We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 Explorers Motel

Certificate of Excellence
197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
3 Explorers Motel
Add Photo

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    118
    114
    37
    4
    6
See reviews for
87
123
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived in the cold pissing down rain to this gem. Had a giggle with the man at the desk who reminded me of my grandad. Gave us great local pointers and map and had already turned on our heat pump!!! Sweetie!!! Room was so warm and welcoming. I think for the price we paid it was worth it. Shower had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fantastic find. Not only is this the cleanest, best presented motel we have stayed at, but the proprietor was by far the most friendly and accommodating business operator. In addition to a very warm welcome and tips on beating the tourist buses to some of the best local attractions, they had also turned on the heater in our... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Maleny, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, daughter and I stayed two nights in this motel. The position is perfect, just a walk down to Echo Point to get the best view of the Three Sisters, a chocolate maker across the road and a walk in the other dircection for dinner. Management are so nice and helpful the room was very comfortable and warm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Pakenham, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location just a short walk to the 3 sisters at eco point. Only a short drive into town but in a very quiet area. The manager was helpful and friendly. we had a ground floor spa suite. quiet nice in size. With a good heater for the colder nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Room very comfortable, great heating, very clean. For the price good value. Need a car if you want to go to town centre. Walking distance to main walking tracks, 3 sisters, echo point etc. stayed 2 nights. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We stayed 3 nights in 3 Explorers. Room was a decent size for 4, a microwave meant that you could do some cooking in the room (proprietor can supply plates). It is a convenient walking distance from the Three Sisters, which we were lucky to see on a beautiful clear day. Free wifi, helpful proprietor. When it is raining there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Good location and clean considering other hotel standards in Australia. People don't have many options to stay in Katoomba, unfortunately we picked this one out of the handful that was there. It was clean but that was about it. We paid for two rooms - three guests in one room and two in the other. The first room we paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your friend has encouraged you to also review & agree with her comments, the story seems to be evolving as well, a member of the party did apologise for the individuals rude behaviour which we did accept, we also thanked the individuals first review & she did mention that she would be "encouraging" all members to... More 

Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Stayed over with daughter and grandson. Clean and comfortable, great wifi, plenty of room. Owner provided maps and advice on best times for local activities - very useful! Close enough to attractions to be convenient, but far enough away to be quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We were travelling with our two children, so were looking for accomodation with two bedrooms. Upon researching this motel and then calling and speaking with Chris, the owner and on-site manager, he recommended the two bedroom spa suite. It was exactly as we had hoped for. Simple and clean motel style accomodation which was all we needed as our days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again. More 

Berlin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Average motel, service poor. The good: Clean Room was better than usual motel, in that only the bathroom was stuck in the 1970s The bad: Service: Booked 2 rooms, off season, on a Sunday night - you'd think they'd be glad of the business. Not so, on check-in got an earful regarding how two separate bookings had been made by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your recent stay at the 3 Explorers Motel & visit to the Blue Mountains, we are very fortunate in the wonderful Guests that visit our Motel, they do appreciate all that the Motel & Blue Mountains offer, unfortunately we do also welcome those very few that have no intention... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay