We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hermitage Motor Inn

Cnr. Mackay & Cusack Streets | entrance Mackay Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hermitage Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a family group into the motel and was quoted a room rate. When the group arrived they were informed that the quoted rate was for one person only and had to pay an extra $25 per night. VERY poor The guests all complained of no sleep in double beds

Helpful?
Thank justin b
HermitageG, Manager at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed and, puzzled by your review because Hermitage Motor Inn, Wangaratta does not have double beds, only queen size beds or singles in family suites and king singles in twin rooms; also the extra charge is a little confusing because a one person rate is $125 and a family suite rate is $185 accommodating up to 4 persons... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A perfect place to stay ! Rooms are great, location perfect, staff... Friendly and just lovely. This is top of the range in this category.. Owned and run by a thorough professional who takes great pride in her establishment and in providing homely exceptional service. We really enjoyed our stay !

Helpful?
Thank greggo60
Cobden, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

I can highly recommend this motel for its quiet location in the beautiful town of wangaratta. A well presented motel with no negatives. It is within waking distance of many eating places and also the shopping Centre and supermarkets?

Helpful?
Thank Janelle R
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

After a long drive from Sydney what more could you expect than a spotless motel room, tastefully decorated, off the main highway in a quiet street. Friendly, helpful staff, a swimming pool and within walking distance to the town centre. Would recommend and would certainly stay again.

Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSally
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Now on our regular stay list. This quiet little motel is attended by great staff and is reasonably priced. Nice pool and within a short stroll to local amenity such as fast food, cafes and shops. No frills. The only thing missing is a microwave in the rooms but that's a minor inconvenience. Love every stay.

Helpful?
Thank Bill And-Kerrie H
HermitageG, Owner at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your honest and positive review. I am gradually improving our rooms and microwaves in all rooms are on my list for 2016. If visiting again please ask for a microwave as we have a few in the store. I have only been at Hermitage one year and it takes time and finances to do all of the... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay. Last minute stop in and had a very comfortable stay. Woild highly recommend this for business or for people driving through. The concierge was excellent and gave excellent details on where to go to dinner and directions on how to get there

Helpful?
Thank billymac762015
HermitageG, Manager at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review; it is very much appreciated. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

The Hermitage is a clean and comfortable motel in Wangaratta. Rather than drive all day to Melbourne on a boring freeway, we decided to stay the night in this pretty country town, and explore the district. The boardwalk along the Ovens River is a shady and scenic place for a walk. The drive from Wangaratta south to Bonny Doon on... More 

Helpful?
Thank RogerS0106
HermitageG, Manager at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was so nice to read your lovely lengthy and positive review of not only our motel but also about this wonderful part of Victoria. It was heart warming to hear that others feel the way I do about this part of the country. More 

Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Could not ask for more..reception staff very friendly, helpful, lovely, could not do enough for us.The rooms very clean,quiet. .value for money..walking distance to town Centre. ..would stay here again..will recommend to family and friends. ..

Helpful?
Thank lynette6027
HermitageG, Manager at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest positive review More 

Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed on a Monday night in November for business. Everything was very basic. Most disappointing to find the 50 year old aircon unit didn't work properly on a very warm stuffy evening. Whole room quite unbearably hot. Wifi rubbish. Nice enough location but wouldn't come back.

Helpful?
Thank manky17
HermitageG, Manager at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although the air conditioners are old they are usually very efficient when set correctly; I am disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to correct this matter. The Wifi is on our upgrade list for this year. I have only been the owner for 1 year however am gradually getting through the list of... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

Stayed there last night. The room was spotless and the lady at the reception was amazing. I bought some frozen food on my way and she cooked it for me in the microwave and put on a plate with clean utensils. Loved it :) . I will definitely come back to this motel

Helpful?
Thank Madhur M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Wangaratta
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#1 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wangaratta North Family Motel
Wangaratta North Family Motel
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay