We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
rtsvg victoria, bc
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    119
    72
    39
    34
See reviews for
6
73
79
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (318)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Merging with xbase, they lost our private double booking, so after a good long wait they have us a dorm to ourselves. Clean spacious nice separate buildings for 8. Next door had some huge commotion at 800 and they did not hesitate to scream and shout. Also it was a cold snap in July where the nighttime temperature was probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The one and only good thing about this hostel was the room which was actually pretty nice, one of the better ones I've stayed in. However everything else is a pathetic shambles that I can only hope to forget. Starting from the beginning, after calling to confirm our out of hours arrival time the guy was moody on the phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sparce but adequate and clean family room- plus was it is right opposite the lagoon. Free wifi in reception and very cheap for airlie. Lady at tour booking desk was great. We had no problem with noise. Nice staff and my teenager enjoyed the vibe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Rooms Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you can come and stay again. Enjoy the rest of your travels Thanks Jenna More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Filthy amenities block-and I mean filthy!A strong chance you'd catch something nasty in there. Incredibly noisy-All night long from street bars. I foolishly stayed here because of its location at the end of the Main Street and that it was running at a low occupancy during the day - big mistake! Overall the worst I have stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Rooms Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello I am really disappointed to hear that you found the standard of cleanliness so low during your stay. I can assure you this is not the kind of feedback we receive. I have passed on your review to housekeeping and maintenance and have personally followed up on this. I hope that although you did not enjoy your stay with... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

This hostel has nice spacious rooms with air conditioning. The bathrooms and showers are clean and modern. The kitchen is its own building and depending on what room you get could be a bit of a walk, it's also kind of annoying that you have to get crockery/cutlery from reception. Great location, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Rooms Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the great location. Hopefully you can come and stay again soon. Thanks Jenna More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

The place is nice and well organized, we book a big double room with private bathroom that was quite nice. We stayed 3 nights and first night I was quite cold so in the morning I went to reception to ask for additional blankets but they could give me only one ! Last night we had terrible sleep because our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. We are stocked to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with the exception of those other naughty guests you had to listen to all night. We do have security on all night who do regular walk around checking up on noise issues. They are also on call all night for any... More 

East Anglia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Very poor camping faculties in dirty condition. Camping area is noisey because of local bar music and often crowded. Staff are abrupt, unfriendly and unengaging. Kitchen and wifi lounge area closes at 21:00 for no good reason leaving no option other than to sit in your tent/camper. Road into site is poorly maintained and could damage your vehicle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi - Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your stay. Firstly let me say I was very disappointed to read your review and apologise that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and am surprised to hear about your comment about the staff. I will be addressing... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We booked into a private studio apartment and was disappointed at the state of the room when we arrived. I am not fussy and understand this is a budget hostel and so did not expect it to be luxury. However this room is one of the more expensive options and so I expected it to be in better condition. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for taking the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you found your stay disappointing. We want all our customers to leave having had a great stay with us. Did you raise any of your issues to reception as I know that our fantastic reception would have... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I booked in to camp for 4 nights not realising that the campground is directly behind the pub. Firstly it was difficult to find a patch of flat ground but then the noise was dreadful. 3am the band was still thumping and the earplugs were quite useless. Not a bad location but stay in a dorm room if you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for your review. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your camping experience with us. We have lots of people staying with us the majority of which are happy with their experience. You mentioned at Band playing until 3am which is strange as our Bar closes every night at 12pm and we are very respectful... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

First of all I was not really impressed by Airle beach in general: a tourist trap to avoid. Much better to go on the morning, do the island trips and leave as soon as you can. By the way we had the bad idea to park the van inside Nomads. The place was packed even in very low season looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review although I am a little shocked about the title of it. I will touch on a few of the points that you have mentioned as some of them have brought cause for concern. Firstly we do checks of our camping grounds and campervan sites daily with the aim of keeping this area as clean... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
#31 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#39 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#33 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#6 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?