We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Mountains Gday Motel

181 Great Western Hwy, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel amenities
Blue Mountains Gday Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Katoomba
Add Your Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Stayed three nights. Red hop on hop off bus drops and picks up at the door, very handy for me. But the noise. Major highway one side and goods/passenger trains the other. Sleep not possible, despite being pooped, until early morning when traffic from both sides wound down. Very pleasant people, cheap and clean. Can walk to Katoomba, 10 mins.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Had booked (and paid for) three nights, but bailed after one. On the bright side, there was no doubt that the room was clean. Also received a call from one of the staff that evening making sure I had been able to check in and all was ok. However, I couldn't get to sleep till after 4:30 am - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Extremely easy to locate and I really couldn't complain since it was so cheap. It was clean and the towels were adequate but the airconditioner was really noisy. It was interesting that I got my keys through a machine in the afternoon when there was noone in the office. Convenient location to get to the Three Sisters and other sites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broome
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I will admit we were a little surprised to find that this hotel is wedged on a narrow bit of land between the main highway and the train line but our stay was pleasant and we had no complaints. The rooms have double glazing on the windows which overlook the train line and this heavily reduces the noise of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

the motel was indead cheap and there is a reason its right on the main road next to the train line and older than God!!!!! I must say it was clean but the beds are getting to the end of there day and the shower was to a point clean but then it didnt work well there was no hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

It's located right next to the high way! Extremely noisy! Window left open in the toilet by the staff, all the bugs fly in once you turn on the light at night and they are huge! There is no one on site!! It's very insecure at night on the weekday when you can tell you are the only one staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We are located on a highway as are a lot of motels in Australia for convenience and ease of access for motorists. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Staff do leave bathroom windows open an inch to allow fresh air into rooms. Guests are welcome to close windows as desired. Although... More 

Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this motel and the accommodation was extremely clean and the staff were very helpful. Although its along the Highway, it is a convenient location. I visited numerous areas surrounding Katoomba and the motel was easily accessed. I slept ok with the train noise, but I'm a good sleeper. I had a digital television in my room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou Warren for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Blue Mountains G'Day Motel. We endeavour to offer all our guests a pleasant experience. We hope to see you visit again in the future. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked through Wotif.com and needed to cancel the day before as I had a change to work arrangements. They would not allow me to cancel the day before. Not even a partial refund? I was most disappointed as I will be working in the area in coming months but now I will definitely find an alternative accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this review

It is standard industry practice for motels in Australia to have a cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated when booking through an online agency such as Wotif.com. We require minimum 24 hours cancellation notice which we consider reasonable as other motels require 48 hrs to a weeks notice for cancellations or changes to bookings. More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Decided to stay overnight at the Blue Mountains and booked the night before we were going. The location is okay if you have a car, as it is around the corner from the main attractions. However, being on the freeway has its disadvantages. Sandwiched between the railway track and the highway is not great, as the traffic was loud. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

as the other reviewer said, i should have checked the reviews on trip advisor to avoid having unpleasant experience with them. the worst part was that during our 2 night stay the false fire alarm went off every night at 10pm. an extreme loud alarm noise in each room made all the guess waken up and got out from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question