We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sarah A
Add Photo

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    117
    71
    39
    33
See reviews for
4
73
79
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (314)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Filthy amenities block-and I mean filthy!A strong chance you'd catch something nasty in there. Incredibly noisy-All night long from street bars. I foolishly stayed here because of its location at the end of the Main Street and that it was running at a low occupancy during the day - big mistake! Overall the worst I have stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel has nice spacious rooms with air conditioning. The bathrooms and showers are clean and modern. The kitchen is its own building and depending on what room you get could be a bit of a walk, it's also kind of annoying that you have to get crockery/cutlery from reception. Great location, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is nice and well organized, we book a big double room with private bathroom that was quite nice. We stayed 3 nights and first night I was quite cold so in the morning I went to reception to ask for additional blankets but they could give me only one ! Last night we had terrible sleep because our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. We are stocked to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with the exception of those other naughty guests you had to listen to all night. We do have security on all night who do regular walk around checking up on noise issues. They are also on call all night for any... More 

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

East Anglia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very poor camping faculties in dirty condition. Camping area is noisey because of local bar music and often crowded. Staff are abrupt, unfriendly and unengaging. Kitchen and wifi lounge area closes at 21:00 for no good reason leaving no option other than to sit in your tent/camper. Road into site is poorly maintained and could damage your vehicle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi - Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your stay. Firstly let me say I was very disappointed to read your review and apologise that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and am surprised to hear about your comment about the staff. I will be addressing... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked into a private studio apartment and was disappointed at the state of the room when we arrived. I am not fussy and understand this is a budget hostel and so did not expect it to be luxury. However this room is one of the more expensive options and so I expected it to be in better condition. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for taking the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you found your stay disappointing. We want all our customers to leave having had a great stay with us. Did you raise any of your issues to reception as I know that our fantastic reception would have... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked in to camp for 4 nights not realising that the campground is directly behind the pub. Firstly it was difficult to find a patch of flat ground but then the noise was dreadful. 3am the band was still thumping and the earplugs were quite useless. Not a bad location but stay in a dorm room if you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for your review. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your camping experience with us. We have lots of people staying with us the majority of which are happy with their experience. You mentioned at Band playing until 3am which is strange as our Bar closes every night at 12pm and we are very respectful... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all I was not really impressed by Airle beach in general: a tourist trap to avoid. Much better to go on the morning, do the island trips and leave as soon as you can. By the way we had the bad idea to park the van inside Nomads. The place was packed even in very low season looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review although I am a little shocked about the title of it. I will touch on a few of the points that you have mentioned as some of them have brought cause for concern. Firstly we do checks of our camping grounds and campervan sites daily with the aim of keeping this area as clean... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really liked this Nomads! It was clean, spacious and with a really nice hostel layout. The lobby is almost like a hotel which was a nice surprise and the pool is nice and big with hammocks all around. I stayed in an 8-share dorm which are all sort of in little beach shack-like buildings around the pool. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for your great review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have taken on board the comments about the soap. We do provide soap in all bathrooms and I will be making sure that housekeeping are double checking that all dispensers are full. Glad that you received your welcome back and made use... More 

Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an overall great stay in Airlie Beach. The location was perfect - right in the middle of the main strip of bars and restaurants. Short walk to the lagoon and harbor. Right next to a fun backpacker's bar (can't remember the name) we frequented during our stay, and just yards away from other bars and clubs. Parking was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for taking the time out to write us such a detailed and great review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and it sounds like you got involved in everything Nomads and Airlie Beach has to offer. As for the drunken Shenanigans in the pool we do have security all night to monitor but some... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing and clean place. Many facilities and things to do inside and outside. The place seems to be totally renewed. Bungalows deluxe totally recommended. If ever get back to Queensland, i would definitely go back there.. Amazing bbq and movies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin K, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for taking the time to write this awesome review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in Airlie Beach More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay