We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Echo Point Motor Inn

18 Echo Point Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Echo Point Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    51
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
42
46
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Sydney
Level Contributor
108 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I gotta say, I love going back to these old school style motels from time to time. Its just fun boiling the jug and preparing yourself a cup of International Roast with the longlife milk! Its retro and fun! Check in was easy, waited about 5 minutes while other guests were being checked in. The motel does a great $8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your thoughts. Yes, we operate a traditional 'old school' motel, located just 200 metres from the Echo Point lookout and bushwalks. Despite the prime location, we are generally the most keenly-priced motel in Katoomba and represent great value for money. Jasond More 

Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect for a short stay in Katoomba, right where the walking trails begin. A bit old fashioned, but clean and comfortable. Free parking. Very nice owner, who gave good restaurant tips. We had a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michael, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a bit old but are working on things to improve the place, like new carpets and curtains. Our guest feedback is important to us to work on the things they feel we need to do first. Jason More 

London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed somewhere easy and centrally located to stay on a quick trip up to the Blue Mountains. I phoned ahead as needed to arrive pretty late and the friendly guy on the phone assured me this was OK and we arranged a way to access the room late at night. It was a freezing cold night so it was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Navis01, Thank you for your review. When guest are arriving late we put heaters on so you walk into a nice warm welcoming room. The bathrooms are hard to heat as exhaust fans take all the warm air out. I am looking into the fridge problem as we are very quite down here after sundown and any noises are... More 

Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you want to be close to the magnificent sights of the Blue Mountains , you cannot get much closer than this. A five minute walk takes you to the breathtaking vista of Echo Point and the start of a myriad of waling trails. Accommodation is unpretentious and provides a great base to explore the area. Parking is free and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi JANDK2265, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our wonderful part of the world. We are connected with the Echo Point Villas and the Metropole Guest House so we can offer accommodation for all different types. I hope you come back and try one of the other properties one day. JasonD More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fairly nice rooms for a motel. Design slightly dated and rooms quite small, a little expensive for a motel but fine for what they were. Great location, 2 min walk to the 3 Sisters, and right across the road to Lilianfels Resort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking available onsite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kittysquish, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you thought we were expensive as we are a budget motel and the best rate in Katoomba. We are working on things to improve the rooms like new carpet and curtains. Guest feed back is important to us to help with such things. Jasond More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We stayed here for a last minute getaway. Our room was a bit dated but perfectly fine for us and our toddler and best of all it looked directly over the mountains. You can't complain when the nightly fee with parking directly in front of the room isn't much more than the cost of parking on the street! We met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kama_10, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time with your friends. We try to give our guests a great value experience. Jasond More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I know that because we stayed for longer than just one or two nights, we were placed in an upstairs room facing away from the driveway where it was quiet and undisturbed by overnight comings and goings. Our room was large and comfortable. It may have been a little worn around the edges, but it was definitely clean, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lissel, Thank you for your kind review. The staff here try and look after our guests the best way we can and are always trying to improve things. We take on board feedback from guests seriously and do the things most needed first. We have recarpeted fifteen rooms and have new curtains coming for those rooms in the next... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

The place has had a bit of a facelift since some of the photos on here. It's true the place is a little tired around the edges but for the price what are people expecting...the Hilton!? For those of you with common sense this place is excellent, the rooms are big, clean nice bathrooms with great hot water and pressure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Hayden, Thank you for your review. Over the last 12 months we have been working on improving the property and still have some things to do but things take time. We are happy to do what we can for our guests and are always happy to drop people up the street if I am able to at the time.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

We went last weekend for overnight stay. The room is spacious and beds are comfy. It is older style motel but everything is clean. We arrived late in the evening and the heater is already on so it is nice and cozy in the room. Plenty on onsite parking outside the room. It is located 2 mins away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Kindly .. Wiz2014 .. Its great to see you had a nice time with us and that you appreciate the little extras that we do for our Guests.. We strive to make sure we do provide value for money and its very rewarding to see you using theses words in your review. It will be nice to see you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

This small in is like stepping back in time, it's in the perfect location just five minutes from the three sisters. The rooms have heaters and electric heated sheets which you will need. There's a unique little chocolate cafe a few minutes walk away definitely worth a visit too! The staff were very friendly got advise when needed ordered taxis... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason D, Manager at Echo Point Motor Inn, responded to this review

Kellymegs .. We do hope you will return as your friendly smile was very welcome .. Yes all Our rooms have been Equipped with new heating systems, So its great you noticed and kept nice and warm on a chilly winters night. We also have all our beds Equipped with electric Blankets for the convenience of our guests. . The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay