We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Kununurra hotels

Pinctada Kimberley Grande

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly The Kimberley Grande)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pinctada Kimberley Grande to your Saves list
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
TopEndShortStays Darwin, Australia
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    54
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
44
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got a special price to stay for a couple days in the low season and the Management have gone over and above their duties for us to enjoy our stay. Enjoyed both lunch and dinner in house. And their AIRCON works a treat. Thanks Mark & Rea, fantastic! Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Dear Top End Short Stays, Firstly apologies on the delay on response to your post, we have just seen a remarkable March which has kept us all busy. Thank you for staying with us at the Kimberley Grande and also your review. I note your comment on how good the price was for the low season stay, we are committed... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are locals and stayed here for a birthday celebration, after checking in at 7pm we were told that the restaurant is closed and we could have a meal at the bar until 9pm which didn't faze us. Upon arrival to the bar the female bar attendant was engrossed in countin the till and we stood there without being acknowledged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Hi Laniloomo, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am very disappointed that on the evening of your dinner and also the next morning breakfast our service was not up to our usual high standard. As a local resident I am sure you are aware of the difficulties in attracting either long term or industry ready staff,... More

Kununurra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

What wonderful rooms! Extremely spacious, great bed, lovely clean bathroom, good TV channel selection. I was only here overnight for work but will certainly make this hotel a priority when returning. Lovely pool. F&B staff friendly and attentive. Only one very minor point - signage for other guests to pull over to the left when checking in/out would be handy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Matt P, I believe the Kimberley Grande is the best value resort in not only Kununurra but the whole of the Kimberley region and beyond, this is due to all the reasons you have mentioned, staff, rooms, pool and so on. We appreciate your feed back on all counts, this includes your comment about a sign for the porte cochere... More

Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, great meals. Friendly staff. Very clean rooms with fantastic water pressure in showers. Will definitely be back and will recommend staying here to friends and family. Great place to base yourself in the region and travel around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Hi Tami Tas, "Friendly staff. Very clean rooms with fantastic water pressure in showers" is spot on from your review. I note that you will definitely be back and will also recommend us to your friends, thank you very much for this and I must add to all of the other guests that have been doing this of late, our... More

Karratha, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I absolutely loved staying here. The rooms were elegant, clean and tidy. Great little restaurant. I love the pool area as well and the grassed area was great to sit on. I was hoping I was lucky enough to stay in the room that Nicole Kidman stayed in

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review posted. By the sounds of it you have just had a relaxing an enjoyable time at our property, with the room's, dining and pool all helping complete your stay. It's been a while since someone has mentioned about the cast and crew staying at the Kimberley Grande, it speaks volumes that such... More

Rosewood, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

great rooms, big and airy. Can open huge sliding doors to the outside so you don't feel shut in. Great aircon. The ceiling fan worked, but very wobbly. The bedside lights were also wobbly, but otherwise the room was lovely. The bathroom was big and roomy with a huge shower. Nice toiletries. The staff were pleasant. The restaurant wasn't open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Hello Sally A, I am glad you loved our lovely big rooms, they always get great revues regarding the space and feel. Whilst you weren't too concerned of the ceiling fan and lamp I can assure you that our maintenance team are currently working their way through the property to fix any little problem. You mentioned our dining facilities which... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at PKG, despite my booking not appearing - luckily not peak season. Spacious room, unfortunately no air-con or fan on as room not planned to be given to me or anyone else that day. Took a while to get room cool, size of room means only near air-con is really cool, luckily bed is near it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark S, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Hi Fabsnake, Thank you for staying at the Kimberley Grande and also for the review. I am very happy to see that you reviewed us so highly with the 4 stars/circles. You did mention the issue regarding air conditioner and for this I am sorry it was a bit noisy, as the travel itinerary wasn't sent to us we had... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff were so helpful; our room was wonderful, so large and comfortable. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant on site. All in all a great 3 days. Laundry facilities are good but not cheap $5 per wash and dry so $10 total, but this was not a major issue. There is a large, modern pool which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mark S, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Hello Emmamweston, Thank you for the review and for staying at Pinctada Kimberley Grande. Everything you mentioned about the rooms, staff and pool are right on the money and we are so happy that they obviously made the difference for your recent stay. We are lucky that although the resort is only minutes from town we have our own piece... More

Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

the hotel is very impressive and you think it is good to stay her, but the room was not perfect clean, the breakfast buffet average nothing exiting and the coffee to bitter. The staffs are drying but the waiter can’t understand what I was saying. Next time when I come up for work, will dry some think else

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Hello David W Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You mentioned the Pinctada Kimberley Grande is very impressive and I totally agree, with the large rooms, grounds and fantastic pool area. You also mentioned a couple of points regarding the language barrier of some staff members, this is a problem most venues have in the region... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After staying in very mediocre places in Fitzroy Crossing and Halls Creek, my expectations of Kununurra were not high. I was very pleasantly surprised by the PKG. The room was large, as was the bathroom, which always makes such a difference. We ate ate the bar and grill, and it was extremely enjoyable. We sat outside, there was a young... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sdellasanta, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review

Dear Eirinoula I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us. There are a lot of people who have the same opinion of places like Kununurra and most leave with the same response, it really is a wonderful place and well worth the visit. What makes happy is the time you spent at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, you... More

Been to Pinctada Kimberley Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinctada Kimberley Grande

Also Known As:
Kimberley Grande Kununurra
Pinctada Kimberley Grande Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia
Address: 20 Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly The Kimberley Grande)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinctada Kimberley Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Grande. Our homestead style resort, home to cast and crew during the filming of Australia, is the ideal place to start and end each day of your own Kimberley journey. By day immerse yourself in the ancient landscape that is the Kimberley. By night soak up the warmth and quintessential outback hospitality of The Kimberley Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Pinctada Kimberley Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinctada Kimberley Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.