We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Airlie Beach accommodations

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers to your Saves list
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
53%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Julzricho2010
  • Overview
  • Reviews (215)
  • Photos (21)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    49
    30
    21
See reviews for
2
50
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed here, we booked a king room. It was very spacious, had a sink, kettle and basic cutlery. Nothing to actually cook on though. The shower was fantastic which was surprising for a back packers. The grounds and bar there are also quite good. It's location is great, right next to beaches where there is $13... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I loved staying at Nomads. The grounds were gorgeous, it looked like a resort! The 8 bed dorm room was lovely, spotless and spacious! Lots of power sockets, personal light and space under beds for bags. Really liked the ensuite showers and sinks, only thing is the toilet needs a window and a door that reaches the ground! I used... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks so much for your lovely review - glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels :) More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the worst place we stopped in our camper van while driving Cairns-Brisbane. Location was actually great - we chose to stay here as we were going on trips from Abell point and this was less than 10mins walking from Nomads. This was the only redeeming feature. As we stayed in our camper van I have no idea whats... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in Airlie Beach. We strive to provide the best possible experience to all our guests and ensure that our grounds and facilities are regularly cleaned. The camp showers and toilets are cleaned minimum 3 times per day however, we will look at increasing this after reading your review.... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is great the rooms are seperate huts outside & are spacious with there own toilet/showers & are clean. Location is great very close to everything & staff are friendly. Bad points - No utensils in kitchen you have to rent everything which is annoying but kitchen is clean. Also have to pay for wifi. Would definately stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your lovely review - glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we have to take deposits for our kitchen utensils because other wise everything seems to go missing with our camper van friends. Enjoy the rest of your travels :) More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms themselves are nice and clean. Each room has its own little building and everything is spread out. This hostel is extremely inconvenient; you have to pay a deposit for EVERY single kitchen item so if you lose a knife you lose $5. Also, people in the kitchen steal. Somebody stole my cereal,.pepper, and my kitchen utensils which I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review. We have many camper van's staying with us at the hostel which you may have noticed. Unfortunately if we do not take deposits for kitchen items things tend to go missing. Did you report the theft of your food to reception during your stay, as this is... More

sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We felt unwelcome by the staff, they made us wait for hours to get into our room and wouldn't believe that we had already paid for our room. When we finally got in, our beds had hair in them and they were incredibly loud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hostel. We aim to get people checked in rooms as quickly as possible however, rooms are not always clean as soon as your arrive so housekeeping work as efficiently as possible to reduce the wait time. I will certainly follow up with housekeeping... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I highly recommend backpackers to stay in the Nomads Airlie Beach hostel. Great value and cleanliness. WiFi prices are very reasonable. The hostel hosts fun bar hopping trips. The staff is helpful. A/C did not work and they did not have soap packets to fit my rooms soap dispenser.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Since your stay we have fixed the soap dispensers in all rooms, thanks for letting us know. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My 8 bed dorm was so spacious with ensuite bathroom in a little comfortable hutt! It felt like a 4 bed dorm and the room was very clean, same as the common area. I really enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your lovely review - Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit us soon and enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Isisford queensland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff are really helpful and friendly, lets be honest we stayed there for the location to Main Street of Airlie 2 mins walk and $30 for a powered site We are self contained can so did not need to use their showed and Loos which having looked into are very ordinary- it's a Backpackers! In the middle of Airlie you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review - Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Airlie Beach. We are currently in the process of updating the lighting around the camping area, thanks for your feedback. We hope you see you again soon. More

Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Airlie Beach is great and Nomads is made it pop. The people at Mad travel set me and my mate up on good tours. The people working the desk at Nomads were fantastic. Quantas had left my bag in LA when I flew over and their was some trouble getting it sorted out. Lucy at the front desk was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpacker184, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your review - We love Lucy too. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Come visit us again soon :) More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Address: 354 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Airlie Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer