We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
rachel k Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    105
    67
    37
    28
See reviews for
4
65
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I just don't understand people if you hate your job that much quit and move on! The staff at this particular nomads were all jerks! I didn't meet one that as genuwine, to give you a smile must of really hurt the muscles in there faces! Sarcasm was out of this world like what the hell did I do to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here before And after our sailing trip to the whitsundays and it was fantastic, it was a nice change from the usual hostels as the rooms were all in small huts with a large open area. The rooms were very nice, clean, cool and good bathroom facilities. The staff were very helpful and the bar is cheap!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks so much for your awesome review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Make sure you come back and visit us again soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels :) More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a 15 hour bus journey and arriving at 7am it would be nice if the hostel would pick you up as it is a fair walk with your backpacks (15mins). The rooms were nice and clean with air con in a hut style with two showers which were useful. It's a licensed bar so no alcohol allowed and again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that you found our rooms nice, we certainly think they are awesome. As I can see by your review you stayed here back in January, Since then we have actually started to offer free Wifi in the reception area which can be used by all guests staying with us if they... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were genuinely helpful being the desk and were polite but the accommodation was very expensive and extremely dated and run down. We stayed in a double room which was so over priced and it felt like a football changing room. (Which is being generous). Kitchen was grim likewise other facilities around the resort. Would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. Firstly we are glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful we believe that we have a great crew here. In regards to your comment on the room, we have just received approval to give these a bit of a face lift. Over the coming months we will be... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for about 5 nights + 2 nights just for parking whilst going on a Whitsundays trip. The hostel is good, big and you can purchase wifi $12 for a week. We stayed in campervan good little spots however the kitchen was dirty at times and the fridges leak all over the floor. The toilets and showers for campers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks so much for your constructive feedback. We currently have housekeeping crew on throughout the day to clean common areas like the Kitchen and camp showers but we can certainly look into increasing this is facilities are being left dirty. We work extremely hard to maintain a clean and tidy hostel and are sorry to hear that you... More 

Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went there together with the schoolies. We slept in the same dorm as all the 16 year old kids, it was very loudy. Also, we made a reservation for this hostel but the girl at the reception did something wrong. When we arrived after the overnight bus to airly there was no room available for us. We waited about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for your review. We do host schoolies back in November however these rooms are blocked off so one has to share with them. Check in time is usually at 1pm so unfortunately we cannot always check everyone check in early but we do try our best to get all the early bus arrivals into rooms as soon as... More 

Aberystwyth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is really nice, felt more like a resort than a hostel. The rooms are in a kind of chalet and are spacious, clean, have a reading light and em suite. There is a nice pool in the centre of the hostel which is also lovely. The location is overall very good, a minute walk from the lagoon and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Great to hear that you loved the majority of things about the hostel. With regards to the kitchen, because we have camping ground, we have to take deposits for all equipment other wise it seems to go missing with our camping friends... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been travelling for two months from Sydney to Cairns and this is my favourite hostel by far so far. Lovely clean rooms with two showers for 8 people and an ensuite, a pool and bar right outside. Itms close to everything and there's enough nearby to keep anyone happy. You do have to pay for wifi if you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks so much for your awesome review. We are so glad to hear that we were your favourite hostel. Make sure you come and visit us again soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very clean big rooms with good toilet and shower facilities. Good central location, not the cheapest hostel I found but average pricing. The travel desk where helpful but not so much the actual check in desk. Have to pay for use of kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and location. I will definitely be looking into your comment about the staff on the reception as we strive to provide excellent customer service to every customer. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travel and hope to see you in Airlie Beach again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were probably the best we have stayed in. Air con was excellent and the room was really big even though it was an 8 bed dorm! Rooms also had 2 large showers and toilet facilities and full length mirror!! Really nice pool too. Only giving this place 3 stars as we found the staff really unfriendly and rude!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. Firstly I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We know better than anyone how important Air Con is when living in Airlie so happy that you enjoyed this. I have taken your comment about our staff very seriously and will be looking into this as we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question