We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marlborough Motor Inn

3.5 of 5 19 Monaro Hwy, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlborough Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Marlborough Motor Inn
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    14
    12
    11
See reviews for
19
21
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an older hotel and quite dated on the outside. Even though the rooms could use a paint and the bathroom is small the actual room is huge as is the king size bed! Normal pillows and memory foam pillows are provided. There is a restaurant on site and they do room service as well. Both Australian and Indian... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just had an overnight stay at the Marlborough Motor in on my way to Perisher valley. I couldn't get into our accommodation in Perisher till a day later than expected and since I was already nearby, had to stay the night in Cooma.It was a Saturday night and as I was travelling with my son, I didn't want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

It would appear that American Express has been very economic with truth with you. Mastercard and Visa card charge from 1% on Standard card to 2.8% on premium cards. Amex charges its merchants anything from 5% to 3.5%. They now charge this motel 3.5%. Most small business refuse to accept Amex because of the unreasonable fees. Customers on the other... More

Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had never stayed here on previous trips to Cooma but that will now change. I received a warm welcome on arrival and meals were excellent. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for years and the room had everything you need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Marlborough. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to my team. See you again in future. More

Te Puia Springs, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Excellent, friendly service from the management and staff of the Marlborough Motor Inn. Even when booking from overseas and arriving late, everything is arranged to the highest standard, room pre-heated and set up to welcome a weary traveller. Comfortable beds, well arranged lay-out and a great shower make this Motel easy to recommend, and despite being one of the older... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us Danny. Our Kiwi cousins are welcome any time. We you again Chandra More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This hotel is neat & tidy, warm, & comfortable enough for an overnight stay. It's quite an old hotel but everything still works and the rooms are warm. The food in the restaurant was quite good and the service was very friendly. Bed was comfortable and although the TV was small it has some good options to watch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our staff take great pride in keeping the motel clean and tidy. Upgrading is a work in progress. See you again. More

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We travelled Melbourne to Canberra and back staying in 9 different motels and this one was quite ordinary but cost almost 3 times what the others did. We only stayed one night instead of the 4 nights we had planned. Disability access wasn't good. The restaurant was average. The people were friendly. I understand that it was snow season but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for staying with us. You are right in that the building is some 50 years old and was not design for mobility challenged people. We intent to address this in our next renovation. Our Restaurant provides wholesome meals and have received excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. The peak season rates on average increase by 30/55%. For our... More

Kin Kin, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Management and staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing is a problem. The rooms are very comfortable. Location is perfect for those commuting to and from the snow. Restaurant meals are excellent. We have stayed at Marlborough Motor Inn many times and will always come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I will pass on your feedback to our staff. Look forward to hosting you again. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Don't normally do reviews but will make an exception just for this one- in the negative way. Would honestly avoid here at all costs. Was treated with the worst possible service. Management/reception were so rude and honestly - after reading similar 'terrible' reviews; I find it laughable that this manager always seems to have an excuse for the motel's poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Marlborough M, Owner at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Revenge of the Ninja. Having read the review it was not difficult to work out who the "customer" was. Definelypaddle you are Wrong. You did not stay at the motel. You cancelled without adequate notice or valid reason. You threatened legal action and we refused to comply. You have tried to assassinate our reputation behind a pseudonym like a ninja.... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Helped us out with an extra person and extra night. Comfortable rooms and great heating. Good location in Cooma. Dinner is the restaurant was good value. Easy to find and handy parking. Will stay again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Will pass on your comments to our Chef. More

Toronto, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived around 9pm , the managers were friendly and accomodating. Room decor is dated but everything was clean and well presented. Room heating was comfortable. Will be staying again when passing through Cooma.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough M, Manager at Marlborough Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Sam. I will pass on your compliments to our housekeeping staff. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Marlborough Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Motor Inn

Address: 19 Monaro Hwy, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlborough Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marlborough Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cooma
Cooma Best Western

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay