We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portside Whitsunday

4.5 of 5 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portside Whitsunday
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Portside Whitsunday
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    17
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
36
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a wonderful place to stay for a number of reasons. The proprietors, Coleen and John, were very welcoming and professional. The apartment we stayed in was clean and very well appointed. We had a spacious kitchen / dining area and a comfortable bedroom. The roof terrace had a personal jacuzzi and wonderful views over Airley Beach and marina.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and I so enjoyed our chats. I am very sorry that town was so busy and we couldn't get you out on the water to experience more of the Whitsundays. Maybe we will see you for your Birthday Jacinta ???? Would love the opportunity to catch... More

Tuggerah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments and had the second room and bathroom locked up as it was just the two of us. Great service from Colleen, the room was nice and had a great view of the port and the coral sea. Awesome pool that had a deep section that resort pools don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Portside and we were more than happy to help you out when you left your USB behind. I do hope we have the pleasure of your company again. Cheers! Colleen More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly service.The location was perfect.We had an enjoyable week there.Our apartment was comfortable and had everthing we needed.Would reccomend Portside Whitsunday to family & friends.Airlie Beach is just a stone throw from the Islands.Great snorkelling , Easy access to the ferry. it's just across the road from The Portside Whitsunday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a week at the begining of October with our 3 adult daughters plus 1 boyfriend. Great apartment with plenty of room for all 6 of us. Fantastic views from the very large balcony which had a spa bath on it , also a BBQ . The location is great , an easy walk to all there is in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay! Loved meeting you all and seeing you enjoy so many of the lovely sights Whitsundays has to offer - Croc Safari, Whitehaven Xpress and Charlie and Scott doing the Reef Adventure flight ... Awesome! We do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you all on a return visit. Best Wishes from the team... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

Friendly service, good location, nice view, decent beds but unfortunately thathat is all that is luxury about this hotel. The floors were sticky, in 1 bathroom the fan didn't turn off and made a constant load noise, the loungeroom area is massise but no decent lounge to go with it...the decor is anything but luxiourious...needs updating for sure! There is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. So pleased you enjoyed Portsides' excellent location and views from your apartment. Yes, the new king beds are very popular with our guests. I do wish you had informed us of the sticky floors and we would have re-cleaned them for you. Our bathroom fans are on a dual switch... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We had a lovely week in Airlie Beach staying at Portside. Fantastic location, undercover parking, nice views, comfortable beds, plenty of space, nice pool area and all our requests were happily met, no fuss. The only negatives were my noisy kids (haha)!! Hope to visit again. Alicia and Nick :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay at Portside :-) Never heard a peep from your children, they were great! I do hope we can welcome you all back for another holiday in the beautiful Whitsundays. More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights as a base for exploring the Whitsundays and enjoyed our stay. The location of the apartments is excellent, only a short walk to the beach, lagoon, and main streets. Colleen provided fantastic assistance and information regarding tours and local amenities. The apartment was very well equipped (we did notice a few ants in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Portside. Yes we are situated in an ideal location and yes... I too have noticed since the weather has warmed up, that there are a few ants around. The apartment s and common areas and being treated by our Pest control company this week. I am sorry for the... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Our family stayed here for our holiday. The service was fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Colleen and John were only to happy to assist us with anything we needed. The room was modern, clean and very roomy. Close to Main Street for shopping and tours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

It has been an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay Megan. What beautiful natured children and such amasing manners ! We are very pleased you have enjoyed your holiday at Portside and hope to welcome you back for another visit in the future. More

Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Stayed here late August, it was perfect. Private sun deck with spa/jacuzzi. Weather was awesome, apartment was just the right size for us, with everything we could possibly need. Even though there were quite a few steps, it meant that we had earned our beers on the balcony at sunset. This was booked via bookings.com - never again, they took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Wonderful that you enjoyed your stay at Portside, and fantastic that Sarah looked after you so well in our absence. I do hope we get to meet you on a return visit :-) More

Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Such a great position, particularly if you don't have a car while staying here. Great kitchen, Bosch cooktop, oven, dishwasher. Best of all though was the amazing king size bed. So comfortable, we slept really well the whole time. Also had a lovely afternoon by the pool and in the spa. We would not consider staying anywhere else if we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for the taking the time and writing such lovely things :-) We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope next time you can stay longer! It is always a pleasure assisting such nice guests. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Portside Whitsunday 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay