We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Airlie Beach accommodations

Magnums Backpackers

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Magnums Backpackers to your Saves list
Magnums Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
48%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
JamesMahy Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    45
    19
    48
See reviews for
1
58
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at Magnums and was kept awake the first night by the noise from the bar. Moved to a room at the back and was told it was quiet there. Second night I was kept awake by people sitting in the No Alcohol allowed quiet zone. A group of noisy drunk people fighting kept me awake all night. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location right in the heart of airlie beach, busy kitchen area but we also used the second smaller kitchen. Located right near solid and the free parking is 10minutes walk away from the accommodation. Helpful staff in booking tours. Rooms do tend to smell abit funny when left all day and need to be aired out (too much wood?).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Magnums and our staff were able to book your Whitsundays adventure. See you again soon! More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first experience staying at a backpackers. We had a private shared room which was great and the toilet wasn't shared by many rooms on our block. Lovely grounds with lots of flora. Bar at the front of the accommodation with great live music. Absolute central location. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! It really is a wonderful spot right in the heart of Airlie. Gglad you enjoyed the tropical gardens - we love them too! Hope to see you again. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent two nights at Magnums and didn't sleep too well, it was noisy and cold in the rooms. Next to the hostel is a nightclub, so you can just imagine the soundlevel.. The free wifi didn't work too well either, every now and then it switched of for 10 to 15 minutes. Anyway, I think a 8 person dorm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is an unusual one as the noise from the nightclub is not what you heard as the building is totally sound attenuated. The boardwalk music must stop by 10 pm, so maybe this is what you heard? The air-con is nice and cool, most of our guests are very grateful for it! We will... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were incorrectly informed that we would be able phone security when we arrived to do a late check-in as our bus arrived in Airlie at 12pm. Security put us into a dirty room with no bedding and a cold shower. We weren't able to sleep as we were so cold and then couldn't use the shower to warm up.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Reviewer and thank you for your feedback. We will not make excuses for your poor experience - however we can assure you there were many misunderstandings along the way by both parties. Please accept our sincere apologies. We do have a formal procedure when dealing with guests concerns - it is a genuine shame that this route was not... More

Como
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Situated in the main street of the centre, close to the Woolworths supermarket, the camping is well organized in different groups of buildings. Clean bathroom and toilet every 3 private bedrooms and single dormitory bungalows with en suite bathroom. Well-equipped kitchen and open air free wifi area, good to meet new people and chat! There's also a laundry area in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Magnums. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were at Magnums bar tonight. We just got a drink ... maybe we sat for a few minutes, with full drinks. I asked the bar keeper if they have WIFI and just in this moment, when I turned, UNFORTUNATELY my glas tilt over. The barkeeper SAW, that I had a full glass, so I kindly asked, if I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavleborg County, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lively hotel right on the main street of Airlie Beach, close to everything. ok accommodations, but the noise level is high and the toilets and the showers could have been better. Keep in mind that no towels are included in the price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Magnums is committed to keeping our prices competitive in Airlie Beach and choose not to include towels, etc. in our rates to minimise costs to our guests that do not require these services. We charge a small $3 hire fee for towels for guests requiring this service. More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place is just brilliant. We had heard that it was a great place to stay but it's not until you arrive that you really appreciate it. Despite the quite frankly rubbish receptionists who took 10 minutes to even acknowledge we were standing in front of them, the rest of the experience (4 nights) was outstanding. We were put into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Magnums. We are quite surprised by your review of our front office reception staff. Magnums has a strict "7 second" rule and ensure that all our guests are greeted on entry into reception - we apologise if you felt you were not made to feel welcome on... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place was awesome for any traveller it's won many awards for travellers and I can see why ! It's newly renovated rooms /cabins are more like holiday homes in a man made jungle it's so pretty . There is enough distance from all the room a to the club that there is hardly any noise at all . The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Magnums. Please come back again if you are ever back in Airlie Beach - we would love to have you stay with us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Magnums Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnums Backpackers 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Airlie Beach with
any amenities