We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 Explorers Motel

4.0 of 5 197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
3 Explorers Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
3 Explorers Motel
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    98
    31
    2
    6
See reviews for
71
106
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Casino
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having stayed at 3 Explorers prior, I knew that it was great. The actual location in Katoomba is excellent, allowing us to walk to 3 Sisters with ease. Manager is a very obliging man and maintains a high standard for the motel. Very enjoyable stay with 2 grand daughters that we only see 3 to 4 times a year. Great... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again More

Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff were extremely helpful; the place was clean and fresh with the room being checked daily. The bed was very comfortable - all in all an excellent place to stay while we did the "tourist" thing :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at the 3 Explorers Motel. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished and are presented in a clean and tidy manner. The motel is positioned very close to all the Katoomba attractions. The Chinese restaurant named the Canton Palace is located nearby and was enjoyed again on our second visit, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My kids had a shower the night we stayed and complained the hot water ran out quickly and had to wash their hair in freezing cold water. I thought it might be a once off issue until next morning when I had a shower - the hot water lasted 1 minute and then went freezing. The place is a joke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, unfortunately you never raised the problem with reception regarding the problem experienced with the hot water, we have a gas fired system for the hot water & not... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay in Katoomba. Walking distance to Pins on Lurline (Restaurant) and the three sisters. Great advice around places to eat and to get to Scenic World early (which we did to avoid the queues. Will stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again More

Poindimié, New Caledonia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our second visit to the blue mountains we stayed in this Motel a full week with my husband in September. The first opinion on arrival was not too bad considering that the motel is getting old, and the room is not perfectly clean .. but the location is just perfect (few meters of Echo Point). Everything was suppose to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains. The soap holder was part of the fitted tile & by breaking the holder the edge of the remaining piece could easily cut any Guest whilst taking a... More

Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked a room for an overnight stay months ago, and a last minute change of plans.had us extending our stay in Katoomba to 3 days. The only problem was that the room type we had booked originally was not available all three nights so we decided to just change rooms the last night. On our arrival the owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed there over two nights. We found the manager most helpful. He gave us great advice on how to use our time and avoid the crowds. We arrived early but our room was ready and he put the heater on for us to warm up the room. We had a double room and it was fine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a family of 4 we all had to cold showers very disappointing after spending $200. Left a small shopping bag of children clothes still with tags. We were informed by owner that he would not post it. We live 800 klm away. The only way we could get is post and go couriers costing us $68. I asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we did contact you to advise that you had left a bag of clothes which you had totally forgotten about, we advised that you use Pack & Send for all items left by Guests, there was no rudeness on our part, even after your threatening comments relating to what would happen if you had to... More

Singleton, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at 3 Explorers Motel in a "family" room for $275/night which was just an average motel room with small bunk beds in the passage way to the original tiny bathroom. For the amount we paid we were expecting the room to reflect this price point but were extremely disappointed. No bath, dated bathroom with just a toilet and shower.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

We replied to each of your emails, each time you were advised that all your emails & comments had been forwarded for the Owner’s attention & duly noted. The Managers are permanent & not Relief, thank for your comment “You were very informative on checkin with advise etc but isn't that expected at any hotel/motel reception”. We did advise you... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay