We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Kununurra hotels

Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro

Gibb River Rd. | El Questro, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly Emma Gorge Resort)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro to your Saves list
Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Kununurra
A recent review
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

El Questro offers a range of accommodation - if you are not camping, then Emma Gorge tented cabins are your cheapest option (and they're not cheap...). The location is superb, right on the footpath to Emma Gorge itself, and a 16km drive, I think, to the main El Questro centre where there are more walks, and plenty of to my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear cultural_dessert Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor, we certainly appreciate your positive comments of your time at El Quetsro’s Emma Gorge resort. We are pleased that you consider our magnificent location in the heart of the Cockburn ranges, a worthy reason for a return visit. Whilst we are not budget accommodation, we do hope... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent two nights here in a tented cabin, as part of an organised tour. We really enjoyed our stay. The cabins were spacious, quiet and very comfortable, particularly when you bear in mind that we really are in the remote outback. The bar/restaurant area was relaxing as was the pool where we enjoyed swimming. Bar prices were a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear itsingers It is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your time at El Questro’s Emma Gorge resort. I have shared your review with the team who are very pleased that their efforts have been recognized. We take a lot of pride in the resort and aim to achieve a high standard of service, so it is great to know... More

Wyndham, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We go to Emma several times a year for lunch/dinner. It's a great spot to sit and enjoy a drink the pool and a great meal. However last time I ordered a Chicken Cesar Salad, the menu said topped with a poached egg (I'm pretty sure it claimed soft poached too but my memory isn't 100% on that bit) but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear Tim, We are always so glad to have local residents frequent Emma Gorge for an afternoon of swimming and dining. Thank you for your continued support. I am pleased that it is usually a great day for you. I agree about the egg, I am sorry that it slipped past me, as it should be what the menu says.... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staying at Emma Gorge resort would have to be one of the highlights of our trip. The cabins were a welcome change from camping and better than most motel rooms you'll find in the Kimberley! Cabin contains 2 x single, 1 x queen bed, fans and a small ensuite. No tea/coffee making facilities, fridge or TV. The pool is great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear T’Anne Thank you for your excellent review of Emma Gorge Resort. We are pleased to be one of the highlights of your holiday, not an easy feat given how impressive the Kimberley is. The restaurant team has been receiving fantastic feedback all season, they appreciate that you have recognized their efforts as they always strive to add their personal... More

Adelaide
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The tented cabins of Emma Gorge were clean and the meals (which ae included in the stay) were of a very high quality. It was basically luxurious camping! The staff were friendly and went out of their way to help you. They offered good advice on what to do while staying in El Questro. zcould definitely reccomend a stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear Alana, It is terrific to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of Emma Gorge’s unique tented cabins whilst travelling on our dinner, bed and breakfast special. Thank you for posting your recommendation on line and for acknowledging our fantastic team. They are always pleased to see their efforts recognized. Warm regards, Lori Litwack More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our two nights at Emma Gorge Resort were delightful, squeezed in amongst a week of "real" camping. The tented cabin was sparse - just three beds, power, lighting and a bathroom - but perfectly adequate, although I would have liked a little more room in the shower so I could actually move. The evening restaurant was sensational, with great food,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear Grm69 Thank you for the terrific review of your stay at El Questro Emma Gorge. We love to see great feedback for the resort and particularly the food at the restaurant. We strive very hard to achieve a high level of quality in our restaurants and we are pleased that the food met your expectations. Unfortunately, it appears that... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It is remote - 80km from town. It is not a motel - it is upmarket camping. The tented cabins have power & light, a real bathroom, insect screens and flow through ventilation. They do not have anything to keep food or drinks cold and no jug for a 'cup of tea'. However the staff are very good and obliging... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear sbadert, Thank you for sharing with others, you have really captured the essence of Emma Gorge with your review. It is a fantastic opportunity for visitors to experience the serene environment whilst still enjoying some creature comforts. We understand that our cabins would benefit from fridges and kettles, unfortunately our current power generation plant does not allow for these... More

Kununurra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at ELQ Emma Gorge on Saturday evening and had dinner and Breakfast at Emma followed by lunch at the Station. The evening meal was very expensive with very small servings. The breakfast was very well appointed by seriously let down by the flys?? Surely a large industrail type fan could be used in the breakfast area to blow these... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear Well T We appreciate your feedback on all aspects of your stay at El Questro and understand how some of the little details you have highlighted could impact the overall enjoyment of your time here. The flies are a recurring problem for us in the latter half of our season. We have tried several solutions and will look further... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a two night stay at the resort staying in "tented cabins". Although comfortable we had stayed in far more superior tented cabins in the Kimberley. The bathrooms are cheaply made and little room although the sleeping area was roomy. Our tent had holes in the roof, thankfully there was a second overall cover. Not that it rained but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear Take it Easy, We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at Emma Gorge. It definitely helps us recognise where our guests feel that we need improvements. I do understand that the much newer tented accommodation in the Kimberley is quite ahead of ours in terms of space and fittings. Emma Gorge was one... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay a few nights. The rooms are in the bush and although those Eco tents you don't hear much from the neighbours. I don't like the fact that you cant lock the doors. The rooms have power but no fridge so if you want a cold drink on a hot day you have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review

Dear Traveller_JohnR, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Emma Gorge. It is good to hear that you found the stay restful and appreciated the ambiance of the eco tents. I understand your concern regarding the lack of locks on the doors, this is something we are looking to change in response to our guest feedback,... More

Been to Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro

Also Known As:
Emma Gorge Hotel Kununurra
Emma Gorge Hotel
Emma Gorge Resort At El Questro Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia
Address: Gibb River Rd. | El Questro, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly Emma Gorge Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden within the fiery red of El Questro’s Cockburn Ranges lies the spectacular Emma Gorge Resort, with excellent facilities for the whole family. Emma Gorge Resort offers comfortable tented cabins, each with their own private facilities. Shaded pathways link the tented cabins with the restaurant, pool and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.