We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Airlie Beach accommodations

Magnums Backpackers

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Magnums Backpackers to your Saves list
Magnums Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
48%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Alicenuala1 Noosa, Australia
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    37
    19
    46
See reviews for
1
50
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I loved this hostel. Everyone was very friendly, the bar was very nice and chilled out with live music every night. Free wifi in a communal area made it very easy to meet lots of people. Staff weren't particularly helpful with tours though. Rooms were very large, bathrooms had a very good shower and there were shelves in the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a twin single room with a friend, great location surrounded by rainforest, Cheap and simple rooms with all clean sheets and good air con. Great location and a fun place to stay for a few nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We wish you safe and happy onward travels. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Magnums for two nights, before and after our Whitsundays sailing trip. Both nights were terrible. On both nights we had booked private rooms. The rooms are really dated, unclean and infested with ants. Also, the front desk staff were rude and unhelpful. Please avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we genuinely appreciate all feedback. We, like all properties in the tropics, have the odd insect and certainly ants are some of our visitors! I would disagree in relation to your comment of ‘infested’ but fully understand that insects are ‘new’ to a lot of travellers. We have a dedicated page on our website... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! Backpacking in style or just a weekend away (as we did) this place is in best location of town and surrounded by rainforest. A very cheap price too. The girls in reception were very helpful and the crowd they attract are happy open minded backpackers. We'll be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you “beautiful’ reviewer”! So glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise - we look forward to hosting you again. More

Herning Municipality, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, ensure bathrooms in the 8 person cabins. Relatively clean, a little old - a little noisy in the evening. Close to everything, beach walk is just on the other side of the road, about 10 minutes walk to the coach terminal and close to the supermarket, free wifi but only in a very small area between the rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you reviewer! We agree we are “a pretty decent place”. We are pretty proud of our tropical surrounds - we reckon that’s what people should experience when they visit the tropics. One thing I can tell you, there is plenty to do!! Please feel free to check out the website - it is really comprehensive and covers all the... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Magnums is in a great location, central in Airlie Beach. We checked in after booking a Whitsundays Tour with Wicked Travel who are the worst people i have ever dealt with! Unfortunately for us, Wicked Travel failed to tell us about the cyclone and booked out trip anyway! Luckily the reception staff were really nice and advised us to leave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry your experience was not great - we would love things to have been better for you. In relation to the refund policy I think you may have misunderstood - we always have and always will refund in the event of an official cyclone warning as guest comfort and safety are our absolute priority. We... More

South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at magnums in a twin room for 5 nights. The hostel is very central and well located, everything you could need is in a 5-10 minute walk. The room was small (but to be expected for the price you pay) we were located quite far back from the bar so didn't hear any noise etc during the night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our resort value for money. We have 24/7 security that can be contacted any time you have an issue with noise or "partying" after reception is closed to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay. We are constantly working closely with our security team to help educate our guests on... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Backpakers Hostel is cool, stayed there 3 nights. Good facilities, clean, great WiFi area, that lets you meet with fellow travellers, BUT beware of the bar! We saw one of the security guards (bald headed guy with dark beard) slip something in some girls drink! Seriously, would not drink anything at that bar anymore!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Magnums Backpackers is glad we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed the great facilities. Magnums Backpackers and Magnums Hotel are owned and operated by two separate companies (totally unrelated) - we have copied your concern about the Bar Security on to both Magnums Hotel and their Security company. We advise you to follow... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Though the location is good, the cleanliness of Magnums leaves a lot to be desired. There were bed bugs in all beds in my room and staff were unwilling to help and unpleasant when asked. I do not recommend staying here unless you want to spend the next day hot washing all your clothes to get the bugs out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You did not mention the date of your stay or your room number and we believe you may have heard of this but possibly not experienced this problem? We can assure you that bed bugs have nothing to do with cleanliness - in fact they love a good clean bed! We are of course saddened... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Magnums was great fun, so easy to make friends there. Found I spend a lot of money at the bar since that is where everyone went. Great location in Airlie Beach. Rooms are away from the bar so could sleep welll.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our resort "highly enjoyable". More

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Specialty lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnums Backpackers 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnums Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.