We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Cooma hotels

Marlborough Motor Inn

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   19 Monaro Hwy, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Marlborough Motor Inn to your Saves list
Marlborough Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
51%
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cooma
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
James R Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
17
20
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled Melbourne to Canberra and back staying in 9 different motels and this one was quite ordinary but cost almost 3 times what the others did. We only stayed one night instead of the 4 nights we had planned. Disability access wasn't good. The restaurant was average. The people were friendly. I understand that it was snow season but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for staying with us. You are right in that the building is some 50 years old and was not design for mobility challenged people. We intent to address this in our next renovation. Our Restaurant provides wholesome meals and have received excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. The peak season rates on average increase by 30/55%. For our... More

Kin Kin, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Management and staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing is a problem. The rooms are very comfortable. Location is perfect for those commuting to and from the snow. Restaurant meals are excellent. We have stayed at Marlborough Motor Inn many times and will always come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I will pass on your feedback to our staff. Look forward to hosting you again. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Don't normally do reviews but will make an exception just for this one- in the negative way. Would honestly avoid here at all costs. Was treated with the worst possible service. Management/reception were so rude and honestly - after reading similar 'terrible' reviews; I find it laughable that this manager always seems to have an excuse for the motel's poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Marlborough M, Owner at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Revenge of the Ninja. Having read the review it was not difficult to work out who the "customer" was. Definelypaddle you are Wrong. You did not stay at the motel. You cancelled without adequate notice or valid reason. You threatened legal action and we refused to comply. You have tried to assassinate our reputation behind a pseudonym like a ninja.... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Helped us out with an extra person and extra night. Comfortable rooms and great heating. Good location in Cooma. Dinner is the restaurant was good value. Easy to find and handy parking. Will stay again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Will pass on your comments to our Chef. More

Toronto, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived around 9pm , the managers were friendly and accomodating. Room decor is dated but everything was clean and well presented. Room heating was comfortable. Will be staying again when passing through Cooma.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Sam. I will pass on your compliments to our housekeeping staff. More

Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to access the snow rather than pay the higher prices at the resorts. Just over one hour to perisher. As expected the price was double what I would normally be prepared to pay due to the ski season. Had a main room with a smaller bedroom which was fine for two adults and three kids. Central heating was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Our $100,000 investment in the new bedding, heating and WiFi is paying off. There is always ongoing maintenance particularly in busy times. I apologise that we did not get everything right. Hope to see you again. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Was impressed with the amenities and the parking right outside our door was a blessing. Separate toilet/shower and sink area are great for getting numerous people ready in a hurry. Room heating was great and the beds were very comfortable, had a great night's sleep. The guy on the front desk was extremely helpful and we had a great stay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you David, See you again. More

Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

One of my friends works for a Chinese government organisation which recently did a study on Chinese tourism to Australia. One of its findings was that Chinese tourists who visit friends and family here come again and again. They love it: there's so much to do here, and people are friendly, and the food's brilliant, and there's a lot to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bruce,Thank you for taking time to put your research to paper. I have lived in this country for 25 years and found Australians to be friendly and easy going people. I now consider myself an Australian too. I have also travelled to China, Thailand, Vietnam Japan and other counties. The accommodation has been from opulent to very ordinary. Hotels... More

Churchill, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A very happy stay with a very cordial staff who made us very welcome. The room and bed was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The room had good heating, had very adequate tea making and shower facilities. The dining room offered excellently cooked meals and served a very yummy breakfast. Room service was also available. Would highly recommend this motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlborough M, Owner at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Isabel, Thank you for your review. Look forward to your next visit. We have just introduced Internet TV in our Deluxe rooms. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Lovely hotel with welcoming management. . .they make you feel welcome. . Not just another motel. Comfortable rooms with free wifi and good room heating for winter. Thanks for the hospitality.. Good clean rooms. . Showers good..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlborough M, Owner at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Robert, I will pass on your comments to the rest of my team. We have also introduced Internet TV in our Deluxe rooms so you can surf the net on your TV or watch movies. See you again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Marlborough Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Marlborough Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Motor Inn

Address: 19 Monaro Hwy, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlborough Motor Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marlborough Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cooma
Cooma Best Western

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cooma with
any amenities