We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Airlie Beach accommodations

Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat

Lot 3, Shute Harbour Road | Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
88%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Avanti50 Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (50)
  • Photos (6)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
true
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a single room for 1 night. I received a very warm and friendly greeting when I arrived. Reception is well-stocked with information on the area and tour brochures. My accommodation was on an upper level accessed via a narrow driveway. There is a car park, and the map I was given directed me to my room. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved Kipara! Stayed in a self-contained cabin, three people. It was everything we could ask for at that great price. Clean, comfy bed, perfect little kitchen, TV (it was World Cup when we were there), and great staff who booked all of our Airlie activites for us! I will say, it is a bit far from town. We did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed one night at Kipara Retreat in a Self-contained Villa which was perfectly adequate for our needs. As we checked in after-hours, I rang ahead to make arrangements to make sure things went smoothly. The self check-in system was straightforward and as specified by staff. They even made sure there was a map included so that we could find our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed in Kipara retreat for one night in mid-June whilst passing through Airlie. Kipara is a little further out from the resort drag of Airlie beach so away from the noise. It's only about a twenty minute walk from the centre and completely accessible by bus which departs every 30min or so. The staff at Kipara are really it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We checked in and left out stuff to drive around town but found that one of the windows did no lock at all. Room was great size with lots of bunks but had little ants in the bathroom.Also dryer in laundry did not work. But place was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bondi, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Kipara is a fantastic option for travelers who want something quieter and more private than an 8-bed hostel room. The location is set back from the main drag but still walkable: 2 minutes to the bus stop going into town, 5 minutes to the IGA grocer and the liquor store, 20 minutes to the Greyhound station at the Boathouse, 35... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kipara2011, Manager at Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipara and found the location convenient for you. I am really sorry you weren't informed about the camp kitchen equipment. Usually on check in we advise there is crockery, cutlery, pans etc available at Reception for your use during your stay. It is also mentioned on... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A little bit away from the main strip, quiet, good value for money, excellent staff and good amenities. The manager was really helpful with suggestions and arranging for tours/taxi etc. More privacy than a backpackers and I loved being able to spot the wildlife roaming about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I travelled here solo during Easter weekend for work. I felt very safe and secure on the grounds and it is surrounded by beautiful greenery, just outside busy Airlie Beach. The woman at the front desk (I'm so sorry I didn't get your name!) as well as her husband were so accommodating and friendly despite their busy weekend. When I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

As a student on a budget looking for something with a little more privacy and comfort than a hostel, Kipara was a great choice! It's easy to get to, and the husband/wife who manage the property are super sweet, friendly and helpful. They had no problem arranging a late check-in, and were always available for a chat! The property itself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I arrived at Kipara because there were no backpackers available and I was stranded in Airlie Beach due to a cyclone. Despite the circumstances, as soon as I arrived I was welcomed by Shirley, who was very friendly and even tried to give me a discount due to the weather - which was obviously not her fault! I wish I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat

Address: Lot 3, Shute Harbour Road | Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Airlie Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
75

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer