We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Airlie Beach accommodations

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers to your Saves list
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
53%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Becka C Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (218)
  • Photos (21)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    75
    50
    31
    21
See reviews for
2
50
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A bit let down due to fact that we upgraded to private room to chill out and watch tv after whitsundays trip only to find that tv did not work. No maintenance man available for whole day. Although the first reception girl tried to help with no success she said she would see what could be done as apology. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I'd not stayed in a Nomads hostel and I was a bit apprehensive, however as soon as I arrived I was chatting to my roommates who had just come off the Clipper Boat and they were telling me what I was letting myself in for. The rooms itself were nice and having two showers in a dorm was the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here, we booked a king room. It was very spacious, had a sink, kettle and basic cutlery. Nothing to actually cook on though. The shower was fantastic which was surprising for a back packers. The grounds and bar there are also quite good. It's location is great, right next to beaches where there is $13... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review glad you enjoyed your stay. We actually have T.V remotes available at reception for a small deposit. Sorry that you were not told about this on check in. Hope you see you again soon and enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I loved staying at Nomads. The grounds were gorgeous, it looked like a resort! The 8 bed dorm room was lovely, spotless and spacious! Lots of power sockets, personal light and space under beds for bags. Really liked the ensuite showers and sinks, only thing is the toilet needs a window and a door that reaches the ground! I used... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks so much for your lovely review - glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels :) More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the worst place we stopped in our camper van while driving Cairns-Brisbane. Location was actually great - we chose to stay here as we were going on trips from Abell point and this was less than 10mins walking from Nomads. This was the only redeeming feature. As we stayed in our camper van I have no idea whats... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in Airlie Beach. We strive to provide the best possible experience to all our guests and ensure that our grounds and facilities are regularly cleaned. The camp showers and toilets are cleaned minimum 3 times per day however, we will look at increasing this after reading your review.... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is great the rooms are seperate huts outside & are spacious with there own toilet/showers & are clean. Location is great very close to everything & staff are friendly. Bad points - No utensils in kitchen you have to rent everything which is annoying but kitchen is clean. Also have to pay for wifi. Would definately stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your lovely review - glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we have to take deposits for our kitchen utensils because other wise everything seems to go missing with our camper van friends. Enjoy the rest of your travels :) More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms themselves are nice and clean. Each room has its own little building and everything is spread out. This hostel is extremely inconvenient; you have to pay a deposit for EVERY single kitchen item so if you lose a knife you lose $5. Also, people in the kitchen steal. Somebody stole my cereal,.pepper, and my kitchen utensils which I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review. We have many camper van's staying with us at the hostel which you may have noticed. Unfortunately if we do not take deposits for kitchen items things tend to go missing. Did you report the theft of your food to reception during your stay, as this is... More

sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We felt unwelcome by the staff, they made us wait for hours to get into our room and wouldn't believe that we had already paid for our room. When we finally got in, our beds had hair in them and they were incredibly loud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hostel. We aim to get people checked in rooms as quickly as possible however, rooms are not always clean as soon as your arrive so housekeeping work as efficiently as possible to reduce the wait time. I will certainly follow up with housekeeping... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I highly recommend backpackers to stay in the Nomads Airlie Beach hostel. Great value and cleanliness. WiFi prices are very reasonable. The hostel hosts fun bar hopping trips. The staff is helpful. A/C did not work and they did not have soap packets to fit my rooms soap dispenser.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Since your stay we have fixed the soap dispensers in all rooms, thanks for letting us know. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My 8 bed dorm was so spacious with ensuite bathroom in a little comfortable hutt! It felt like a 4 bed dorm and the room was very clean, same as the common area. I really enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your lovely review - Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit us soon and enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Address: 354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Airlie Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer