We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Cooma B&Bs / inns

Sovereign Inn Cooma

35 Sharp Street, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sovereign Inn Cooma to your Saves list
Sovereign Inn Cooma
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #5 of 8 Cooma B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Rodney S Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The accommodation was clean and adequate, although the TV could have been a bit larger as it was hard to see clearly from the bed. We did not use the restaurant but the Sovereign Inn is conveniently located in the main street at the north end of Cooma. Shower was excellent and as the rooms are off the road there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on recent motoring holiday and was not impressed. The room we had was little more than an old sleep out from years gone by. Although clean, it was dated and in relatively poor condition. The attitude of management when we booked in left much to be desired and we felt that we were disturbing their day. The motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Manager at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our Reception opens at 7am. Our check-in time is 2pm, although we are flexible on this if the room is available earlier. This of course, depends on a number of factors, such as late check-puts and high occupancy. As with the majority of motels in Cooma, we are an older motel and despite soft refurbishments,... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I ordered a deluxe queen. We got a shoebox! The bed certainly did not feel like a queen we had barely any room to move and was hard as a rock. The electric blanket still on the bed in summer did not help either. Two terrible nights sleep were had. Luckily we were so exhausted from riding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The vanity is outside the bathroom in this particular unit. We will certainly investigate the points you have mentioned in regard to the bedding. More

Saeby, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Sovereign Inn offered quite small and dated rooms, and the breakfast is an extra cost. Wifi was very insecure and not really functional in the room, but worked in the breakfast restaurant. An extra wifi distributor on the premises more would be highly welcomed by future customers. (I'm not likely to be one though.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As explained on check in - yes, breakfast is an additional cost. Breakfast is served in the restaurant 7 days a week and you have a choice of continental or cooked. Unfortunately, you did not take the opportunity to advise us that the Wi-Fi was slow when you connected. We would have been able to... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I recently spent a couple nights at this hotel and can highly recommend it. The managers were very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were very clean and the food was a real treat. I was very happy with the service provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Thank you Anne P for your review. As owners we do spot checks on our motels - arriving without notice - and I was there on 16 February. Having conducted room and property inspections, it was pleasing it see that, as usual, Sovereign Inn Cooma was highly rated for cleanliness and service. The only downside was the high temperatures!!. We... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Thanks so much for having us again during the school holidays, it was so nice to be back in Cooma for a break and the Staff at Sovereign Inn were welcoming & remembered us from last time. Definitely recommend this place as it's clean, quiet and secure. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Dear Heathercollins Our return guests are a very important part of our business and we look forward to seeing you yet again in Cooma More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I were very happy with the professional attitude of the managers. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very enjoyable will be coming back thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Dear Kathy A Thank you for your review - glad we meet all your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back.to Cooma More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I elected to stay in Cooma on the way home from Melbourne. From the outset, the owners were very proactive, as they were good enough to contact me and help with my trailer parking adjacent the booked room. When I arrived I was greeted cordially and made to feel very welcome. Room was clean and tidy. Bed was very comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Dear Liamo41 Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We do have nice quiet rooms, away from the road - glad you didn't have to use the earplugs. Look forward to welcoming you back. More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at the Sovereign Inn in Cooma just after Christmas. The room was very clean and quiet and the welcome on arrival warm and friendly. The motel is an older style place and is a bit tired looking. I also found the bed a bit too hard for my preference. However, this motel is clean and tidy and has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and as you say we ideally located in the town. Cooma is one of those great old country towns, with most motels being built about 30-40 years ago. We refurbish continually and pride ourselves on the cleanliness and comfort of our motel. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very basic room. Bathroom smelt of mould, always had to keep the door closed cause the smell over whelmed the bedroom. Back of the bathroom door had scratches as if some one had locked their small dog in there. But the worst thing of all is, I went to make a cup if coffee only to find that the inside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Cooma, responded to this review

Dear Krisy64 We have left messages asking you to contact us re your review as the feedback we have had from those travelling with you indicates it was actually the element in the kettle that was discoloured due to age, not mould in a coffee cup. Please send us the photo that you mention so that we may correct any... More

Been to Sovereign Inn Cooma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Inn Cooma

Address: 35 Sharp Street, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cooma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sovereign Inn Cooma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Inn Cooma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.