We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 McCracken hotels

McCracken Country Club

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added McCracken Country Club to your Saves list
McCracken Country Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in McCracken
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Victor C Adelaide, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (261)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (89)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    101
    40
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
142
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last visited here in 2011 and vowed to not return for a meal, yet my Grandfather suggested having his birthday lunch here today. My family of 8 were all less than impressed with our dining experience. Staff were not friendly or hospitable, and meals were very poor. 6 of the meals came out at the same time, yet 2 of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review in regards to your lunch with us on Sunday. I am extremely sorry to read that you haven’t enjoyed your dining experience with us on either of the two occasions you’ve visited us and am at a loss to explain the reasons behind this. I am disappointed that... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We bought our holiday from Travel Auctions and were more than happy with our treatment by Laura who handled our 'phone booking. On arrival she was 'on duty' and made us feel very welcome. Our room was Excellent (room 326), very comfortable and roomy. The spa was a real bonus. Unfortunately the weather was not kind for us but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice comments. I am very happy that you had a nice stay with us and that our staff looked after you well. I look forward to seeing you again sometime when hopefully the weather is a bit better for you and you can enjoy a longer walk. Kind regards... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I needed a night away, (my wife works weekends), and McCracken Country Club provided the ideal place to stay. We were pleased with the room, tidy, large enough and the spa was great. We had dinner in the restaurant and the service was fantastic. The food was delicious and the serving was massive! We got a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great comments. I'm glad that we were able to give you an enjoyable break and that you could take advantage of the great rates we offer over winter. I'm glad you were well looked after in the restaurant and that you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long day of driving and sight seeing we looked for a nice and easy place to stay. McCracken had great reviews, reasonable rates, somewhere to eat and a king bed! The staff, bistro and room where excellent. As were the views and facilities, but unfortunately it was freezing, so golf was not on our list of must dos.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased that you found our facilities to your liking and were able to beat the winter cold by relaxing next to the fireplaces. Hopefully nest time you visit it will be a bit warmer and you will be able to try the golf course.... More

Singapore River, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived before official check-in time and were pleased to be able to check-in early. The room consisted of a kitchen/Living area and a separate bedroom area with a nice balcony. It might be because we check-in early but there were crumbs on the dining table from the previous guest. Other than that, the room was very clean. Both areas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for comments about your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to note that your room was not as clean as should have been and I have discussed this with my house keepers. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our Sunday roast without leaving your room. We think it's pretty good for the price. Hopefully... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family of 4 had the pleasure to stay overnight at a 2 bedroom apartment in McCracken. It's a stop over on our way back from Kangaroo Island as my kids wanted to go to Greenhill Adventure Park the next day, so this hotel is a good choice as it's very near to the park. As we arrived late at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your great comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our 2 bedroom apartments. We believe these are great for family getaways. It's disappointing that you were only with us for a short time, however Greenhill Adventure Park is definitely worth a visit. Hopefully next time you visit... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked a room on 6th June 2014 for one night and I am glad I did not book for more than just one night. We were three, two of us slept in the queen bed and one of us in the sofa bed. Sleeping for one night in the queen bed gave me a back pain as the matress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am genuinely surprised to read your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I understand that sofa beds can be a bit uncomfortable for some people however I cannot recall in all my time here receiving any complaints about the comfort of our queen beds. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed at McCracken quite a few times over the last 7 years. Last year we noticed that it had declined and corners cut but the prices were still quite expensive, so this year for our anniversary we decided to give it a miss. Until they had the eofy special, we booked and stayed for 2 nights. Customer Service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for comments in regards to your latest visit to us. It's nice to hear that the customer service levels have improved from your previous visit and I'm glad you enjoyed your meals. I apologise for the lack of water pressure during your visit. I believe one of our circulation pumps was out of action. This has... More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a fabulous 3 night stay at this very impressive country club. We stayed in a balcony room which had the most beautiful view over the golf course and surrounding houses that back on to the course. Even though the weather was cold it didn't matter. The accommodation was great and even though we didn't eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review. Isn't Victor Harbor a great place to visit? Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to all of the staff. We look forward to seeing you back again. Kind regards, Dan Court General Manager More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place seems nice on paper, but its simply wore out. I suppose its nice to be right on the golf course, but the place just needs a complete renovation. Although crowded, the bar/restaurant was somewhat depressing. The reception staff was nice, but not very knowledgeable about the area... eg. restaurants, etc. Hidden secret if you're on a long journey-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It is disappointing to note that our décor wasn't to your liking however we are constantly making changes in an effort to keep things fresh. If you're ever in the area again I hope you come back and give us another try. Kind Regards Dan... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage McCracken Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McCracken Country Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
63

See which rooms travelers prefer