We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 Explorers Motel

Certificate of Excellence
197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
3 Explorers Motel
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    114
    37
    4
    6
See reviews for
85
121
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room very comfortable, great heating, very clean. For the price good value. Need a car if you want to go to town centre. Walking distance to main walking tracks, 3 sisters, echo point etc. stayed 2 nights. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights in 3 Explorers. Room was a decent size for 4, a microwave meant that you could do some cooking in the room (proprietor can supply plates). It is a convenient walking distance from the Three Sisters, which we were lucky to see on a beautiful clear day. Free wifi, helpful proprietor. When it is raining there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location and clean considering other hotel standards in Australia. People don't have many options to stay in Katoomba, unfortunately we picked this one out of the handful that was there. It was clean but that was about it. We paid for two rooms - three guests in one room and two in the other. The first room we paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your friend has encouraged you to also review & agree with her comments, the story seems to be evolving as well, a member of the party did apologise for the individuals rude behaviour which we did accept, we also thanked the individuals first review & she did mention that she would be "encouraging" all members to... More 

Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed over with daughter and grandson. Clean and comfortable, great wifi, plenty of room. Owner provided maps and advice on best times for local activities - very useful! Close enough to attractions to be convenient, but far enough away to be quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We were travelling with our two children, so were looking for accomodation with two bedrooms. Upon researching this motel and then calling and speaking with Chris, the owner and on-site manager, he recommended the two bedroom spa suite. It was exactly as we had hoped for. Simple and clean motel style accomodation which was all we needed as our days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Berlin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Average motel, service poor. The good: Clean Room was better than usual motel, in that only the bathroom was stuck in the 1970s The bad: Service: Booked 2 rooms, off season, on a Sunday night - you'd think they'd be glad of the business. Not so, on check-in got an earful regarding how two separate bookings had been made by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your recent stay at the 3 Explorers Motel & visit to the Blue Mountains, we are very fortunate in the wonderful Guests that visit our Motel, they do appreciate all that the Motel & Blue Mountains offer, unfortunately we do also welcome those very few that have no intention... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

The room was spacious, clean and then bed was comfortable. Helpful information and within walking distance of the 3 Sisters. Great value, the manager was very informative. We didn't have breakfasts at the motel altho available as we like to try different cafes .would recommend this motel in the Blue Mountains

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Very impressed upon arrival. Our room was available for us to check in a little early. Room and bathroom both very clean. Nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. Location was great for being able to start on a number of different walking routes. Very good chocolate shop/cafe across the road. Would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Clean, comfortable and close to the three sisters and walks. Great value for the price, everything you need, no frills motel. Owner is extremely friendly and helpful, couldn't ask for more for the price really. Fast free Wifi as standard here too. Surprisingly you don't get this everywhere in Aus!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Had a lovely stay here. Room was super and had everything we needed including fridge, microwave, kettle etc. The place was spotless and we also ordered breakfast to the room. I would not recommend this as you'll get much nicer elsewhere! As a motel for the blue mountains it was perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities