We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Blue

88 Lurline Street | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Blue
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    26
    20
    20
See reviews for
21
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
pacific palms
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A cold snap in the mountains of Katoomba made me wish for a nice Hotel with a good large fire to snuggle up to, a good meal and be able tog go to my room without having to get in my car. My search was not fruitful until unfortunately the next day when I discovered the Blue Hotel. This Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatswood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite an experience at this quirky old fashioned hotel. Staff are young, enthusiastic, and offer good service. Our room was small and basic, but with a very comfortable bed. The hotel has meandering hallways with very comfortable common areas. Lounge was very nice with live music, the restaurant provided a delicious set menu for our "Murder Mystery Night". A full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of five had a great stay at this quirky little hotel. We visited for 3 nights over Easter 2015, and had a fantastic time. As a special Easter treat there was live music at breakfast, as well as in the afternoons and evenings from wonderful local and national musicians who were a pleasure to listen to. Our younger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was so tired and dirty that after walking up the stairs, past the dust and smoke stained wallpaper (and the green pool didn't go unnoticed) we decided to turn around and drive the 4 hrs home instead of subjecting ourselves to going any further. Despite the fact we had spent $285 to stay and our family was overtired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerHotelBlue, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Mr James, It's such a shame you left without even looking at the room you had booked! We have no doubt that you would have had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, once you'd settled down in your room, and I'm sure you would also have loved hotel's beautiful dining room where you would have enjoyed our fantastic buffet breakfast... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this great little hotel over the Easter Break, the weather was not the best so it was great to have areas in the hotel to sit and relax around the fires, playing chess or cards whilst having a drink and eating good food. The Character and charm was right up our alley which made the stay even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerHotelBlue, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Corey and Matt, Thank you for your lovely compliments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially relaxing in the Lounge with a glass of wine or a game of chess in front of the fireplace. Great to hear that you enjoyed your meals too! We look forward to seeing you next time you come to stay! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love Hotel Blue because of it's charm and character, value for money, and the hot buffet breakfast. The place has a 1920's feel, soft jazz playing in the background, period appropriate art and decor. Think 'Hotel Budapest'. The staff are always helpful and friendly, and while the place itself needs and is having aesthetic work done, you can tell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merimbula, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

By accident we stumbled upon Hotel Blue and had no preconceptions or expectations prior to arrival. We loved the characted decor, the live music, the interesting personalities that we met, the location and the food on the menu. The staff we down to earth and friendly, and the service was friendly and unfussy. We would definitely stay here again. Only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a disappointment! We arrived at the hotel to be told that our room wasn't ready and was still being cleaned. (We were early so that was fine) When we returned we were shown to a tiny FILTHY room that was disgusting. The surfaces were thick with dust, the carpets were dirty and 'bitty', the rolled towels had dirt and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerHotelBlue, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Taylor, We're very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the room that your uncle had booked on your behalf as a gift. Your uncle has stayed at our hotel on past occasions, and thought you would share his appreciation of this historic hotel's old-world character. I realise of course that different people have different tastes and preferences,... More 

Manly, Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We enjoyed our stay & would go back. The hotel is in need of some TLC but we enjoyed the character & old world charm.The staff were quirky too! There is a big lounge room for guests to share with a fireplace, chess, backgammon & a pool table. We were there in Summer so the fireplace wasn't on but would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Friday 6/3/15. After getting through the front door that was ridiculously hard to push open, we were greeted by 2 of the rudest people I have ever met (my Wife was told she could not get the bags out of the car until we check in?). Part of our arranged package included dinner for 2 nights. Friday evening we attended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question