We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Mountains Gday Motel

181 Great Western Hwy, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel amenities
Blue Mountains Gday Motel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    2
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
8
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

It is difficult to know where to start with this place but here goes. It is without doubt the noisiest accommodation I have ever stayed in so if actual sleep is important to you avoid this place. The rooms are situated 10 metres from the Great Western Highway so the lorries hurtling past your front door every few minutes sound... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Check in experience- There was no-one around for check in. The vending style machine for the room keys was broken. I phoned a number found on the reception door and was notified that my room key was in the flower pot! Location- It was on the explorer bus route, however, the bus did not stop for us as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Stayed three nights. Red hop on hop off bus drops and picks up at the door, very handy for me. But the noise. Major highway one side and goods/passenger trains the other. Sleep not possible, despite being pooped, until early morning when traffic from both sides wound down. Very pleasant people, cheap and clean. Can walk to Katoomba, 10 mins.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Had booked (and paid for) three nights, but bailed after one. On the bright side, there was no doubt that the room was clean. Also received a call from one of the staff that evening making sure I had been able to check in and all was ok. However, I couldn't get to sleep till after 4:30 am - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Extremely easy to locate and I really couldn't complain since it was so cheap. It was clean and the towels were adequate but the airconditioner was really noisy. It was interesting that I got my keys through a machine in the afternoon when there was noone in the office. Convenient location to get to the Three Sisters and other sites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I will admit we were a little surprised to find that this hotel is wedged on a narrow bit of land between the main highway and the train line but our stay was pleasant and we had no complaints. The rooms have double glazing on the windows which overlook the train line and this heavily reduces the noise of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

the motel was indead cheap and there is a reason its right on the main road next to the train line and older than God!!!!! I must say it was clean but the beds are getting to the end of there day and the shower was to a point clean but then it didnt work well there was no hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

It's located right next to the high way! Extremely noisy! Window left open in the toilet by the staff, all the bugs fly in once you turn on the light at night and they are huge! There is no one on site!! It's very insecure at night on the weekday when you can tell you are the only one staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We are located on a highway as are a lot of motels in Australia for convenience and ease of access for motorists. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Staff do leave bathroom windows open an inch to allow fresh air into rooms. Guests are welcome to close windows as desired. Although... More 

Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this motel and the accommodation was extremely clean and the staff were very helpful. Although its along the Highway, it is a convenient location. I visited numerous areas surrounding Katoomba and the motel was easily accessed. I slept ok with the train noise, but I'm a good sleeper. I had a digital television in my room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou Warren for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Blue Mountains G'Day Motel. We endeavour to offer all our guests a pleasant experience. We hope to see you visit again in the future. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked through Wotif.com and needed to cancel the day before as I had a change to work arrangements. They would not allow me to cancel the day before. Not even a partial refund? I was most disappointed as I will be working in the area in coming months but now I will definitely find an alternative accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this review

It is standard industry practice for motels in Australia to have a cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated when booking through an online agency such as Wotif.com. We require minimum 24 hours cancellation notice which we consider reasonable as other motels require 48 hrs to a weeks notice for cancellations or changes to bookings. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay