We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnums Backpackers

3.5 of 5 366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Magnums Backpackers
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    51
    20
    53
See reviews for
1
67
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recently stayed at Magnums with a friend in a private twin room. While we found the room to be incredibly small it was perfect for what we wanted it for :) Great location, great atmosphere. Would definitely stay again! Only downside is communal toilet/shower, would have been nice to have one in the room but that's what you get for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here in a private double with shared bathroom for three nights. The cabin itself was pretty however smelt of damp. The air con was very good and there was a fan in the room as well as a fridge and kettle and cutlery. I, personally didn't like the bathrooms at all. Both the toilet and shower cubicles were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very good hostel which has everything you would need. I cannot comment on the dorm-experience as we stayed in a private twin-room (excellent value), but the hostel is very good. The wifi didn't work very well in the common area for us- I think due to too many people using it- but that's a minor complaint. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Frank L, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience, we are pretty proud of Magnums so it is always lovely to hear great feedback! Let me know when you are heading back to see us, I would love to say hi! More 

Aigle, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice backpacker in Airlie Beach. Really close to the town and the lagun. The room was clean and confortable. Free barbecue place, nice kitchen and free wifi as weel. The staff is OK and you have a pub-restaurant inside the backpacker. The only bad things, you have to pay the luggage store. But in general very nice hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Zoran D Thank you for staying and sharing your thoughts, I can assure you we are the cheapest luggage storage facility in town – hope that helps ease the pain a little! We sincerely wish you safe and happy onward travels. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel surprised me cause it has a perfect location, since is near to the super market, in front of the lagoon and in the street of all the night clubs. Beside that, the hostel has live music every single day and a very good atmosphere. Everybody goes there to have some drinks, so it's very easy to make new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Yngrid C Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we tend to agree about the lack of a shuttle, recently the bus stop was moved further out of town, even tho we are almost the closest backpackers it is still a 12 minute walk but leave it with us, if we can –... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did choose to go Magnums hostel co my friend had and cheap offer there. Well, even her travel company did promise that it includes two persons, the hostel didn't gave me this offer. So I payed normal price, which was still quite cheap. We were staying in 8 person mixed dorm two nights. Well when you stay in hostels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we actually do not recognise this as being us tho’? All our rooms have a separate area for each guest to store their belongings, we do not have shelves in the rooms or a huge shelves in any common area, we do provide free security storage in reception... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was dirty and appeared to have not being swept at all. massive cockroaches and room was full of ants. would be showering for a minute and the water would be running out of the drain in the bathroom flooding the whole bathroom and 8 person dorm. overall it was a terrible stay and the worst desicion of my life... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you possom03, We recall you staying with us and understand that you must be feeling a little aggrieved with Magnums after your stay because of the incident you were involved in. We always try to resolve any situation to both parties satisfaction, in this case you have chosen to post this review as a result of you being charged... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in a double room. The air con was amazing and much needed. Fridge in the room was also a bonus. The lack of pool is saved by the gorgeous lagoon over the road. The pub and night club is great, good and very cheap prices! Woolworths is next door and the kitchen is clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you GeorgieMoloney25, We would love to have you stay again, next time drop me a note before you come and I will organise you a great deal – Tara. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Environment: Like the environment which makes u feel like u are in the rain forest. Location : It's pretty convenient to go everywhere cuz it's just located in the main street. Public area : Public kitchen is fine and could meet some nice backpackers there. Price : totally reasonable (shared room has its own toilet!) Hospitality : What's important is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us some feedback, we agree - It is all about the staff and we will continue to strive to be the best – currently we are all scheduled to head off for a top up on our customer service skills! We wish you safe and happy onward travels and hope you ‘come... More 

geroge4982
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed here for a night before heading off to the Whitsundays and had a great time. We were in a two bed dorm (which we were surprised didn't have a ensuite) however it was right next door and exceptionally clean at all times. The atmosphere was nice and with the air conditioner the room stayed cool and I slept well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you geroge4982 , Of course we are thrilled that your stay with us was almost excellent, your poor service from one of our team members is absolutely unacceptable – you can be assured this will be dealt with. We are sincerely very grateful for your feedback and we wish you a happy and safe onward journey. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnums Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay