We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    57
    121
    73
    39
    34
See reviews for
6
76
80
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (324)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Pune
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights in a private double room at Nomads in August. The place was clean and well maintained and the location was perfect. Just minutes from all the restaurants and shops, if you are looking for clean, non-luxury accommodation in Airlie Beach, this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an amazing stay at Nomads. Rooms were clean and spacious. Had a great time at the Shed Bar on site, as well as the afternoon pool party. Perfectly located in the centre of the Airlie Beach strip. For all your travel needs, go see Chelsea at the travel desk. Shes incredibly knowledgeable / organized, and what a babe!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All the staff here were extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel was also in a perfect location and extremely clean. The bar and pool on site are great additions. One of my favourite nomads hostels throughout the whole east Coast trip. Stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nomads and XBase have merged into the same hostel so it's now more like a big resort which is great as there is swimming pools, volleyball courts and bbqs in the grounds as well as a bar! Communal area was a disappointment and not somewhere you would want to hang out which made socialising with other guests hard and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in a private room for a few days and our stay was really great. The room was really big and quite clean. You can ask for anything you need for the kitchen at the reception (with a deposit) and there's free wifi at the reception (you have to ask for the password everyday). The staff is very friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Merging with xbase, they lost our private double booking, so after a good long wait they have us a dorm to ourselves. Clean spacious nice separate buildings for 8. Next door had some huge commotion at 800 and they did not hesitate to scream and shout. Also it was a cold snap in July where the nighttime temperature was probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The one and only good thing about this hostel was the room which was actually pretty nice, one of the better ones I've stayed in. However everything else is a pathetic shambles that I can only hope to forget. Starting from the beginning, after calling to confirm our out of hours arrival time the guy was moody on the phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Sparce but adequate and clean family room- plus was it is right opposite the lagoon. Free wifi in reception and very cheap for airlie. Lady at tour booking desk was great. We had no problem with noise. Nice staff and my teenager enjoyed the vibe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Rooms Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you can come and stay again. Enjoy the rest of your travels Thanks Jenna More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Filthy amenities block-and I mean filthy!A strong chance you'd catch something nasty in there. Incredibly noisy-All night long from street bars. I foolishly stayed here because of its location at the end of the Main Street and that it was running at a low occupancy during the day - big mistake! Overall the worst I have stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin K, Rooms Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello I am really disappointed to hear that you found the standard of cleanliness so low during your stay. I can assure you this is not the kind of feedback we receive. I have passed on your review to housekeeping and maintenance and have personally followed up on this. I hope that although you did not enjoy your stay with... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

This hostel has nice spacious rooms with air conditioning. The bathrooms and showers are clean and modern. The kitchen is its own building and depending on what room you get could be a bit of a walk, it's also kind of annoying that you have to get crockery/cutlery from reception. Great location, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Rooms Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the great location. Hopefully you can come and stay again soon. Thanks Jenna More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#18 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
#31 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#33 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#40 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay