbal, and fresh milk. Toiletries pretty basic as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Peter E Thank you for your comments. It seems we were able to meet your expectations, but not exceed them. You have given us some feedback to consider. We do supply fresh milk, as noted in the room compendium, and we would have been pleased to do so on request. Not sure if you are referring to us specifically... More 

Diamond Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Valley View Suite 2 which supposedly was one of two luxury (& dearest) suites which are a separate annex to the hotel. The decor/fittings can only be described as dreary 1970s 1980s which although clean are worn and the whole suite is in desperate need of refurbishment. The sitting room was particularly dismal with no sight of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Alan F, We are disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your accommodation in our Valley View Suite. We try to match the decore to a bygone era, and it is indeed not "luxury" in the 5 star sense or "modern" in any sense. hence we do not use those decriptors on our website. It seems we did... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only had one night in Katoomba & pleased we found this hotel. Great location with easy access to main sights as well as walking into Katoomba. Staff were friendly & helpful. We did not have room with a view but for brief stay we were out visiting so this didn't matter. Our room rate didn't include breakfast & the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Megan W Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Good honest feedback is gold to us. I will share your positive staff comments with our team. Sorry you did not find our (rather limited, but really good) vegetarian options on our menu appealing. I trust you found something suitable nearby in Katoomba Street. Once again,... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It depends on what your looking for. I was extremely disappointed in this hotel and felt the photos were extremely misleading, I was sold first of all by the star rating and beautiful photos. The rooms are extremely dated and there was a terrible smell of damp and dust throughout the hotel, also there wasn't a single guest in sight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Siobhan W, Your comments are very intriguing. We are sorry you were disappointed the rooms you were allocated were not at the top level facing the beautiful Jamison Valley. The images of the rooms on the website match the actual room types. We did not find any spiders, dust or Mr Faulty in those rooms. We are not in... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 1 night here in early January. Older grand style hotel with beautiful views of Valley from spacious lobby & restaurant. No view from our room but was OK since we were hardly there. Room was clean & large with a very comfortable king sized bed and sofa to sit on. Bathroom totally serviceable but nothing special. Room in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear BostonSuz46 Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay and dinner in our Jamison Views Restaurant. Our Guest House is enjoying its 106th year, and is indeed an older, grand style retreat. We do have an ongoing refurbishment program in place, however we do try and maintain the... More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel over the Valentine's weekend and the place was quite busy. We had a wonderful stay and the friendly staff helped to ensure all was ok. The views out of our room were very good, if a little noisy due to the main road running along the front of the hotel. The continental breakfast buffet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Martyn K Glad to hear you chose to stay with us over the Valentines Day week-end. It is very pleasing you enjoyed your room, the views and our friendly helpful staff. We hope we can welcome you back again for your next getaway to the beautiful Blue Mountains. Regards Eric Sward General Manager More 

Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here with a large group for a special birthday celebration. The lounge areas in the hotel are comfortably furnished and it seemed that there would always be an area where you could find a seat for a quiet drink and a chat. We had an upstairs room at the front of the hotel and although it cost a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear FiveDockDiner Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your stay with us. It is very pleasing to hear you and your group enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including the special birthday celebration in our Jamison Views Restaurant. Celebrations are something we can cater for well, and your are right, there are many... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel in Katoomba for a romantic getaway to celebrate my partners birthday. I was not disappointed, this hotel is in a fantastic location with breathtaking views of the Jamison Valley, the hotel takes you back in time with it well kept surroundings and authentic furnishings. The staff is very friendly and helpful, I was very pleased with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear MBDantas, Thank you for your wonderful review. It is indeed pleasing you enjoyed your stay with us, It really is a great place to enjoy that special celebration. I will share your comments with our staff and resident pianist. We look forward to welcoming you back in winter, another great time of the year to enjoy the beautiful Blue... More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely impromptu visit to this beautifully restored establishment. We managed to get the last room available so .... no view, However, the lounge areas are delightful with fabulous views to the Jamison Valley. We had a beautiful meal in the dining room which has views to rival anywhere in the mountains. The service was very friendly without being intrusive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn048 Thank you for staying with us. It is wonderful you appreciate the great views from our very comfortable lounge/cocktail bar areas and restaurant. It is good advice to book early into a room with a view, they certainly add that extra appeal. Glad you enjoyed the food and service in our Jamison Views Restaurant. We hope we will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay