We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portside Whitsunday

4.5 of 5 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
#7 of 47 hotels in Airlie Beach
117 Reviews 4.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portside Whitsunday
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Portside Whitsunday
  • Overview
  • Reviews (117)
  • Photos (57)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Portside Whitsunday to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    15
    2
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Such a great position, particularly if you don't have a car while staying here. Great kitchen, Bosch cooktop, oven, dishwasher. Best of all though was the amazing king size bed. So comfortable, we slept really well the whole time. Also had a lovely afternoon by the pool and in the spa. We would not consider staying anywhere else if we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great views, clean, and comfortable. The Managers very helpful and accommodating. Very handy to local shops and restaurants. The only negative was the traffic - couldn't leave the windows open at night due to the noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port augusta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked the penthouse - sleeps 8. Had a wonderful week and the accommodation was very clean, everything u need n great views. Very close to restaurants, shopping and cruise departures. Lots of resorts are located up a hill, but not the portside. Only negative was the lap pool not heated and a problem with the spa. Hosts colleen n John... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We moved to Portside as we had such a bad experience on our first night in Airlie staying at Boathaven Spa next door. Colleen rescued us and made us so so welcoming restoring our faith in Airlie Beach & customer service. The Apartment was huge, beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. Brilliant and i can highly recommend Portside both for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you all and thoroughly enjoyed your company. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and Rob has found some more sun loungers to snooze on LOL. Look forward to catching up again, whether it be on your side of the world or ours. Best wishes... More

Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

These apartments are outstanding. We had a 2 bedroom with roof terrace spa and you could not have asked for a nicer or well equipped base in Airlie Beach. The mgmt team are brilliant, so nice helping us out with restaurant recommendations and organising whitsunday tours. Location is spot on, straight 3 mins walk into centre of town and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Portside as I know how much you were looking forward to your visit :-). So very sorry I didn't get the opportunity to say Good-Bye. I hope you all enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Australia and would love to welcome you and your lovely family back to Portside again in... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you want to be a hop skip and a jump away from the main street of airlie beach (with no hills to climb but still great views) then I would highly recommend this terrific resort. You are literally just a few steps away from all the main restaurants and shops. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Portside. Yes, it is lovely being so close to the heart of Airlie Beach and I do agree - the rooftop Jacuzzi apartments are wonderful ! Was lovely meeting you both and I hope we have the pleasure of your company again. More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time! The apartment was cosy and comfortable and we splashed out and went for the rooftop spa and BBQ which was perfect. Location is great, just down the road from the main strip, overlooking the beautiful marina. Colleen was very helpful and so welcoming, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thrilled you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us at Portside and look forward to your return visit :-) More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in 3 bedroom apartment. Well appointed, clean, fabulous views and easy access to Airlie Beach. Colleen & John, the managers went out of their way to ensure we had everything and provided us with all the info we required. Despite Cyclone Ita and a power cut we were well looked after. We would not hesitate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! Was wonderful meeting you, your family and your amasing Mum - what an absolute gem. I was so pleased the weather cleared and you got to see a little of the Whitsundays. We look forward being able to assist you again - less the cyclone :-) More

queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Spent two weeks here while working in Airlie Beach. Location on a busy road meant sleeping was difficult and not helped by noisy air conditioning and fans that didn't work on low settings. Maybe higher apartments were better??? but the apartment I was given was ground floor and looked out on a pad mounted electricity substation with a small glimpse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Sorry you had such a horrific stay at Portside Greg. I did notify your employer (my friend) on the day of your arrival, when you were unhappy with not being higher up in the building- which I did explain to you at the time, was all fully booked. I suggested that she may need to find alterative accommodation, as we... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed her for 6 nights and despite the bad weather we enjoyed ourselves. The location was great as it was not dead in the centre of Airlie beach but not too far out. We had a few tours cancelled as the weather was pretty bad but enjoyed staying indoors with the use of the rooftop jacuzzi. The bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

So pleased you found positives during your stay with us during such bad weather Mick ! It was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to your return visit - when I will personally send a message up above and request the beautiful sunny weather Airlie Beach is known for :-) More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Portside Whitsunday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Portside Whitsunday 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Airlie Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portside Whitsunday staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer