We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Katoomba accommodations

Blue Mountains YHA

207 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blue Mountains YHA to your Saves list
Blue Mountains YHA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
95%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
RespondstoPromotions Brighton, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (47)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    55
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
48
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not a lot to say other than the room was quite big and the beds were comfortable. The facilities where in good condition and very clean. There is a very comfortable TV room with lots of space to hang out and a large main hall type space off the reception which leads to the (also large) kitchen as well as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great accommodation, close to all the site and some great bushwalks. Rooms good size, bathroom facilities very clean. Kitchen is huge with plenty of fridge storage, great to bring your own food to heat up or cook. Dinning area and lounge area plenty of room, and wood fires to make it nice and comfortable. Reception staff are fantastic, patient and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this hostel. It actually feels more like a hotel - an old English country house at that. There's a very nice lounge (with a fire place, for winter nights, very cosy!), a great terrace and a clean kitchen. I stayed in a double room, impeccably clean. Staff is very friendly, and all sights as well as the railway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great long weekend here with friends. Cosy and warm with big kitchen that never felt too crowded. Plenty of sofas to relax in after spending days exploring various walks. Close to good restaurants - recommend the pizza place at the top of the street (cheap and cheerful). Comfy room and quiet so could sleep in a couple of mornings. Friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointing stay. Decided on the YHA as it was central, had wifi, and pretty cheap. Turns out the wifi costs money and this didnt matter as it was down our whole stay. We had an irate man bang angrily on the door at 10:30pm who introduced himself as the night manager and told us to turn our TV down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback and sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We do ask people to respect other guest's with restricting noise but this should always be a professional, polite request. We will be reviewing all your feedback with the staff member concerned. We have had an issue with our wifi antenna. The external supplier will shortly be... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there for one night. Booked a shared room for 4 but fortunately no one else had booked the room that day. The only problem I faced was wifi, although I paid 5AUD for 24 hours but the wifi connectivity was very bad and I ended up using my phone's data pack.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this review

Hi J_a_y_a_0_j_h_a Thanks for your review and sorry you had WiFi issues. If that ever happens again at a YHA, please just see reception so they can try and help you out. That particular building is very solidly built and it means that there are dead spots in a few rooms. If you were in one of those rooms, we... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Since this hostel opened some 14 or 15 years ago we have gone every single winter and it never disappoints. Staff are great, rooms lovely and cosy especially with ensuites. This year new linen, doonas and tea and coffee facilities and this is a YHA , plus the beds were made up and rooms ready at 12noon, better than a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had a great 1 night stay in this hostel. There is always a risk when staying in a backpackers hostel, but I found this one to be very pleasant. The staff were EXCELLENT and were genuinely interested in making sure I made the most of my short stay in the Blue Mountains. Walking distance to Echo Point, the famous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My friend booked the trip for us to the Blue Mountains. When she said we were staying in a hostel I was slightly nervous. The YHA was great. It was spacious with a massive common room with 2 open fires & bean bags & books for kids. We didn't use the kitchen but it was lovely and big. Our rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I spent 1 night in this YHA with my boyfriend. Unfortunately the weather was bad but this way we enjoyed the hostel even more : there is a (fake) fire in the living room! That gives a very nice atmosphere, and it kept us warm on this cold day. The kitchen is nice, the staff is very available for any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Blue Mountains YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Mountains YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains YHA

Address: 207 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Mountains YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Katoomba with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Mountains YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer